We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hote, nice feel, not for everyone” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of H2 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
H2 Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Scotland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“nice hote, nice feel, not for everyone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I think how much you like this will be determined by how much you like the hip/eco feel of the place with its bare wooden floors and open wet-room shower, and the minimal blackout on the windows that mean light streams in unavoidably from first light. I was still a little jet lagged from travelling from the UK, so the 6am wake-up was not a problem. I liked the feel of the rooms, the free chilled water and wifi, the big comfy bed (though just *too* many sheets and fluffy mattress toppers to make it a bit like sleeping on a big and soft marshmallow). Breakfast is included and is OK. Situation is convenient with plenty of parking around too. Easy to walk into the centre of town just a couple of minutes away. I think the rooms would not suit many senior or very traditionalist travellers perhaps, but I found a lot to like about the H2.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scotsmantravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    149
    28
    13
    9
See reviews for
46
299
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
140 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at Hotel Healdsburg (HH) about a dozen times over the years, and thought it was time to try their sister property H2H - glad I did. HH has more of a luxury feel, as it should with its higher pricing. H2H is the young hipster to HHs refined adult.
I think our suite at H2H for $495 was a pretty good deal. Room was big with a great layout. As mentioned by others the design and decor is very modern and a little stark, but we still found it to be very comfortable. Beds (including pullout) are cozy and comfy, and we loved the soaking tub. My biggest complaint with the room was the brightness. Sounds strange maybe, but there was just too much natural light - seeping in from closed shudders and pouring in from high uncovered windows from 5:30am until sundown (and at night the street lamp light could be seen). Next time I will bring an eyecover for sure. And earplugs. The noise at H2H isn't as bad as at the painfully loud HH (because of the square) but it's far from quiet. Exterior and interior noise are prevalent.
I LOVED the water bars with refillable glass bottles throughout. So nice not to generate all the plastic waste from the water bottles one often finds throughout other hotels. One green aspect that's a bit of a drag (though I def get the rational for it) is that the electricity only works when your key (and you presumably) is in the room - a common setup in Europe. So no AC while you're out. In the summer you will return to a warm room and have to wait for it to cool off. Again I get the wastefulness of having AC on for no one, but maybe they could have the central temp set a touch cooler so that it's not quite so warm in the summer afternoons. Temp, brightness and noise do not make for good post wine lunch napping! :(
I found the service to be mixed. Everyone was pretty efficient but a few were a touch too cool to be friendly. Get over yourself.
At the price we paid I would definitely return. If it were priced the same as HH I definitely would go to HH instead as it's more my style and speed - prettier, better service and amentities and much better breakfast. But at the lower prices H2H is a great option. I'll likely be back.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank eh555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at H2 for one night on our recent trip through wine country. Our only complaint is that we did not stay longer! This is a great little property. Modern furnishings, all the comforts of home, large (very clean) rooms, and great service from the staff. The hotel is right in the middle of the town - walking distance to tasting rooms, restaurants, etc. While we did not eat at the property, we did have a few drinks at the hotel bar (SpoonBar) which is a trendy mixology type bar with drinks that are incredible.

The hotel has bikes that you can ride for 3 hours free of charge, free car parking around the block, and a free continental breakfast (we did not eat there but it was a fairly typical breakfast). The hotel is within a short distance of TONS of wineries in the area. We wish we would have stayed another 2-3 nights here. If you are considering the Healdsburg area, definitely look into the H2. Hotel Healdsburg is just 2 blocks away and around twice the price. We did stop by the bar there and it was a very nice property as well. The H2 was more our style. We did not have one single complaint while we were there. We would book there again in an instant if back in the area!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BagbosRichmond_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is close to the square and is very modern and nice. We were pleased with the swanky lobby and beautiful entrance and the room was lovely. The beds was uncomfortable and too squishy but that is my only complaint!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank renee94903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We spent a wonderful afternoon at this cute hotel. Nice amenities, great location and excellent staff. The hotel is beautiful, well laid out and very clean. It is right across from the town Plaza and has a hip vibe to it. A great place to relax.

Green Features: Really up to date and glad to see the efforts. In this day and age of bei g green , this place has it down and right. Way to go guys.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I've been to the H2 twice now.... once for dinner and once for an overnight stay. As mentioned, it's located in the heart of Healdsburg and has an interesting design and layout. I found it visually appealing with a good vibe. The room wasn't spectacular but I wasn't disappointed. Dinner was the highlight for us as they serve great food. I did not view the bill so I do not know what kind of damage was done to the wallet, but presentation and taste were excellent. I did notice one reviewer did not like the selection at breakfast. Perhaps they didn't know that you can order items from one of the attendants at the bar. There is a fairly decent selection of foods to choose from that are displayed, but you can also order other items at no charge. All in all, had a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chadblessing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We just returned from a great trip in Healdsburg, CA. Our 4 night stay at H2 Hotel was the perfect place. Rooms were extremely comfortable. Unlimited Filtered or sparkling water on each floor. Great hotel restaurant and bar. The staff were extremely helpful.

Green Features: One of the most environmentally friendly hotels I have stayed.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
0.1 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.8 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
8.3 mi away
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
9.9 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H2 Hotel

Property: H2 Hotel
Address: 219 Healdsburg Ave, Healdsburg, CA 95448-4103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — H2 Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your H2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing