We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time, good Sauvignon Blanc”

Rodney Strong Vineyards
Ranked #17 of 155 things to do in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great time, good Sauvignon Blanc”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

This was our first stop on our trip to Sonoma, and what a strong start! We had a Visa Signature credit card so we got a free tasting. Even if it hadn't been free, it still would have been worth the tasting fee. The wines were great, and the facility was beautiful. Greg at Rodney Strong was very friendly and helpful. Highly recommend!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alicia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    30
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds. Great wines.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was one of the first wineries we visited in Napa and it was a great starting point for our two week trip. We took the self guided tour -- which was very well done. Photos and detailed explanations posted on the walls provided a good foundation for future tastings. And the wines were terrific. We highly recommend a visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
149 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“wonderful vineyard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had a great time here. Tour was timed perfectly, not too long, but not too short, and we had a super nice tour guide. Wine tasting after the tour was extra fun. We sampled a nice blend of their whites and reds...the pinot noirs were my favorite.
Def a great winery.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jetting79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Our best tour of the week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had the opportunity and the priviledge to have a private visit of the winery with Sheila. This was the best visit in all the tours/tatings we've made in many years. She tought us how to read sugar on grapes. Showed us their 'cork tree'. We had wine tasting from the barrel, visited the cellar. They were doing barrels clean up and they made some grape harvest during the night and we could see the prduction started. We then had a great tasting of most their wines. Our coup de coeur (favorite) was the Brother's ridge follow bt Rockaway.
We were already sold to Rodney Strong wines and our visit with Sheila reinforce it. She is a great communicator, very passionated and transmit it easily. Do not hesitate to visit them, you can't miss it

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Praline23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
256 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“One of our new favorite wines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We were fairly familiar with RS wines when we visited but had not tasted all their different varietals so this was a great experience. We did not have reservations for the tour but hoped that we could get in on it anyway--turns out their 11 am tour was cancelled that day, so we did the self guided one. It was ok but I sure wish we had seen the real tour. The tasting, though, was first rate. We got to taste several wines of our choosing and everything was wonderful. There was only one other person there at the time, so we got the undivided attention of our pourer, and he really knew a lot about his wines. Showed us maps with the locations of all the vineyards, a sheet with winemakers' tasting notes (so we would know what we were supposed to taste there) and just had tons of useful information. The wines were really, really good and reasonably priced, most of them are widely available so you can get them at home. One thing I wish we'd known about sooner was their Summer Concert Series. They have some great acts on Saturday evenings (Dave Koz was there the week before) and you sit out on the lawn, eat and drink RS wines while listening to music--sounds great, I wish we'd known about it sooner.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hillcntrytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rodney Strong Vineyards also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Rodney Strong Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing