We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Wine Bar”
Review of Hawkes Wine

Hawkes Wine
Ranked #61 of 159 things to do in Healdsburg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Hawkes Family has been growing grapes in the Alexander Valley for forty years. Today, the Hawkes family farms over eighty-five acres of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, and Chardonnay vineyards in the southern half of Alexander Valley, all planted on sparsely-soiled hillsides, all yielding small amounts of intense fruit. In bottling small lots of Hawkes Wine, we aim to translate our extraordinary standards for the quality of our grapes into extraordinary wine, estate grown and produced in Alexander Valley, Sonoma County. You'll know if you've had our wines. We're here drinking wine every day, come join us!
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Local Wine Bar”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I found the local favorite... Hawkes Winery in Healdsburg. The staff was down to earth and friendly, and we met several "locals" who made us feel right at home. The wine was fantastic and the price point was great!
The only issue... It is a small winery and only serves through direct sales or their wine club.... so you fall in love with it and then it can be difficult to find....but it is well worth the stop if you are in the area!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RGJG2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    5
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Concord, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great recomendation!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

While tasting at Silver Oak, we recieved a recomedation to give Hakes a try.

Wow, fantastic wines, great service and a fantastic barrel tasting.

We joined the wine club on our first visit and have not been disapointed.

Cant wait to make another visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mudrazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This winery is not to be missed!”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Hawkes was not initially on our itinerary but we received a recommendation at another winery so we headed over, and we are so glad we did. Andrea was very attentive and was incredibly knowledgeable about all of the wines we tasted. We started with the 2011 Home Chardonnay, which was crisp and clean and so refreshing. (If you like oak bombs this Chardonnay is not for you, but if you like a more understated Chardonnay you'll be hard pressed to find a better one in the area.) Then we moved on to the reds. The 2008 Stone Cab Sauv is excellent, so it is no wonder that it is sold out. The other reds were nice as well. All of the reds had good weight, a lush mouth-feel, and light tannins. Finally, at the end of our visit we realized there was a 2011 Vin Gris and a 2009 Late Harvest Semillon, so we gave them a try too. The Vin Gris is a great porch sipper and the Semillon tastes very similar to its famous cousin Sauternes.

Needless to say, we enjoyed this winery very much and we purchased a case (mostly of the Chardonnay). I highly recommend this winery to anyone who likes their wines with a bit of finesse and a bit of an Old World feel. I promise you will not be disappointed!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BRP4752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDC
Level 6 Contributor
849 reviews
145 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 412 helpful votes
“personable experience and good wines”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

My partner and I went to Hawkes during a long weekend in Healdsburg on the recommendation of the concierge at our hotel. It was a slow day when we got there -- being a rainy weekend in December -- so we were able to enjoy the experience and taste some very good wines. I'm not Hawkes 5-stars based on just taste (because that too subjective) but I'm giving them that rating based on the personable and attentive service we received. Our server was a Healdsburg native, and knew all the wines in the area and answered our questions very well, and gave us a taste of some wine club-only wines. The tasting room is not "special," though.

Plus, Hawkes Winery is right next door to the Jimtown store; when we asked for lunch recommendation, it seemed kind of fake to recommend this old-town sandwich store next door, but that's what she did, so we went and were absolutely not disappointed. Definitely worth a visit!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jg325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

last vineyard we hit on our trip to the area. Very pleasantly surprised! They have a beautiful and very big Cab Sav! Worth stopping by tasting some wine and having a chat with the awesome staff.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank s9601694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawkes Wine also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Hawkes Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing