We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice quiet B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grape Leaf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grape Leaf Inn
Ranked #8 of 15 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice quiet B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

The Grape Leaf Inn is a pleasant B&B on a quiet street but an easy walking distance to restaurants. The room was well appointed and nicely decorated with comfortable bedding and a spacious and updated bathroom. Breakfast was gourmet and delicious.
Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for size of room and any additional chairs for seating/reading
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    56
    25
    12
    7
See reviews for
15
245
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We found the inn via an offer on Living Social. The inn is small and has loads of charm. We stayed in the Cabernet Sauvignon room - watch your head in this room. The ceiling is low and slanted in one portion of the room and in a portion of the bathroom. There were mirrors on the ceiling in the bathroom so you don't feel too cramped in.

We were super pleased with this Inn. They have an amazing breakfast - they get very fancy. I recall lemon ricotta pancakes with a side of chicken apple sausage and an omelette soufflé (think an omelette in a muffin tin). The starter was a lemon shooter and a roasted pear drizzled with honey and pepper with a side of goat cheese. Very delicious. The inn is located very close to downtown - an easy walk to countless restaurants and other tasting rooms.

We decided to bike around to the different wineries. We though we'd have to rent bikes. Nope - the inn has bikes that you can borrow. They have a few varieties, and they provide a helmet and bike lock too.

They have a wine and cookie happy hour too! They leave the left over cookies out for other guests to grab - this was clutch when we arrived after a 3 hour car ride and were starving on the way to dinner. Probably shouldn't have had it, but it was delicious.

Thanks Grape Leaf Inn for a great stay.

I'd highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Krissydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

I loved everything about this place, but especially the location. Healdsburg was such an amazing area and Grape Leaf is in walking distance to everything! The staff is super helpful, they kept in contact with us and left detailed instructions on how to check ourselves in late and even left a bottle of wine for us in our room, something we didnt even ask for! Definitely would love to stay here again, and visit more of the Wilson wineries (the 3 we made it too were great!). We took a day a drove down to sonoma which wasn't much of a ride, the armstrong redwoods are close by and definitely worth a visit. Breakfasts were delicious and the staff took requests openly. We stayed in the gamay rose room and loved it. Beautiful view of the garden, awesome jetted tub and very comfortable bed. The TV service wasn't working while we were there and we didn't care a bit (we only turned it on to see the local weather and realized it was out). Our favorite was sitting out in the quiet night in the garden area with some wine, talking and enjoying the quiet beauty around us. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Definitely get one of the ones with a larger jetted tub, you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richie083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Yes, some of the rooms are too small, but check them out before you decide which one to stay in. We've stayed here twice in the last six months and give it a thumbs up. We especially liked the help we got regarding wineries to visit and restaurants for dinner. The breakfast were good. Recommend the room on the ground floor near the entrance. Would be happier with more comfortable chairs in the room but overall enjoyed our stay. After all, you're going to be spending more time at wineries tasting good wines than sitting in your room. The location is great for walking to dinner at the many good restaurants in Healdsburg. Don't miss visiting the Wilson family wineries. Some of the best in the Dry Creek area.

Room Tip: the room near the entrance war our favorite. However, all the rooms are nicely decorated,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carole l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
344 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

This inn is located a short walk from the square on a quiet street. It has two parts: the original building and a much larger addition that was built about 10 years ago. The older part could use a little updating and I understand that the owners are planning to do that. The room, furnishings, and bathroom were all clean. It was odd that there was not a clock on the bed stand, and my gas fireplace did not work properly. The breakfasts were fantastic. There is a small refrigerator in the main area that you can use to chill a bottle of wine, and I suspect that they would allow you to use the fridge in the kitchen if necessary. Wineglasses are ubiquitous. Coffee and tea are available all day and they bake cookies in the late afternoon. The grounds are very nice. All in all, a nice place and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marfak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Than to the staff at the Grape Leaf Inn, we loved our stay and would highly recommend it to anyone! Amazing 3 course breakfast included, wine tasting passes, beautifully crafted rooms. Made our first b&b stay a great one. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

We spent 2.5 days in Healdsburg, CA
Hotel, friendly staff and other guests, service, free wine tasting and recommendations, furniture, books, trees and flower garden, complimentary wine, windows which open to the roof; beautiful quiet historical part of the town just a few blocks from the buslte of tourist center - everything was great. We love nature more than food, so we visited just 2 wine tastings (out of 8 complimentary), but walked 3 small city parks, and spent several hours on the banks of Russian River.
Grape Leaf let us use guest refrigerator even after we checked out, so we had fresh cool lunch in the shade, while it was close to 80F - beautiful March weather!

Room Tip: I think all room are good, we liked our on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YaRem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Healdsburg hotels
0.4 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
0.5 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
0.4 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Duchamp Hotel Private Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grape Leaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grape Leaf Inn

Property: Grape Leaf Inn
Address: 539 Johnson St, Healdsburg, CA 95448-3907
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grape Leaf Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury 13 room Inn in the heart of Wine Country. Enjoy the ambiance of our award winning property along with our 9 family wineries-Wilson Artisan Wineries. Absolutely sumptuous breakfasts and ultimate comfort, amenities and our special hidden Speakeasy where we serve the best California wines, cheeses. Walk to fine restaurants as well ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grape Leaf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grape Leaf Hotel Healdsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing