We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots to like but could use some minor improvements”
Review of Hotel Healdsburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Healdsburg
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2011

• Cons – main complaint was poor sleep, bed wasn’t very comfortable and we were hot at times during the night. The bathroom lighting was dim and poor drainage for the shower
• Pros – outstanding service. Spa was terrific. Dry Creek kitchen was fabulous. Our room was designed very nicely besides the items mentioned above. Location was perfect

My wife & I love the area and we'll definitely return to Healdsburg. Next time we'll stay at one of the other nice hotels/inns near the plaza. And go back to Dry Creek kitchen for dinner and possibly back to their spa.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (575)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Healdsburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 575 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2011

My fiance and I stayed 3 days here on a trip to Sonoma. We loved the hotel. The room was spacious and comfortable. The customer service from the front desk, to the valet was exceptional. They serve a nice breakfast in the morning, but we found if we got there after 9:00 (they serve until 10:00) there were far fewer choices. They have a small bar area with a very accomodating bar tender too. The pool is beautiful, however there is no food or beverage service out there. They also have a small, but adequate workout room too. The restaurant associated with the hotel, Dry Creek Inn, was one of the best I've been too. Also with exceptional service and food. My only little complaint would be that there is quite a bit of street noise in the morning that you can hear through the French doors. The town is also very quaint with many great restaurants for such a small town. We will definintely return.

Room Tip: Get a room that does not face the 2 major streets and perhaps faces the back of the property.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shrink711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We attended the Healdsburg Jazz Festival on a Friday night. After the performance at the Raven Theater, the music moved to the hotel for the night. A couple of different combos played bebop till 1 a.m. And it wasn't amateur night either. They were fantastic. So was the setting, with the hotel's inner first floor restaurant, which is viewable from a number of different angles from within the hotel, and serving as the central performance area. The restaurant walls are floor to ceiling windows. This is the kind of atmosphere you dream about for taking in jazz - clusters of people on the inner lawn, in the foyer, the adjoining lounges, and of course the restaurant itself -- all able to see the players. At about 10:30 we started feeling a bit tired and decided to inquire about a room. They had one left due to a cancellation. It was on the 2nd floor, a room with a view of the jazz players and with the balcony doors open could hear every note perfectly. Okay, that's the story of checking in. The room was very good, equipped with high quality furniture that has an old-world feel (thankfully no wall-to-wall carpet) with modern spa-like aesthetics. The hotel itself looks to be a very good renovation and modernization of a traditional small town on-the-square hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teainthesierras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Our trip was great. The hotel has a great vibe and very cool rooms. The staff is friendly and helpful. The restaurant is delicious!
Tip: Eat dinner in the lounge. Sit on the couch by the fireplace and enjoy drinks and apps or your entire dinner and a sexy, casual setting.
Tip 2:Talk to concierge (Teagan). She will set you up with great activities and free wine tastings in the surrounding area.

Well worth the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a courtyard or pool view.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mario M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I had always wanted to stay at this hotel and overall our stay was pleasant, it just seemed like the glamour had faded a bit. Throughout, it needed some updating and cleaning: some lounge chairs around the pool had stained/faded cushions, some towels were frayed, the bathroom in the lobby smelled, old rugs in hall, in need of paint touch-ups. In our bathroom, the lighting was horrible. I loved the idea of the sunken tub but it took about 25 minutes to fill. Service-wise, everyone was very helpful, however, it seemed like the whole hotel was running on a skeleton crew. Granted we were there during the week, but it's summer! They had one bartender on duty in the lobby bar at 6:00 in the afternoon. She managed but we had to wait a bit which lead to a rushed drink to make our dinner reservation. The gal servicing the pool was playing peek-a-boo. On the upside: the pool was a nice size, open all the time, there was a lovely outdoor courtyard, great breakfast, comfy bed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerkeleyRoxyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

This hotel was our final stay on a California Coast vacation. My husband and I stayed two nights. Our room was facing the pool on the 2nd floor. It was quiet and full of light yet the shudders closed out the light if needed. The bed was very comfortable and the robes were the best on our trip. The room was a nice size and well appointed with a cool feel. The bathroom had a deep jacuzzi tub and large walk- in shower. The floor is slick and the fluorescent lighting was a miss. I didn't like the shower products and ended up using my own. The products are local, which I appreciate but was not thrilled with the quality or function. Be sure to take care of your room keys. They charge $10 for lost keys! Pretty amazing when you are paying $450 a night!
The open spaces are pleasing to the eye as well as the landscaping. The location is terrific. The plaza is across the street and every Tuesday evening in the summer is a festival. Very fun! This was our second time to stay here and we would return again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool, the inside rooms are dark.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDtravelTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I spent 3 nights at Hotel Healdsburg in July. I had just come from spending 3 nights at Solage in California. Hotel Healdsburg is very nice, and I would have no hesitation about staying there again because the location is great to both explore wine country and then come back to a nice little town with excellent restaurants (we ate at Scopa, Dry Creek Kitchen and SpoonBar) and enough action to keep things lively for several days. However, there were a couple of minor things that could be changed - (1) the shower in the large bathroom has no door so you need to either block the water from spraying out onto the bathroom floor or be very careful walking in there and (2) we would usually get back to the pool area around 5:00 or 6:00 pm and stayed there for an hour but there was never anyone from the hotel cleaning up from other guests or generally asking is we needed anything (in contrast to Solage, where the attentive service was great).
I did really like the breakfast buffet -- plenty of choices and the ability to bring it up to the room -- and the concierge Tegan was very helpful in setting up some tastings and other activities for us. I will have no hesitation going back there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marge11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
0.1 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
489 reviews
0.7 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
0.2 mi away
The Duchamp Healdsburg
The Duchamp Healdsburg
#7 of 9 in Healdsburg
196 reviews
8.3 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Healdsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Healdsburg

Address: 25 Matheson St, Healdsburg, CA 95448-4107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Price Range: $439 - $842 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Healdsburg 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Healdsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing