We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Wine Carriage”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wine Carriage

The Wine Carriage
Book In Advance
More Info
$200.00*
and up
Wine Tasting Tour by Horse & Carriage
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Travel deep into the vines of Sonoma's wine country to premium tastings at boutique wineries. As part of the tour, our guests will be guided through the gothic chambers of a wine cave and be treated to a barrel tasting from one of the oak casks. Traveling over hill and dale in a carriage pulled by two magnificent horses, you'll enjoy tastings at 3 award-winning wineries and be served gourmet snacks and chilled spring water along the way. Enjoy the relaxed pace, breath-taking scenery and world class wines while leaving the traffic far behind. Your coachman will provide an insider's view of the local history, the lifecycle of the vines, and the wine-making process. This is more than a wine tour -- it's a unique and romantic wine tasting adventure! Check out our web page at TheWineCarriage for tour details and a bonus tasting.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
“The Wine Carriage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

In June of 2012 I went to visit my son in Sonoma and was treated to a wine tasting tour on the Wine Carriage. What a fabulous experience! So unique and exciting. We had such fun in a group of eight riding through the vineyards, tasting a large variety of wine and enjoying a delicious picnic lunch. Bret is very knowledgeable and quite the tour guide! He's also adept at keeping the two awesome and huge horses calm and well mannered. I recommend this excursion highly as part of any trip to wine country.

Thanks Bret for a great day! Danielle Cormier

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewinecarriage, Owner at The Wine Carriage, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thanks you so much for taking the time to review The Wine Carriage. Hoping to see you agin. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penngrove, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun for all ages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was the most fun I've ever had wine-tasting, and I've done a lot of wine-tasting! I've lived in Sonoma County most of my life, and often go to the wineries in Dry Creek and Alexander Valleys when friends and family visit from out of the area. A local friend arranged this tour when his mother was visiting from the East Coast recently, and we had a truly memorable day. Our group ranged in age from 3 to 60, and we all had a wonderful time.

Riding through the vineyards from one tasting room to the next, viewing scenery as we could never see it from the road, learning about the history of the wineries in the area and the seasonal activity in the vineyards, tasting some of the best wines in Sonoma County, and enjoying a gourmet picnic lunch under a huge oak tree surrounded by astounding views in every direction, all added up to a perfect day!

In future, I will always recommend The Wine Carriage. Brett and Lily were wonderful hosts.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBary, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Absolute must in Sonoma”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Wine Carriage was a terrific experience. Brett is fun, informative and makes the tour of the local wineries a relaxing, enjoyable way to see the countryside and taste grapes straight from the vines in addition to the detailed tastings and tours at the visited wineries. The private lunch was superb and the host wineries were very pleasant. I would recommend this tour to everyone.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dale D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“the perfect day in wine country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Bret's Wine Carriage is a must-do for those who want to explore wine country in a quiet, relaxed setting! It was a great way to visit several wineries without having to worry about driving between each. Our day was also personalized and intimate with visiting smaller wineries that were less busy, and in spending time with Bret. He shared lots of interesting facts, was very easy going, and took care of the details for us. Our time in wine country was extra special, as we were surprised with a private tour--he still took us out when nobody else had signed up to go! A special thanks to Cody and Cheyenne for a wonderful carriage ride! A must-do!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitney, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Horse Drawn tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

If you travels take you to Sonoma/Napa do your self a favor and arrange for a tour. Bret Roland, owner, provides a wonderful tour with lots of Alexander Valley history with stops at 3 winerys. During the tour you'll have a great lunch stop. If the weather permits it will be under the trees, if not he'll arrange it a one of the winery stops, which occured with our trip because of the heat the day we toured. Your tour starts with a barrel tasting at Alexander Valley Vineyards. He picks you up following the barrel tasting. We made additional stops at Hanna and Soda Rock winerys. Our delightful lunch was served while at Soda Rock. While it was nice that day inside, we'd think the lunch under the trees would have been really great. Bret's website is www.flyinghorse.org

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank aceburris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wine Carriage also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
 

Been to The Wine Carriage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing