We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (859)
Filter reviews
859 results
Traveler rating
810
33
8
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
810
33
8
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsputting greenkoi pondbocce ballgarden suitebiscottivineyard suitessquires cottagesteve and cathi fowlercroquet courtcookiesangel oakmagnolia roomwine countrythought of everythingeach morningwet barthe main house
Filter
Updating list...
287 - 292 of 859 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed in the pool suite for a 2 night get a way and it was superb. Every possible need was anticipated. The breakfast basket awaited us upon awakening and it was a delight with steaming hot coffee and biscotti. The prepared breakfast was scrumptious both mornings. Staff was very friendly and helpful with suggestions for planning our outings. In a nutshell, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hip-Aji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you so much! We are so glad you enjoyed our special pampering touches from the coffee basket at your door to the amenities in the pool suite.

We are very pleased that you felt our service was friendly and helpful! Thank you again.

Warm Regards,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at The Honor Mansion.

Our annual trip away within 2 hours of our home and we decided on Healdsburg and through some research we felt that the Honor Mansion was our best bet for lodging in Healdsburg.

There is no question: The grounds of the Honor Mansion are unreal! Bocce, and tennis courts, Croquet, a putting green, plus a gorgeous pool area. Oh and a gorgeous Koi pond Very nice and beautifully maintained. The location is very convenient, close to downtown and near the major freeway to get you on you way to wineries and fun.

The Mansion itself is beautiful, and nicely furnished. Very clean and the design touches are everywhere: bullion fringe on the table cloths, beautiful window treatments, glass tops on all the furniture, beautiful tasteful bedding and luxurious towels and robes.

We stayed in The Dogwood Room, which was lovely. One of the nicer B&B rooms I have stayed in. We enjoyed the bath amenities, and the lovely bottle of wine that greeted us when we first walked in.

Their breakfasts are wonderful. A nice array for all types of tastes. The availability of food, snacks and refreshments was a wonderful touch. My husband especially liked the sherry that was available at all times as well as some delicious baked goods, candies, soda and water. My favorite was coffee delivered every morning outside our door.Their happy hour with appetizers was lovely too.

Since it was Thanksgiving the gals that were working did bring Happy Hour to our room at 1pm due to the fact they were leaving early for the holiday. That was very thoughtful and nice.

This all being said I would like to explain why we decided to give the Honor Mansion 4 out of 5 stars.

Upon arriving, early, we knew our check in was at 4, BUT we were driving an electric car, needed to charge and needed a map so we figured we would just go to The Mansion first so we could get our bearings. Unfortunately we did feel like we were in the way, or just slightly unwelcomed....we knew we were early but felt our greeting was less than satisfactory, HOWEVER we got passed it, figured due to the upcoming Thanksgiving Holiday there would be some staff scrambling, The gal did offer us refreshments but we felt it would be best to grab the map and leave and leave, which was our plan anyway-we just felt like we did something wrong and it was uncomfortable.

Upon our 4pm check in another gal greeted us, but she too seemed overwhelmed, rushed, and slightly inexperienced. She had only been working there a few months but was kind enough and quickly gave us a tour of the INCREDIBLE grounds. She kept asking if we had had any questions I did but she could not answer any of them. Trust me I am ok with this but we were interested in the history of the home and she knew nothing. In the meantime you look on the wall in 5 minutes, you can read about the mansion, if I can she should too. It turned out that the man who built the home shared the same last name as my husband! Pretty interesting....

We just did not get a warm and fuzzy feeling. Understand we knew if there was anything we needed or wanted we could have it, but the friendly factor was missing. I will check this off to Holiday plans and logistics and not take it personally. Plus it was understood that some of the gals that we asked were fairly new.

Since we do drive an electric car and were traveling a long way, having info on charging stations would have been a big help. We did email the HM. prior in regards to "hooking up our car" and inquired about charging stations, but we did not get a response. Imagine our surprise to find out that the CITY HALL about half a 1/4 mile away was available to us. This is great information for guests that require charging their vehicles.

Make no mistake, this was a wonderful stay, and a great value. We do highly recommend staying at The Honor Mansion if you plan on visiting Healdsburg.

Room Tip: We loved the Dogwood room but understand the Tower Suite is the best.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Getbackjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful recommendation!

We so appreciate you taking the time to detail many of the things you loved about your stay, from the Dogwood Room amenities to the gourmet buffet breakfast to the manicured grounds.

We do apologize that our very new employees who are in training did not exude a sense of welcoming hospitality, and we are continuing to work with all of our new staff until they are more confident and knowledgeable. Upon receiving your review, we looked into the missed email, and we did find the email in our spam folder (it was a completely different e-mail than the one we had been corresponding with prior to your arrival); we sincerely apologize for this oversight, because we would have immediately let you know that the City Hall on Grove Street does indeed have electric car charging stations as does Coppola Winery just north of us a few miles.

We hope that you folks will give us a second chance and return to stay with us so that we may give you the proper hospitality and service that our guests have come to love.

Thank you again for your wonderful praises!

Warm Regards,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Booked the tower suite and my partner loved it. Really really great place for people who come for a romantic getaway.

My partner refused to leave the room so I had to forgo our evening plans. We spent most of our time in the outdoor Jacuzzi tub, drinking wine, and other things... *cough*

As to the room itself, you can tell it is quite old. The doors and furniture are like the ones that you would see at your granny's. It is a great place if you prefer European style boutique hotels, but if you are expecting 5 star chain hotel services with luxury hardware, this place is definitely not for you.

As for my partner says this hotel is so far ranked top 1 hotel we have ever stayed. However, I do think the breakfast needs some significant improvements.

Room Tip: If budge allowed, get the suite with outdoor Jacuzzi. The one we got is the tower suite. It is the place if you prefer European style boutique hotels, but if you are expecting 5 star chain hotel services with luxury hardware, this is definitely not the choice.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wlc0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time and energy to write this review for us! We are so glad you enjoyed the Tower Suite, which is located in the historic building of the water tower of the original property, built in 1883. Because we do have 13 unique rooms ranging from the historically classic yet modern and updated Mansion Rooms, Tower Suite, and Squire's Cottage to the larger, more luxuriously modern Vineyard Suites, we have detailed descriptions on our website for guests to choose the perfect room or suite for their tastes.

We are, however, disappointed to hear that you were not fully satisfied with the breakfast, and we would love to hear from you directly about any specific concerns about our full complimentary gourmet breakfast every morning. We so appreciate your comments about The Honor Mansion being the top hotel you folks have ever stayed, and we do hope to host you again sometime in the future.

Warm Regards,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I would recommend Honor Mansion to anyone looking for a special weekend in wine country! A friend of mine recommended this place to me and I tried my hardest to find a place that on paper was a better value and there isn't one. The staff, room, amenities, grounds, food, location are unbeatable. Honor Mansion added a special touch to every single portion of our engagement weekend. There was chilled champagne, wine, chocolate strawberries, and a cake waiting for us when we arrived as well as rose pedals shaped in a heart on our bed. Nat King Cole love songs were even being played in the background. The room was immaculate and very romantic with private baths inside and outside and a fireplace that we could fire up when it got cold at night. There is not a single detail that they left out with the creation of this bed and breakfast and the staff was more than accommodating providing us with outstanding service and advice for our entire weekend as well as setting most of our reservations up. It was an unforgettable weekend and I want to say thank you to all who were involved in making that happen.

Room Tip: Vineyard Suites are separate buildings making it much more remote and romantic
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonnymc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write this detailed review about all the things you enjoyed about your stay! We are so delighted that you found the value of your stay to be just as high as you expected, and we are so happy you took your friend's suggestion to stay with us.

We know that word of mouth is extremely important and we can't thank you enough for passing your recommendation on to others.

We love being a part of special celebrations like engagements, and we wish you a heartfelt congratulations to the both of you, from all of us at The Honor Mansion.

Warm Regards,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We highly recommend this B&B to anyone who is looking to escape the stresses of the real world and reconnect as a couple. Steve welcomed us at the door and then took the time to advise us of Healdsburg wineries and restaurants that we might enjoy while waiting for our room to be made ready. We stayed in the Squire's Cottage - beautifully well-appointed, romantic, and private. When we arrived to the room after dinner, the bed had been turned down, the fireplace turned on, and romantic music was playing. Neither of us had ever felt more relaxed and pampered. The breakfasts were better than we had expected; my husband's favorite was the pancake with homade banana-pecan-caramel sauce. While the property is located about a mile from the green in Healdsburg, it was easy enough to walk into town and back.
One evening, after driving to hike the redwoods and to see the mouth of the Russian River, we returned to the property and sipped wine while playing bocci. As the sun set, we relaxed on the outdoor couches that overlook the croquet field remarking at our great luck in finding this wonderful spot.

Room Tip: We spent two nights in the Squire's Cottage; it was cozy and very romantic. We also stayed one night in the Vineyard Cottage, which was gorgeous and had a private deck with a hot tub. In the end, we both preferred the Squire's Cottage simply because it felt as though we were tucked into a cocoon away from the rest of the world.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for your recommendation! We are so glad you loved the Squire's Cottage's privacy and comfort.

We are very pleased that your husband loved the banana pecan caramel sauce, and that you both felt so pampered and relaxed throughout your stay. We greatly appreciate your taking the time to write this review. Thank you again!

Warm Regards,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews