We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired at a young age”
Review of Hotel Healdsburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Healdsburg
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Nice design, wonderful location, right amenities, bit pricy, UNDER-MANAGED. A great disappointment that everything needed attention to detail. Nothing was great…most just adequate. Things vaguely dirty, needing a touch up. Staff "B's" not "A's". Cocktail music in bar…ugh. Cocktails themselves what you would expect at a place 1/3rd the price. I'll try someplace else next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JimboB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (587)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 587 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

We had decent rooms, but the room temp controls seemed to be dated and not consistent. The great breakfast had attentive service; Towels are quality and clean, rooms are well tended to by maid and turn down service; Tegan the concierge is great too.
BUT, The hotel needs some attention to detail to maintain its high rating and to make it worth the rates--big window next to front desk is dirty, area where bikes are kept and adjoining sidewalk were never touched in the 3 nights we were there. No HD TV in my room, but friend did have it. The hotel is starting to show its age/wear and tear. Would probably stay there again but mostly due to the location.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank PjHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Healdsburg, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

We appreciate your feed back on your recent stay with us. We are currently in the process up updating the entire property. We have adressed the issue of daily cleaning of our common areas with housekeeping. We hope your future stays with us will be up to your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

The hotel was lovely. The location was very convenient. The complimentary breakfast a huge bonus and delicious. BE SURE TO LOCK ANY VALUABLES IN THE ROOM SAFE. I hid my diamond necklace at the bottom of my toiletry bag. It was missing the very next morning. Someone had to go into my zipped bag and rummage through to find the necklace. Do not be as trusting as I was. I did not think this would happen in a smaller more high-end hotel, which is the only reason I opted not to use the room safe. It is one thing if I had left my valuables in the open and on the counter. I did not. I specifically hid them making it difficult for anyone to find. Well... the hotel staff found them. The room's key system is closely monitored at this hotel which is also a nice feature. The only people in and out of the room besides us while we stayed was the cleaning staff on one day. That was the day the item went missing. Make your own conclusion. Use the safe.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Healdsburg, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments about our rooms, location and breakfast. We are very sorry that your necklace has gone missing. Guest safety and security is of utmost importance to us. As a policy, we do recommend placing valuables in your room safe. This type of disappearance of a valuable which has gone missing from a guest room, is the first we have encountered.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at the Hotel Healdsburg many times for company events over the past five years. I love the area and I've equally looked forward to a relaxing time at HH as a bonus. But I have to say that the hotel is looking a bit tired these days and could use an update both in facilities and service.

There was nothing bad that really stood out--the room was clean but felt a bit worn, what was once contemporary now felt dated. Internet access was fine, breakfast a step up from the buffets you find at "business" hotels but not much beyond, a disappointment given the relationship with the Dry Creek Kitchen.

The service was a bit slack from previous visits, a point reinforced by my colleagues.

I always look forward to my visits to Healdsburg but I expect we'll opt for different lodging next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bruceww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We operate self-guided cycling trips in the region (Randonnee Tours) and were testing out a new itinerary using this hotel and loved it. The room was large; the lounges great; best part was the service, always friendly and with a smile. In summary, it has everything we look for in a hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the courtyard are quieter, but our room at the front was fine. Slept soundly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randonnee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

The real question is why Healdsburg? The restaurants are not that great, you can walk the central square area in about two hours (there are two good art galleries and one good coffee house), and there is such obvious tension between "townies" and vacationers it can be uncomfortable, especially when they charge through town in their large, loud pick-up trucks flipping you off. For no reason. It would be easier and nicer to drive through the Alexander Valley from the Napa Valley than pitch your tent in this town.
But if you have to or want to stay in Healdsburg this is your place. The beds are very nice, the rooms very eccentric (oddly shaped, strange furniture parings) and in need of updating (the televisions must be 10 years old if not more). Still they rank as nice. It has a good bar and the people at the front desk can be nice when they want (at check-in they were great, at night out to lunch, in the morning so-so). The breakfast buffet is very limited and the staff cleans your table so fast it is a wonder they don't walk off with your chair -- with you still in it.
You definitely do not want a room facing the street. The hotel sits at a significant intersection, the main drag passing right in front of it. Ask for something overlooking the courtyard. But don't expect to not hear traffic unless you turn the A/C on, which acts as white noise.
All in all stay in another town. You'll be happier.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the street but overlooks the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kev1438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Only stayed one night but this was an amazing experience - our room was perfect. Spacious, clean and very quiet as we overlooked the pool in the back. An added bonus to this was that we watched the sunset from our room - great view. The room did have a few dings here and there and could use a little bit of a touch up to make it perfect.

What made our stay in Healdsburg so awesome was the concierge - Tegan. She made our trip so awesome - I had emailed Tegan a few weeks before our trip to ask for some winery recommendations. She planned a trip out for us that was so awesome. She also recommended a great tasting in town the next day and an amazing place to have lunch before we headed out to San Francisco. If you stay at this hotel make sure you speak with Tegan - she'll make your trip awesome.

The hotel itself is quite nice - there are a couple of restaurants on campus and the lounge is a great place to enjoy a drink at the end of the day. The pool is also a great place to chill out - there's a lot of sun in the morning so we enjoyed the pool before checking out. There's a great breakfast in the morning - waffles and omelets included.

Healdsburg itself is a great town - there are a lot of restaurants and wineries to try out. Lot of shops as well - though we did not take advantage of the fact, the hotel has a number of bikes that would be great to tool around town on.

we'll definitely be heading back some day.

Room Tip: Request a room in the back, overlooking the pool. It's quiet and you have a great view of the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougInBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
0.1 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
1.1 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
0.2 mi away
The Duchamp Healdsburg
The Duchamp Healdsburg
#7 of 9 in Healdsburg
198 reviews
8.3 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Healdsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Healdsburg

Address: 25 Matheson St, Healdsburg, CA 95448-4107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Price Range: $378 - $763 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Healdsburg 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Healdsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing