We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent -- nothing less”
Review of Dry Creek Kitchen

Dry Creek Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Dry Creek Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 96 Restaurants in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Matheson Street
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent -- nothing less”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Four of us ate at the Dry Creek Kitchen. Each felt that we had an exceptional meal. I had the Pumpkin soup. It was served with a sweet cream and balsamic accent. It was absolutely the best I have ever eaten. My husband had chicken paillards (pounded thin) with with a lemon-thyme sauce. It was also very memorable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SHAntiquer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    171
    113
    40
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
165 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Sadly Disappointing”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have eaten at the Dry Creek Kitchen in the past, and always found it to be excellent. Unfortunately, our experience this time was disappointing. We made reservations in advance, and were early - we were seated at one of the less desirable tables - right in front of the shelves with the cookbooks - the shelves are dark and block any extra light. We ordered the 4 course tasting menu and included the wines. The portions of food were very small and the wine pours were insultingly short. The cost for the wine tastings was $42 to sample 3 wines. The three pours we received barely equaled one glass of wine in total. The food was tasty, however the portions were very small. The one disappointing course was the dessert - I ordered the gingercake (which I love) and found the portion to be more generous, however the cake itself was dry to the point of tasting stale. We also were disappointed in the service. In the past, the servers we've had have been very good. Our main server was lack-luster at best. He did very little to explain specials - and when asked about the 7 course tasting menu told us next to nothing - thus losing a sale! There are many other good restaurants in the area, sadly this one appears to be past it's prime.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Over the top”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Best meal we had in California. Staff was wonderful and service timed to perfection. Restaurant served us a complimentary sparkling wine as an aperitif. Guests are able to bring their own wine, without paying a corkage fee, if bought in Healdsburg, which really cuts down on the price of dinner here, which is very expensive but worth it. We brought two bottles with us and our server was most gracious about it. This truly is a special occasion restaurant and the best of California, fairly noisy and lively but also romantic. The manager came out to check that everything was okay twice, during dinner.They have a patio with heat lamps, so even on a chilly night, one can eat outside. I had an Outstanding beet salad and best mushroom risotto ever. My husband had the duck which he highly recommends. The peanut butter tart is wonderful. Cannot wait to go back, when we next return to Healdsburg.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank exploraToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Charles
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Special Occasion restaurant”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Food was wonderful and staff very attentive. A little expensive, but for a special dinner it was lovely. If you bring a bottle of wine you purchased in Sonoma they will open with no corkage fee and do not make you feel odd at all. I highly recommend.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank diveonSt_Charles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
197 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Friendly, light and airy”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Very pleasant dining in a casual environment. Found the food a little more conventional than we were expecting for a Charlie trotter restaurant. Spent a week in Sonoma eating at the most highly rated restaurants and this one was one of the less memorable ....interesting how when one looks back some of them really stand out but this one did not....maybe we were just fooded out....will try again next time

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spoek2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dry Creek Kitchen also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Dry Creek Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing