We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (864)
Filter reviews
864 results
Traveler rating
815
33
8
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
815
33
8
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews putting green koi pond bocce ball garden suite biscotti vineyard suites squires cottage steve and cathi fowler croquet court cookies angel oak magnolia room wine country thought of everything each morning wet bar the main house
Filter
Updating list...
281 - 286 of 864 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed in a Vineyard Suite for just a few nights at the Honor Mansion (wish it were more). The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed with lovely and interesting furniture pieces. Our suite had a private terrace with hot tub which we didn't use, given the cool weather but I could see using it in the warmer months. The day starts with coffee or tea delivered outside your door in insulated containers which you arrange the day before. Our breakfasts were delicious with a hot entree served every day along with a very nice selection of fruit and baked goods. For us it was particularly special because we are both gluten free and enjoyed enormously the freshly baked gluten free scones. There are so many great touches about the place -- the luxurious sheets, a bottle of wine left in the room for our arrival, daily wine served in the late afternoon with tasty snacks and friendly service from the staff and owners. We used free passes to a very good local gym just a 5-6 minute walk.

Downtown Healdsburg is a lovely town, a longish walk or very short drive from the Honor Mansion. Our welcome package included lists of recommended restaurants, vineyards and other things to do. It was a great base from which to explore the area. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FondofTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you so much for your fabulous review! We are honored that you loved our location for your Wine Country vacation.

We are quite experienced with gluten free cooking, and we are so happy to share our gourmet accommodations with our guests! We are very much looking forward to hosting you folks again soon.

Until then,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I have stayed at this Inn in each of my visits to California Wine Country and have never been disappointed. The property is maintained in pristine condition and the owners and staff interact with guests to accommodate any need. I would never hesitate in giving this property my highest recommendation.

Room Tip: The Vineyard Suites are outstanding and I specifically like Suite III
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

We want to thank you deeply for writing this review and for choosing to stay with us each time you visit Wine Country.

We are so glad you have enjoyed your stay at our resort inn and that you have found our grounds and service impeccable every time.

Thank you so much for your recommendations, and we look forward to hosting you folks again soon!

Until then,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I've stayed here three times. The grounds are quite lovely and the service is extremely attentive. If you wish to splurge on a suite then I recommend the property.

The first time we stayed in the Tower suite and loved it minus a minor ant problem. The second time we splurged on a Vineyard suite, which was very nice. The third time we opted for the Camellia room and would not recommend it. I was pretty disappointed by the "European style bath". I have stayed in many a european apartment and, while I have frequently experienced the split toilet/shower I have never experienced the shower opening directly into the room. Quite literally, you step directly into the shower from the bedroom, and out of the shower onto the carpet in the bedroom in front of the closet. We also experienced some disruptive noise, which the staff corrected, but only after a night of disrupted sleep.

Generally, the attention to detail at the Honor Mansion is beyond anything I've experienced elsewhere. I will likely return, but only when I am prepared to splurge on a suite.

Room Tip: Splurge on a suite. The Camellia room is not recommended.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank profbrewster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to write us a review. We are so appreciative that you have chosen the Honor Mansion several times now and that you have enjoyed our service, grounds, and attention to detail every time you have stayed here.

We are sorry that you did not enjoy the European style bath we have in the Camellia Room, but we want to point out that out of our five Mansion Rooms, only two have the European style bath. The other three Mansion Rooms have large bathrooms, which guests can see on our website.
In 1883, the beautiful Mansion was built without plumbing. When we purchased the property in 1994 to transform it into an inn, we added the European style baths to ensure that every room in the historic Mansion had a private bathroom. We did not want to compromise on the open space in the room, but we do understand the need for privacy which is why our two rooms that do have the European style bath have the added amenity of the privacy screen.

We apologize that you had an issue with noise, and we are glad that our attentive staff was able to fix the situation in the morning. Again, we would like to thank you for your kind words about our attention to detail and our service.

We appreciate your review and thank you again for choosing the Honor Mansion!

Warm Regards,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Outstanding service, outstanding grounds, outstanding room, outstanding food (which included cheese/fruit plate & wine)
Special thanks to Lupita who made sure everything was perfect.
Would not consider another property in Healdsburg after our stay here.

Room Tip: If any of the suites are available - go for it. Private, secure, doorstep parking; beautiful enclosed patio area with spa tub, fridge & microwave...really, really well done
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fishman2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you so much for your outstanding review! We are so glad you enjoyed our service, resort grounds, room amenities, and food.

We look forward to hosting you folks again during your next trip to Healdsburg!

Until then,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Ruined for life!! Honor Mansion just ruined any future stay at any other resort!! I write this as I sit in my 800.00 a night room at the Fairmont SF..listening to the elevator open and close and pining away for my days at Honor Mansion!! We booked this trip thinking 3 nights at HM and 4 at Fairmont, in hindsight we should have stayed at least 5 nights!! It was a home away from home. I will say the room photos on Trip do not do it justice. We stayed in Vineyard 11. Open the door to your own cabana of sorts its SO clean..sink, coffee, wine glass, big closet. Gorgeous robes,..step down to your King size uber cozy bed, see through fireplace for living area/HUGE bath, 2 shower heads great water pressure, lovely private patio out sliders in back, tub fridge stocked with waters ( no charge) which we didn't use due to weather..Details..and the reason we are ruined..No nickel and diming here..Nail files, shower caps, tea/coffee delivered to your door, makeup remover, privacy, cookies, soda, water bottles at any time, wine cheese hour, breakfast amazing..just truly romantic, Definately not for kids. Awesome couple retreat or even girl getaway if your cool sharing a bed! Steve and Cathy as everyone has stated are a class act. Super helpful..we went for wine tasting and only went to 2 due to the amazing other scenery we were told about! We will only stay here in the future and often. Forgot to mention they give you free pass to gym down the road which was a fab facility!! Close to town restaurants..Its SO quiet and cozy... perfect really!

Room Tip: VIneyard 2 but didnt see others
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMPMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Wow--we can't thank you enough for these amazingly kind words. We are so happy that you loved the luxurious Vineyard Suite you stayed in, and we are truly honored that you wished you had spent more time at our resort inn.

As you mentioned, we have countless complimentary amenities from water to wifi to coffee and cookies always available, and we are so glad you appreciated that we don't nickel and dime our guests while they are enjoying a relaxing vacation.

We hope to see you folks again soon. Thank you again for choosing the Honor Mansion!

Warm Regards,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews