We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed at this inn for two night while on our first visit to Sonoma. I booked the reservation based on Tripadvisor reviews and the Inn definitely lived up to the ratings we found here. We had a room in the main building with a beautiful fireplace and spacious bathroom. The room had two small porches (front and back) and was well appointed and immaculate. The staff was well trained and accommodating without being overbearing. Breakfast was delicious and the wine hour and snacks were appreciated after a long day of travel. Thank you again for making our first visit to Wine Country memorable and relaxing. We hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building and I'm glad we made that decision.... we had significant rain wh...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

We want to thank you for writing this kind review. We so appreciate your input and we are honored that you feel we lived up to your high expectations.

We love when first-time visitors to the Wine Country take advantage of all we have to offer and show you! We are so looking forward to hosting you folks again!

Until then,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (825)
There are newer reviews for Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 825 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2014

I recently stayed at the Honor Mansion and was pleasantly surprised. I'm not usually a fan of B&Bs because they usually feel like you're forced to be with other people even if you want alone or couple time.

Unlike most B&Bs, breakfast is done buffet style with individual tables, so you can talk to other people if you'd like, but you can also eat as a couple. Plus you can go any time during the two hour window, which is much better than having a designated seating time.

The food is homemade and delicious. There are scones, fresh fruit, some type of hot food, including pancakes with a caramel and banana sauce, handcut bacon and a breakfast bake that is to die for.

You can't tell from the street what behind the main house. There are cute little cottages with king-size beds, an outdoor hot tub and it's own private patio that is covered in purple wisteria. There's a koi pond and outdoor eating area, a huge backyard with croquet lawns, a tiny vineyard, basketball court and outdoor pool.

The couple who owns this place is very friendly. It's clear that they really care about their business and got into it for the right reasons.

Room Tip: Try the wine hour which always includes a white and red wine from local wineries, great cheeses and...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 366DawnR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Thank you so very much for this wonderful review! We so appreciate your compliments about our unique fusion of inn and private resort. We are very happy you enjoyed all the breakfast menu items as well as the buffet breakfast set up.

Thank you again for choosing the Honor Mansion!

Warm Regards,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in Vineyard Suite 1, what a beautiful room. Fabulous decor and attention to detail. The staff we so welcoming and attentive. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt truly pampered. The cleaning was impeccable. It was our wedding anniversary and on arrival in our room found a delicious lemon and poppyseed cake in a beautiful glass dome with a complimentary bottle of wine. Having a outside whirlpool bath was a treat, very private and romantic. In a morning you have a basket of fresh hot beverages of your choice delivered outside your door with home-made biscotti. Breakfast was delicious with a menu of mimosa cocktails, great way to start your day! Cathi and Steve are the perfect hosts, in fact everyone we met who worked there had passion and attention to detail. Steve will help you plan your day around wine country and recommend restaurants in the area. We so felt relaxed and comfortable. We also found time to squeeze in some tennis and basketball in the stunning grounds of Honor mansion. If you want a truly special stay in wine country, then book Honor mansion, you will not be disappointed at all! We will be back!

Room Tip: The Vineyard suites are fabulous!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CupcakeCandyQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you so much for writing this lovely review! We are so glad that you felt our service was excellent, our cleanliness was impeccable, and our grounds and food were delightful.

We are so happy to make your stay one to remember. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We were a little surprised after reading the favorable reviews on Trip Advisor. We found the grounds to be well-maintained, with the croquet, mini-golf and bocce courts as described. We had a cottage suite with a private terrace w/fountain and hot tub. However, the hot tub jets did not work. When reported, we were promised it would be taken care of right away, but 2 days later and it was still not fixed. The amenities in the room were nice (from TV to gas fireplace to toiletries), and the cleaning staff did a very nice job cleaning our room each morning. The breakfast service was very good, as well as 5 pm drinks with fruit and cheese by the koi pond. The owners were very friendly and accommodating, always providing us with maps and directions to wherever we wanted to go. There was one main problem and one secondary problem with our stay. You can have all the amenities in the world, but you must get the basics right if you claim to be a distinctive inn. Our $490/night room had a stale, water-damage smell (or musty antique furniture smell) which hit you the moment you entered. We were too tired to ask if all the rooms smelled like this, or if it was just ours. Second, several staff promises to make dinner reservations or arrange tours were not followed through. Finally, we were very surprised that this inn, while in a lovely neighborhood, was right off Highway 101. You could hear the traffic day and night, which prevented us from opening the windows. Just not entirely what we expected. If the room odor and service follow-through were improved, this could be a place we would return.

Room Tip: Ask about room smell before accepting a room. Let them know if you want a room with lots of sunligh...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonar11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you so much for writing a review of your stay. We appreciate your lovely compliments about the resort grounds and our service.

We do apologize about your soaking tub jet not working properly. We unfortunately experienced a miss-communication within our staff and the maintenance person did not realize the jets in your suite needed attention. This was an oversight that we deeply regret.

Regarding the smell in the room, we have never smelled a stale scent in any of our rooms and we hope that our guests would bring any smells to our attention so that we can look into and rectify the situation.

Another miss-communication occurred regarding your dinner reservations and although we had made them when you requested them, we did not communicate that information with all staff members so the person you encountered was unaware that the reservation had indeed been made.

We do sincerely apologize that we dropped the ball on too many small things during your stay and we hope that you will give the Honor Mansion another chance to make your stay wonderful.

Please feel free to contact us if you have any further questions. Thank you again.

Warm Regards,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Wow! Steve and Cathi Fowler have created a true home away from home. Everything was wonderful. The lodging, the grounds, the fantastic gourmet breakfasts (with Mimosas), always available water/sodas and snacks, afternoon cookies, evening hors d'doeuvres with local boutique wines, every member of the staff...and Steve's local knowledge of great wineries and hidden gem lunch spots...all made this a memorable anniversary trip and a must-return venue for us. It was our anniversary trip and first visit to California wine country, so we splurged and spent more than we normally do on lodging, but we have absolutely no regrets. We stayed in the Garden Suite. It was a wonderful, private haven with a great outdoor hot tub and private garden. I'll state it "point blank" -- stay at Honor Mansion when in Healdsburg, and you will NOT be disappointed. Thanks again, Steve and Cathi!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haughtondm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

We so appreciate your warm compliments. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and to thank us so graciously. We love pampering our guests and providing a comforting oasis away from home while you are relaxing on vacation.

We are so happy we were able to help you celebrate your anniversary and make a special time even more special. Thank you again for your review! It was absolutely our pleasure to serve you.

Warm Regards,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed in a Vineyard Suite for just a few nights at the Honor Mansion (wish it were more). The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed with lovely and interesting furniture pieces. Our suite had a private terrace with hot tub which we didn't use, given the cool weather but I could see using it in the warmer months. The day starts with coffee or tea delivered outside your door in insulated containers which you arrange the day before. Our breakfasts were delicious with a hot entree served every day along with a very nice selection of fruit and baked goods. For us it was particularly special because we are both gluten free and enjoyed enormously the freshly baked gluten free scones. There are so many great touches about the place -- the luxurious sheets, a bottle of wine left in the room for our arrival, daily wine served in the late afternoon with tasty snacks and friendly service from the staff and owners. We used free passes to a very good local gym just a 5-6 minute walk.

Downtown Healdsburg is a lovely town, a longish walk or very short drive from the Honor Mansion. Our welcome package included lists of recommended restaurants, vineyards and other things to do. It was a great base from which to explore the area. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FondofTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you so much for your fabulous review! We are honored that you loved our location for your Wine Country vacation.

We are quite experienced with gluten free cooking, and we are so happy to share our gourmet accommodations with our guests! We are very much looking forward to hosting you folks again soon.

Until then,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I have stayed at this Inn in each of my visits to California Wine Country and have never been disappointed. The property is maintained in pristine condition and the owners and staff interact with guests to accommodate any need. I would never hesitate in giving this property my highest recommendation.

Room Tip: The Vineyard Suites are outstanding and I specifically like Suite III
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

We want to thank you deeply for writing this review and for choosing to stay with us each time you visit Wine Country.

We are so glad you have enjoyed your stay at our resort inn and that you have found our grounds and service impeccable every time.

Thank you so much for your recommendations, and we look forward to hosting you folks again soon!

Until then,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
0.8 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
488 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
575 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
0.6 mi away
The Duchamp Healdsburg
The Duchamp Healdsburg
#7 of 9 in Healdsburg
196 reviews
22.6 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort

Address: 14891 Grove St, Healdsburg, CA 95448-4821
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Healdsburg
#1 Luxury Hotel in Healdsburg
#2 Green Hotel in Healdsburg
Price Range: $348 - $718 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Sonoma County's Wine Country, the Honor Mansion sits on four acres of landscaped resort grounds, offering tennis, bocce, croquet, PGA putting and an invigorating lap pool with spa pavilions and sun deck. Another deck surrounding a koi pond provides serenity. This landmark's pristine elegance is reflected by the Fowler's and their professional staff, who provide personal attention to every detail. Full gourmet breakfast buffet with complimentary mimosas each morning, and wine and appetizers each evening. The Inn is surrounded by wineries, golf courses and is within walking distance of the town square's outstanding restaurants and shopping. AAA 4 diamond rated, Michelin Guide recommended. Complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival, as well as access to cookies, soda, water, coffee, tea, sherry and other treats available 24 hours a day. Full concierge service available. No resort fees, or any other hidden fees! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honor Mansion, a Wine Country Hotel Healdsburg
Honor Mansion Hotel
Honor Mansion Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing