We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great burritos, convenient location ... and we brought a wedding party here”

Taqueria El Sombrero
Ranked #30 of 96 Restaurants in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: reviews on Yelp: http://www.yelp.com/biz/el-sombrero-healdsburg
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great burritos, convenient location ... and we brought a wedding party here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Last Saturday, for an informal post-wedding dinner, my wife and I decided we'd invite everybody to meet up in Healdsburg Square and then wander over to El Sombrero. She and I have eaten there many times before, but usually with only the two of us or a couple of others. The restaurant is just south of the square and has a lot of room. It's the best of the Mexican places I have been to in that area.

About 30 people joined us. It was a roaring success, to say the least. We arrived at around 7 p.m. and immediately had a line going out the door. They provided great service when the big group walked in unannounced, and everyone told me they really enjoyed the dinner--and we had some picky southern Californians and frequent Mexican-food eaters. We ended up taking over almost every table and also had a handful of people sitting outside. The weather was perfect, and no one felt rushed.

My personal pick: the carne asada super burrito. Others ordered a variety of burritos, nachos, and the other usual suspects. We shall return! (although maybe not with 30+ people every time)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    29
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
330 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stopped in on a recommendation of a friend and it was really good Mexican food. It is a bit different, you stand in line, grab a drink and order and pay the gal at the counter. It is seat yourself after that, but they had no trouble keeping orders straight! The staff were all Mexican, so the food tasted, well, Mexican! This is a good thing! The Carne Asada Fajitas were cooked perfectly, no over cooked onions or peppers! And the Carnitas, oh my, melt in your mouth good!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“It's been here forever- clean and consistent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

You are not getting the best the town has to offer but it's reasonably priced,(try Taquaria Guadalajara at the South end of town across from McDonald's) filling and efficient- my biggest complaint with them as with other venues of this sort- FRY YOUR OWN FREAKING CHIPS- they're like fries it's way cheaper to do your own . . . . alas- 32 to 25 years years ago in Healdsburg when Sanchez and his wife fried them in an open pit in the kitchen at ElFaralito- it was an epic period for chip eaters

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpintera, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Okay food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was a spur of the moment choice. It seems more for locals then tourists. As a Californian who loves Mexican food I wasn't overly impressed, but the price was good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carpwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great little Mexican place in downtown Healdsburg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I do takeout here a lot--very good, authentic Mexican at pretty good prices. Sit down is nice too, they have an attractive interior if you want to eat in. This is a good alternative to the more expensive, upscale, downtown Healdsburg restaurants.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Caren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taqueria El Sombrero also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Taqueria El Sombrero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing