We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent wine, so-so experience”
Review of Simi Winery

Simi Winery
Ranked #28 of 159 things to do in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Popular winery in Sonoma Valley that features its winery chef's award-winning cookbook.
Centreville, VA
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Decent wine, so-so experience”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stopped at Simi because we really enjoy the Dreaming Tree Wines, and they are the same winemaker. Nice grounds, we felt the wines were average. We made a point to taste the ones we could not get back home, but nothing really blew us away. The woman pouring got distracted halfway through the tasting by a very rude woman leading a group of about 12 people. They disrupted the rest of our tasting so it tainted the experience. I would go back on another visit to see if our opinion changed. They were very happy to let us share a tasting though, which we appreciated.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank kitty1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    36
    10
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Must visit while in Healdsburg”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My wife and I have visited several times - it's a beautiful winery and tasting room. Last week we enjoyed pizza and wine on the deck among the redwoods. On a previous visit the tour the was excellent and my wife, who uses a wheelchair, was given her own tour as parts weren't accessible. And of course we bought more wine - what's not to love?!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dennisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice tour”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Very informative tour of an old family winery with an interesting history. The young woman in the family inherited the winery when her father died in a flu epidemic. She expanded the business and was actually quite a character. They take you through the process and you learn much about growing the grapes, the oak barrels, Aging the wine... And you end with a tasting of course.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lindalee03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level 6 Contributor
411 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“SIMI Winery showcases wine and rustic pizza pairings in Healdsburg, CA”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Housemade Pancetta, Broccoli Rabe, & Green Garlic Pizza was paired with the 2010 SIMI Pinot Noir. The wine went really well with this pizza. The slight fruit flavors of red cherry, raspberry, cranberry, plum, and black cherry balanced out the salty pork belly, making the pizza not so shocking to the palate. This wine also has well-balanced flavors all by itself with good structure and perfect acidity. Thumbs up!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank OCFoodDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Was by myself and stopped in for a tasting. Met Robin she was very informative with both the wines and the surrounding areas. We had the same taste in wine and she gave me wines that I enjoyed and told me what they would pair well with. Strongly recommend stopping by!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank stacia5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simi Winery also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Simi Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing