We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pampered Perfection At Honor Mansion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Pampered Perfection At Honor Mansion”
Reviewed April 20, 2006

Friday, April 21, 2006

We recently returned home from a B & B vacation trip to Northern California. Two of our nights were spent at the heavenly Honor Mansion. From the moment we arrived and were greeted with the surprising news of a complimentary room upgrade, to our reluctant goodbyes with owners Steve and Cathi Fowler as they presented us with a departure gift, we were wrapped in the folds of pampered luxury! Our upgraded room was a beautifully decorated private cottage next to the koi pond with extra amenities such as our own supply of movies and music, personal welcome note, clawfoot tub and shower, umbrellas, slippers, wine, and a private off-street parking space. We enjoyed strolling around the immaculate gardens and grounds that enclosed the pool, tennis, croquet and bocci courts and relaxing on the deck by the koi pond. Each afternoon, we were treated to a bounty of cookies, gourmet appetizers, wine and coffee. Of course, lunch was not a necessity after endulging in the three-course, unbelievably scrumptious breakfast personally served by Steve with a smile and sincere conversation. Steve and Cathi were naturals at making us feel at home and yet very special. Steve was also very helpful in suggesting wineries to visit and restaurants to try for dinner. It was undoubtedly the nicest B & B we've stayed at over the years. We would highly recommend Honor Mansion to our friends and family.

Helpful?
36 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    758
    30
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
35
565
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turlock, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2006

Steve & Cathi know how to treat their guests. Their attention to detail puts them above the rest. The food was great and the suite had everything we needed. Steve helped us with recommendations of wineries to visit based on our preferences. We would definitely recommend the Honor Mansion to everyone.

Helpful?
16 Thank SharonGH1899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 8, 2006

My wife and I are yearly guests at this beautiful B & B in the heart of wine country. Despite a slightly soggy spring visit, it was once again a slice of heaven staying here. Cathi,Steve, and their excellent staff do not miss a single detail when it comes to making this one of the most comfortable stays in all of our travels. We highly recommend the Poolside Suite, but all rooms are top notch. It really doesn't get any better than this.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Honor Mansion for three nights in late March/early April. Every day we are removed from our stay, the more we miss every little thing about it.

We stayed in the Magnolia Room, which was part of the mansion itself. A complimentary bottle of white wine and a personalized greeting awaited us when we arrived. The room and bed were refreshed while we ate breakfast, and this included clean wine glasses and water bottles (which come in handy after a day of tasting wine). It seems like everywhere we looked, something WE would do if we ran an inn had already been thought of. We knew this place was special when we looked in the armoire and saw a bottle labeled "Water For Iron". It's all in the little things...unbelievable.

The breakfasts...well, they were *sublime*. Menu breakdown was as follows, as best as we can remember:

Day 1: blackberry cobbler w/vanilla ice cream, Mansion Eggs Benedict
Day 2: orange-cranberry scone, baked pineapple w/mango sorbet, Grand Marnier french toast
w/applewood smoked turkey sausage
Day 3: Apple/cinnamon scone, baked pear w/sorbet, Mexican egg souffle w/salsa & sour cream
and tortilla chips

The food got better every day (and we thought that wasn't even possible after the first morning). The Mexican souffle was the best egg dish I've ever eaten, hands-down.

The inn's location near Healdsburg is perfect for heading out and exploring the surrounding wineries of the Sonoma, Russian River, Dry Creek and Alexander Valleys. Of our three days, two were spent wine tasting. Carmen made the process of selecting which of the 150 wineries to visit more fun and less intimidating. She asked us what our wine preferences were, listened to our responses and then proposed several stops, all of which were unique and made great wines. She made it about us, plain and simple, and that's what you want on a vacation.

The staff is also more than happy to make reservations at local restaurants for you, provided there's enough advance warning. We ate at Zin restaurant while we were there, kind-of new-age American wine country stick-to-your-ribs comfort food. We also try to check out the best pizza in town wherever we trip to, and were pointed to DiVine pizza nearby. The veggies on the pizza tasted like they were picked out of the ground that day. Manzanita was a last-minute choice one night, and we enjoyed the food there too. The service at all three restaurants was stellar.

Last words: Our experience at Honor Mansion was priceless, and we will return -- preferably sooner than later. We would rate a 7 out of 5 stars if we could. Can't possibly think of a better stay in CA Wine Country, period.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
30 Thank STEVEN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 6, 2006

My wife and I have traveled extensively in California, always on the lookout for a new and exciting bed and breakfast experience. This April, as part of a weekend getaway, we booked accommodations at Honor Mansion. It turned out to be the most memorable stay of stays, where we both were supremely delighted with the cuisine, a beautiful and expertly-designed suite, personal and friendly attention from the hosts, Cathi and Steve, absolute luxury, and a really fabulous coffee machine offering beverages at any time of the day or night. We were stunned. Special touches, such as sherry in the room, champagne when requested, flowers for milady, and an in-room massage added pleasure upon pleasure to our stay. We can honestly say that we have at last found "a home away from home." Honor Mansion is truly our place now, a retreat we will look forward to again and again.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
26 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2006

The best place we have ever stayed, anywhere! Short walk/jog to the square and parking is provided. The Tower Suite was fabulous and relaxing, and having two showers is nice too. Everything that you could want is thoughtfully provided - fireplace, wine glasses, slippers, eyeglass cleaner, luxurious linens, you name it. Each breakfast was better than the last - our favorite was the strata, but the cobbler was a close 2nd. Definitely worth going off your diet. If we could move in permanently, we would! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
32 Thank LoveThe850Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2006

The Honor Mansion was everything we had hoped it would be. The excellence is in the details - coffee and biscoti delivered before breakfast, complimentary water, sodas, coffee, tea etc... all day, wonderful winery recommendations and concierge service to fulfill our every wish. Healdsburg is a quaint town with amazing restaurants (Cyrus and Willis Seafood were the favorites) and wonderful shops. The Honor Mansion is the perfect location for tasting in the Dry Creek and Alexander Valley. We found this area full of smaller vineyards and had some wonderful tasting experiences - much better than the day we spent in Napa which was crowded and vanilla. We are looking forward to our next stay at the Honor Mansion - it did not disappoint! Andrea & David

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
34 Thank ask131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
0.8 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
10.8 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
9.0 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort

Property: Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Address: 14891 Grove St, Healdsburg, CA 95448-4821
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Sonoma County's Wine Country, the Honor Mansion sits on four acres of landscaped resort grounds, offering tennis, bocce, croquet, PGA putting and an invigorating lap pool with spa pavilions and sun deck. Another deck surrounding a koi pond provides serenity. This landmark's pristine elegance is reflected by the Fowler's and their professional staff, who provide personal attention to every detail. Full gourmet breakfast buffet with complimentary mimosas each morning, and wine and appetizers each evening. The Inn is surrounded by wineries, golf courses and is within walking distance of the town square's outstanding restaurants and shopping. AAA 4 diamond rated, Michelin Guide recommended. Complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival, as well as access to cookies, soda, water, coffee, tea, sherry and other treats available 24 hours a day. Full concierge service available. No resort fees, or any other hidden fees! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honor Mansion, a Wine Country Hotel Healdsburg
Honor Mansion Hotel
Honor Mansion Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing