We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (864)
Filter reviews
864 results
Traveler rating
815
33
8
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
815
33
8
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews putting green koi pond bocce ball garden suite biscotti vineyard suites squires cottage steve and cathi fowler croquet court cookies angel oak magnolia room wine country thought of everything each morning wet bar the main house
Filter
Updating list...
644 - 649 of 864 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2008

A real surpise once you come through the doors and the simple parlor - the rooms are outstanding and the innkeepers are most hospitable. You feel that they truly want you to enjoy your stay, the property and their hospitality. The poolside suite had 2 different robes for bath and for bedroom! Every detail was covered including having a book light, a flashlight and a scissor in a drawer! Although breakfast was outstanding, a pot of coffee (or hot water for tea) was delivered to your door with a local paper. The pool is kept clean and inviting regardless of the weather and there are bocce courts, a tennis court and a croquet court, too, next to the rose garden! The suite itself was elegant and comfortable - great bedding, towels, and assorted complimentary products! A wonderful find and worth recommending to the most discerning traveler.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank NPWNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

Steve and Cathi made the celebration of my husband's birthday so very special! Awaiting us in our beautiful room was a delicious chocolate cake & birthday greetings (along with a bottle of wine)! We were especially impressed with the manicured grounds of their property - 140 roses in a myriad of colors surround the croquet lawn, putting green and bocce ball courts. They are a charming couple who are knowledgeable about local wineries & restaurants. We will definitely be back! Sue & Geno

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Winers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

Wonderful people, beautiful property. Stayed during our honeymoon and it was one of the highlights. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CBMD-Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2008

We just returned home from the Honor Mansion yesterday and both my husband and I are wishing we could return today! We went for four days and found our stay to be ideal. The breakfasts were delicious and the staff was so courteous and helpful. Steve, one of the owners, helped us map out a personalized tour of the wine country based on our wine preferences. My husband and I commented more than once that we felt the Honor Mansion was the perfect blend of attentiveness and privacy. The room was beautiful, and the grounds a very pleasant surprise (the back of the grounds are huge!) We stayed in the Garden Suite and would stay again in a heartbeat.

I have to respond with a counter to the review before me. Yes, they did give you a "breakfast pass" which we forgot on our first day and were still given breakfast! The breakfast pass was a way for the staff to know who was in the breakfast room so the staff could quickly tidy up your room while you were eating! All three mornings with the exception of our check out morning by the time we returned from our delicious breakfast our room was picked up, fresh towels were in the bathroom and the bed was made. Also, the reviewer before mentioned needing a key to get into the house and around the grounds and that is true, but it made me feel more secure, especially at night. It wasn't that inconvenient to bring it with us when we left.

We loved the Honor Mansion and can't wait to return. My husband and I have traveled quite a bit and usually don't ever want to return to the exact same hotel. We've always wanted to try something new, but we both felt if and when we return to Healdsburg we wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank rhondamt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2008

My husband and I had always wanted to stay in Healdsburg. Therefore, we are grateful to have had the experience of staying within walking distance from the town square. Unfortunately, we found the culture of the Honor Mansion to be rigid and lacked the privacy we were looking for in a romantic vacation. A few things that made the stay less carefree are the following: house is under lock down - need a key to access at all times; breakfast pass is required in order to be served each morning (even when they know you are a guest and which room you are occupying); unable to modify reservation (including the dates of your stay) within 60 days of making your reservation; pool area was stark and lacked shade, furniture, or privacy. Six weeks prior to arriving for our reservation, we needed to make a minor change in length of stay. The staff would not allow for the change and was quite rude on the phone. We e-mailed some concerns to the hotel at that time and received a scathing response from the owner. In the end, the stay was fine b/c of the location and weather. However, I would not choose to return to the Honor Mansion.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank KABNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Steve Fowler at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2008

We are truly sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us back in May. The curious part of this review is that it took you 5 ½ months to write it. The day you checked out we spoke with you personally and asked you if you enjoyed your stay with us, you said that you had. You mentioned that even though you had gotten off to a “rough start”, you really had a great time and were very complimentary toward us and the property. We said that we hoped we would see you again and you said that we would. What changed? None of the descriptions of our property are accurate nor are they fair. Over 200 guests have written reviews completely the opposite of yours. We just don’t understand what would have triggered you to write such a negative review all these months later. As we said when you left, “we hope we will see you again as guests”. We meant it then, we mean it now. Come, let us pamper you again! Steve Fowler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews