We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful home, wonderful staff, convenient to village shops & restaurants!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grape Leaf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grape Leaf Inn
Ranked #9 of 15 Healdsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rochester, New York
1 review
“beautiful home, wonderful staff, convenient to village shops & restaurants!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Gourmet breakfast a treat. Richard, Kristin and the staff very helpful. Property very weill kept and authentic period decor. Gardens lovely. My wife and I stay and B&B's for vacation travel. We enjoy the unique interaction with other guests and staff. Grape Leaf met our expectations for a B&B near the heart of town. We spent 4 nights at the Grape Leaf and from our experience, good value for the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapeleafinn, General Manager at Grape Leaf Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
We apologize for taking so long to acknowledge your generous review and taking the time to respond.
It is most gratifying to know that our efforts to make your stay are appreciated by great folks like yourselves and we hope you will return soon.
All the best for the Holiday Season.
Richard & Kae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    55
    25
    12
    7
See reviews for
15
241
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Recently stayed here after seeing the revies and watching the video. Expected a welcoming place but did not find it to be that way at all. The people they have hired as "innkeepers" are just to young and uninvolved. The owner seems to be more interested in making wine then running his inn. You can really tell the difference as the next placed we stayed had such involved and helpful owners. Also the rooms wallpaper was a bit moldy and the breakfast just so heavy and fat filled that we felt bad after eating it. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrJandL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicante, Owner at Grape Leaf Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for writing your review.
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.
We try to be responsive to all guests comments, likes and dislikes while they are staying with us. Unfortunately, you failed to express your issue while you were with us. Indeed,our staff checks with all our guests during their stay and our staff on duty while you were here informed us that when asked you specifically told them everything was fine. Had you brought the issues you raised we would have:
A. Changed your room if it did not please you.
B. Served you a substitute breakfast if you were displeased with our regular menu. We are very aware of healthy diets ( we do not serve transfats)..
C. If our staff was inattentive, our private cell number is given to every guest and we are always
available.
Unfortunately, you choose not mention your issues during your stay.
We have treated all the guests the same for the past 14 years and the great majority have
expressed their sincere gratitude for what we provide and their overall experience.
Although you didn't mention it we hope you enjoyed our complimentary bottle of fine wine, our daily fresh made cookies, our daily turn down service and the high end linens, bath amenities and other complimentary items we provide.
Richard Rosenberg
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akc1982
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

There is nothing outwardly negative I would say about the Grape Leaf Inn, but I found this place very average. I will start by saying this was my first experience at a B&B, so I have nothing else to compare it to other than my years of staying at hotels.

I'll start with the positive things. The breakfast was pretty good and substantial. The location was also good, just a short 10 minute walk to the square in Healdsburg. The shower had the best water pressure I've ever experienced.

On the negative side, I found the rooms and bathroom to be very small and everything seemed old. I know the house is old, but it could be decorated and maintained in a more updated fashion. The plumbing system is very loud; you can hear very loud water when someone is showering or the toilet is flushed. The lady at the front desk was fine, but not really overly friendly. We never met anyone else, such as the B&B proprietors. Also, light pours into the rooms in the morning waking you up because the blinds are not very good.

Overall, I was simply unimpressed by the property, especially considering it cost over $300 a night. I think it could use some updating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akc1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapeleafinn, Owner at Grape Leaf Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and pointing out things you felt were not up to par. We do keep our property completely up to date bearing in mind that our design is that of a rare Three Dormer Queen Victorian. As such, we avoid modernizing it so long as we maintain our highest quality amenities such as our full three-course breakfasts, fresh pressed Frette linens, high end Mattresses, which are the exact same model as those use by the Ritz-Carlton and Aveda soaps, lotions and shampoos.
We also agree with you that that having never stayed at a B&B before visiting us, you haven't had an opportunity to compare us with others. We hope you so may provide a more realistic comparison the next time you stay at a B&B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

after being a big fan of the grape leaf inn since 1995, i was very disappointed with the response of the owner richard in reference to my 50th bday gift certificate for a visit in march of this year. my sister was told that the gift certificate could be used toward our room fee and when we tried to use it as such it was not honored upon check out. a few days after we got back my sister was promised a $100 credit on our charge card. we waited a few billing cycles and no credit appeared. my sister then emailed richard in june, recieved an apology and was told again that credit would be immediately given, but none was. i emailed richard again july 31 and got no reply. my sister decided to make a negative comment on "yelp" a few days later becasue of the poor response. richard did respond the next day, but he was unprofessional, disrespectful, and made untrue statements about the transaction. he demanded that my sister retract her comment. the $100 credit was finally given on aug 8th. my sister thanked "yelp" for their assistance in a new comment and richard responded on "yelp" again w/ disrespect and untrue satements.
i'm very saddened that my sister's special gift, my favorite wine country destination and my 50th bday have been tainted by richard's unprofessional reaction to a simple credit to my charge card when his employee made the initial mistake 5 months ago.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapeleafinn, Owner at Grape Leaf Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
This 'review' is a classic example of the adage ' no good turn goes unpunished'. Over the past week this reviewer's sister embarked upon a smear campaign by writing untrue 'reviews' on various traveler websites, including Trip Advisor. This review appears to be written by the original reviewer's sister in order to perpetuate this campaign in order to damage our reputation.
The sister was given a full refund for a gift certificate even though we offered to credit the card against the cost of the stay. The sister refused our offer but insisted on receiving a cash refund which was contrary to the terms of the certificate. I instructed our staff to do this but my instructions somehow were not followed. I apologized sincerely and profusely and I then personally gave the sister her money back as a courtesy.
If the reviewer chooses not to stay with us again she is perfectly able to stay elsewhere but to continue to besmirch our good reputation is just wrong and unfair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damascus, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Very nice place we would recommend to anyone liking B&B's and looking for a nice place to stay in Healdsburg. Richard and Kristen were helpful and very friendly. Convenient walk to restaurants in town and they have recommendations as well as willing to make reservations for you. Room was on the small side but comfortable and there was plenty of room to sit outside or in the living room and parlor. Weather was great... We were there on a night to experience the wine tasting room downstairs and met other wonderful people doing the same as we were. Breakfast was very good as well. Worth it if you can get a reservation here....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BjFDamascus_Maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapeleafinn, Owner at Grape Leaf Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
We really appreciate your very kind review and taking the time to write it. It mean a lot to us to know that our guests truly appreciate our effort in making the your stay as memorable and enjoyable as possible.
We look forward to seeing you soon.
Cheers !
Richard & Kae
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Our trip to the Wine Country was beautiful and relaxing. Staying at the Grape Leaf Inn was the perfect compliment to our trip. The staff, especially Kristen, were welcoming as well as helpful. The room was a bit small, but very comfortable. The breakfast was fantastic!! The Inn was a short walk to Healdsburg center. Would highly recommend this Inn. Hopefully we will be able to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NEtraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Grape Leaf Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
We really appreciate that you have taken the time to write such a nice review.You comments are a large part of why we love what we do.
Have a great summer and hope to you again soon.
Kind regards,
Richard & Kae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bruno, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

The Grape Leaf Inn is an A+. My husband and I went away for the weekend and the Grape Leaf was just so relaxing. The rooms are beautiful and clean, the service was always with a smile. We had wine tasting in the evening and a breakfast that I will never forget. We were walking distance to downtown where we had a great dinner and don't forget the winetasting. I would recommend the Grape Leaf to everyone I know.

Room Tip: The new side for the home has fireplaces which just make the night more romantic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapeleafinn, Owner at Grape Leaf Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
We thank you for your kind review. As you know reviews carry a lot of weight with future travelers and apart from our sincere appreciation for taking the time to write your review, it is gratifying to know that our hard working staff and our efforts to make your stay as enjoyable as possible is recognized.
Looking forward to seeing you at the Grape Leaf Inn soon.
Richard & Kae
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
0.5 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.5 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
0.4 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
10.2 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grape Leaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grape Leaf Inn

Property: Grape Leaf Inn
Address: 539 Johnson St, Healdsburg, CA 95448
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grape Leaf Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury 13 room Inn in the heart of Wine Country. Enjoy the ambiance of our award winning property along with our 9 family wineries-Wilson Artisan Wineries. Absolutely sumptuous breakfasts and ultimate comfort, amenities and our special hidden Speakeasy where we serve the best California wines, cheeses. Walk to fine restaurants as well ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Grape Leaf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grape Leaf Hotel Healdsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing