We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, meticulous, but not a "true B&B"”
Review of Grape Leaf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grape Leaf Inn
Ranked #7 of 17 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We have stayed at many B&Bs and hotels all over the world. Grape Leaf Inn is in a fantastic location, easy 3 block walk to the square with great restaurants and tasting rooms, and yet on a very quiet street with no noise at all.

All rooms are very clean, the house is restored/expanded with great taste. Our Cabernet Sauvignon room was on the second floor of the original house. Other rooms are on the first floor, as well as on both floors of a new addition. Be aware that almost all rooms have a large jacuzzi tub/shower which requires you to step over a two foot wall to get in. So if you have problems with balance, ask for one of the rooms with a normal shower. The rooms on the second floor of our section all have sloping ceilings typical of a house with dormers, so we had to be careful about not banging our heads. The bed was very comfortable and everything was extremely clean and decorated with taste. Breakfast was good, but no "wow" factor. We have had much better in other B&Bs.

So why is this not a B&B? There was no one there at all to talk to, to interact with, and the owners are totally absent. We called ahead to say we were arriving a bit early, and the very nice woman said that a key would be in an envelope next to the front door. We arrived, picked up our key with instructions and made our way to our room. The whole house was deserted - no one to ask for suggestions about restaurants or ask any other question about our stay. So we went for a drive and returned for a pre-arranged complementary wine tasting. A very nice woman was waiting for us and gave us our wines to taste, reading from pre-written cards to describe each wine.

A nice young woman cooked breakfast for us each day, but besides her, we saw no one else at all. We were all alone in the house at night, able to go and sit in the living room and watch a movie on our iPad. When we checked out, there was no one to talk to, we just left our key on the desk, packed up and drove away. This is NOT a B&B experience.

We would certainly come back because it was so clean and convenient, but now we will know what is (or is not) waiting for us.

Room Tip: Rooms in the newer addition would be preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapeleafinn, Manager at Grape Leaf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We try to go beyond the call of duty for every guest. We know we can’t please everyone and am sorry to hear you booked a time where you didn’t receive the true atmosphere, which I do hope someday you get a chance to experience.
I thank you again, it is very gratifying to be recognized by great folks like yourselves who take the time to express their appreciation.
Sincerely,
Kristen Stephens, Grape Leaf Inn Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 415 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

Location: walking distance to downtown. This is perfect: you can get there easily but don't have the noise of downtown.

Breakfast was hearty and delicious, with a mixture of sweet and savory: crepes, goat-cheese souffle, sausage, fruit. Also excellent are the homemade cookies they have out in the afternoon: white and dark chocolate chunk with crunchy millet.

The Syrah room has good light (including early morning, which didn't bother us but might if you like to sleep in), a lovely reading area, and a Japanese tub. We looked at the other rooms and liked ours best because of the reading area.

Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ikura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Although in general we wouldn't consider ourselves "B and B" type travelers,We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at the Grape Leaf Inn. The staff was friendly and attentive without being overly so, the location was great, our room was meticulous and the breakfast was excellent.

the Inn: a large very clean house. our room (merlot) was on the second floor and was luxurious and private, with large skylight windows and a very large jet tub and shower. the room is on the small side but very nice. A word of warning-the ceiling is peaked and so you just have to be careful getting out of bed!

The staff was great and put a lot of effort into finding us two massage therapists for our anniversary celebration. the massage itself was in the wine cellar which was really cool and unique. the people they used were fantastic. I would definitely recommend!

The first night we were there was a saturday and there was a complimentary wine tasting in the basement. I can't remember the name of the person behind the bar but she was really fun-told us lots of stories about the area and got us all laughing. it was a good way to meet the other guests.

Breakfast was home cooked and delicious. they made a special effort to make my significant other's meatless as he is a vegetarian. it was a fairly healthy breakfast too which was nice as we ate so much heavy food and drank so much wine the rest of the time.

the location is very walkable from healdsburg square. it took us probably 10 minutes to walk each way and we left healdsburg quite late both nights and felt very safe.

there were fresh cookies and coffee and tea downstairs which was also a nice touch.

we really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it particularly to couples or other adults wanting a quiet and relaxing stay in wine country.

Room Tip: the merlot room was very nice-we peeked into the other upstairs rooms and all of them seemed lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthernLightsGirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We spent a Saturday and Sunday night here while we explored wine country. The Inn is charming and comfortable, and our room (Gamay Rose) had an incredible shower/whirlpool tub that was a nice treat after a long day on the wine trail. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the complimentary wine hour which allowed us to sample wines from several different local wineries. The cookies that were baked fresh daily were incredible- I need to get the recipe. The breakfasts were also outstanding. My only suggestion would be to serve breakfast at 8 am- it was served at 9 am which made getting to 10 am appointments tricky, and coming from the east coast 9 am is already noon so I was pretty hungry for breakfast by 9 am.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smallbug418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is a meticulously maintained Victorian Inn with great history, under innovative new ownership. Originally a residence for the town blacksmith, it is now a beautiful guest residence replete w/ a local bar hosted by a modern day blacksmith/bartender. The Innkeeper, Kristin is a welcoming young woman who makes sure that amazingly plumped beds are in crisp form as well as the delicious oatmeal cookies which are served are fresh from the oven-daily.
The towels &'decor are top notch.
The Wilson Family is doing a great job of bringing back hospitality as a benchmark as well as providing their own award winning wines to their guests. This is a great spot for a fun getaway- or as a fun gathering place for a small group in a wonderful grand home setting.

Room Tip: Walk to great local restaurants & charming village. Each room is unique-I viewed them all-
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juju_2013_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Such a wonderful place to stay while in the wine country. The house is beautiful and comfortable with charm and comfort. The food is delicious. The staff is helpful and wonderful. Plus the inn is located close enough to the middle of town so you can walk where ever you want to go! We will stay again the next time we head up to Healdsburg.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Could not have had a better place to start our California wine experience. The Grape Leaf Inn was perfect. Very comfortable, quiet, and friendly environment.

Breakfast was the best. Fantastic poppy sees pancakes. Fantastic weather to sit outside with on the porch or the grounds. The only issue was the rooms were a little small, but they were extremely comfortable (really, do you spend that much Tim in your room in Healdsburg!).

I highly recommend it for a quiet and comfortable stay.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Healdsburg hotels
0.4 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
504 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
594 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
0.2 mi away
The Duchamp Healdsburg
The Duchamp Healdsburg
#7 of 9 in Healdsburg
198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Calderwood Inn
Calderwood Inn
#5 of 17 in Healdsburg
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grape Leaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grape Leaf Inn

Address: 539 Johnson St, Healdsburg, CA 95448-3907
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range: $236 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grape Leaf Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury 13 room Inn in the heart of Wine Country. Enjoy the ambiance of our award winning property along with our 9 family wineries-Wilson Artisan Wineries. Absolutely sumptuous breakfasts and ultimate comfort, amenities and our special hidden Speakeasy where we serve the best California wines, cheeses. Walk to fine restaurants as well ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grape Leaf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grape Leaf Hotel Healdsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing