We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must stay”
Review of Belle de Jour Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healdsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Belle de Jour Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Must stay”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I have been trying to book a room here for the last couple of years but was never successful until this past weekend and it was worth the wait! The owners Tom and Brenda were just absolutely delightful and their property is breathtaking!

So soon as we got there we immediately put our bags in our cottage and made a bee line for the backyard (ok more like the size of a mini football field), laid on our backs on e grass and looked up at the beautiful blue sky-- beautiful! I told Tom if I had a blanket we would've fallen asleep out there and his response was, "I would've given you one".

For dinner we drove to Willies Seafood in downtown, came back and enjoyed the rest our evening. The cottage that we stayed in was the Caretakers room, which had a huge whirlpool tub, gas fireplace and of course the standard amenities. I just wanted to mention the whirlpool tub and gas fireplace..two things that just add up to Romantical!

The next morning we were treated to a home cooked breakfast, which was delicious. Brenda's scones (well guarded family recipe) were to die for and the eggs in the ramekins another tasty treat and fresh orange juice or coffee to wash it all down. Yum.

Their property is gorgeous and the location is great.... I highly recommend that if you have to stay in Healdsburg this is a must and right at the bottom of their driveway, across the street is Similar winery... How convenient! Enjoy.

Room Tip: I would look at their website and choose what you're looking for
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
303
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
california
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a nice quiet getaway for the night, and this location met all of our expectations. Our cottage #4 was very comfortable and afforded nice views of the hills behind the B&B. The location of Belle De Jour is just a minute or so from the downtown Healdsburg square. Our hosts were very kind, personable, and a wealth of knowledge of the surrounding areas. They provided many suggests for restaurants, activities, and driving directions. The breakfast was also very delicious, scones, freshfruit, eggs, and even a latte upon request! We were very thankful that trip advisor led us to Belle De Jour for our weekend getaway!

Room Tip: cottage #4 offered an unobstructed view of the hills. It is also located at the back of the B&B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cally8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Just came back from a few days in Wine Country (Sonoma County). Stayed at a great B&B in the Healdsburg area. So much to say about how great this place is, including quiet location, the nicest people, great food, plenty of parking, easy highway access, etc. We had read the other reviews so expected a nice place, but this exceeded our expectations. The recommendations for dinner and sights to see were perfect. I'll post some of these latter. I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our visit, only wish it had been longer.

Room Tip: We stayed in cabin #1, but any of them would have been perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoySPCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Belle de Jour was a wonderful find on our last trip to Healdsburg. We live in San Francisco and have been coming to Healdsburg for about 10 years. The area used to be a relatively undiscovered gem but of course it was inevitable that would not last. Many of the newer hotels have become very pricey so we sought out new (at least to us) options for get-away weekends. Belle de Jour is a lovely property just a couple of minutes drive north of the Healdsburg square. The grounds are beautiful and we were lucky to stay in the Carriage House - what a treat. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and it was fun to meet a few of the other guests.

I also want to compliment Tom and Brenda on being excellent hosts. They know the area very will and can provide excellent recommendations on wineries and restaurants. We look forward to staying there again soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This was our first stay at belle de jour. We stayed here for 3 nights. Tom and Brenda were gracious hosts. They offered us wonderful restaurant and winery suggestions.

Stayed in cottage number 4. loved the fire place and the steam feature in the shower.

Breakfasts were delicious ( loved the ginger apricot scones). Breakfast is served at 9 am.

Room Tip: Internet spotty in cottage number four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dragonfly08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at Belle de Jour more than once and it remains our favorite. You will not find a more charming, comfortable or relaxing B&B anywhere. Prepare to have all your day-to-day stress disappear the moment you drive up their long driveway and discover the individual cottage of your dreams. Tom and Brenda will make you feel so welcome as they help you make the difficult decision of where to eat dinner or what wineries are a must visit. And just wait until you experience breakfast!! By the time your weekend is over, the only disappointment you will feel is that it is time to return home. Trust me that you will planning on when you can return as you drive down that driveway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikelin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Just got back from a lovely long weekend at Belle de Jour. We stayed in the caretaker's cottage, lovely room with fireplace, sitting area, and jacuzzi tub. Tom and Brenda were fabulous hosts-great advice on restaurants and wineries, got us dinner reservations, and gave us tips and coupons for free wine tastings. Breakfasts were fantastic, with hot dish, homemade bread and jam, and fresh fruit each morning. Hated to come home!

Room Tip: Every room has its own charming features.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vegaskay51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Healdsburg hotels
1.4 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
1.1 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
2.2 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
558 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
1.9 mi away
The Duchamp Healdsburg
The Duchamp Healdsburg
#7 of 9 in Healdsburg
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle de Jour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle de Jour Inn

Property: Belle de Jour Inn
Address: 16276 Healdsburg Ave, Healdsburg, CA 95448-9074
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing