We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outdoor Jacuzzi, loft, fireplace, and lots of romance” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outdoor Jacuzzi, loft, fireplace, and lots of romance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Booked the tower suite and my partner loved it. Really really great place for people who come for a romantic getaway.

My partner refused to leave the room so I had to forgo our evening plans. We spent most of our time in the outdoor Jacuzzi tub, drinking wine, and other things... *cough*

As to the room itself, you can tell it is quite old. The doors and furniture are like the ones that you would see at your granny's. It is a great place if you prefer European style boutique hotels, but if you are expecting 5 star chain hotel services with luxury hardware, this place is definitely not for you.

As for my partner says this hotel is so far ranked top 1 hotel we have ever stayed. However, I do think the breakfast needs some significant improvements.

Room Tip: If budge allowed, get the suite with outdoor Jacuzzi. The one we got is the tower suite. It is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wlc0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time and energy to write this review for us! We are so glad you enjoyed the Tower Suite, which is located in the historic building of the water tower of the original property, built in 1883. Because we do have 13 unique rooms ranging from the historically classic yet modern and updated Mansion Rooms, Tower Suite, and Squire's Cottage to the larger, more luxuriously modern Vineyard Suites, we have detailed descriptions on our website for guests to choose the perfect room or suite for their tastes.

We are, however, disappointed to hear that you were not fully satisfied with the breakfast, and we would love to hear from you directly about any specific concerns about our full complimentary gourmet breakfast every morning. We so appreciate your comments about The Honor Mansion being the top hotel you folks have ever stayed, and we do hope to host you again sometime in the future.

Warm Regards,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    28
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
35
559
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I would recommend Honor Mansion to anyone looking for a special weekend in wine country! A friend of mine recommended this place to me and I tried my hardest to find a place that on paper was a better value and there isn't one. The staff, room, amenities, grounds, food, location are unbeatable. Honor Mansion added a special touch to every single portion of our engagement weekend. There was chilled champagne, wine, chocolate strawberries, and a cake waiting for us when we arrived as well as rose pedals shaped in a heart on our bed. Nat King Cole love songs were even being played in the background. The room was immaculate and very romantic with private baths inside and outside and a fireplace that we could fire up when it got cold at night. There is not a single detail that they left out with the creation of this bed and breakfast and the staff was more than accommodating providing us with outstanding service and advice for our entire weekend as well as setting most of our reservations up. It was an unforgettable weekend and I want to say thank you to all who were involved in making that happen.

Room Tip: Vineyard Suites are separate buildings making it much more remote and romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonnymc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write this detailed review about all the things you enjoyed about your stay! We are so delighted that you found the value of your stay to be just as high as you expected, and we are so happy you took your friend's suggestion to stay with us.

We know that word of mouth is extremely important and we can't thank you enough for passing your recommendation on to others.

We love being a part of special celebrations like engagements, and we wish you a heartfelt congratulations to the both of you, from all of us at The Honor Mansion.

Warm Regards,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We highly recommend this B&B to anyone who is looking to escape the stresses of the real world and reconnect as a couple. Steve welcomed us at the door and then took the time to advise us of Healdsburg wineries and restaurants that we might enjoy while waiting for our room to be made ready. We stayed in the Squire's Cottage - beautifully well-appointed, romantic, and private. When we arrived to the room after dinner, the bed had been turned down, the fireplace turned on, and romantic music was playing. Neither of us had ever felt more relaxed and pampered. The breakfasts were better than we had expected; my husband's favorite was the pancake with homade banana-pecan-caramel sauce. While the property is located about a mile from the green in Healdsburg, it was easy enough to walk into town and back.
One evening, after driving to hike the redwoods and to see the mouth of the Russian River, we returned to the property and sipped wine while playing bocci. As the sun set, we relaxed on the outdoor couches that overlook the croquet field remarking at our great luck in finding this wonderful spot.

Room Tip: We spent two nights in the Squire's Cottage; it was cozy and very romantic. We also stayed one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation! We are so glad you loved the Squire's Cottage's privacy and comfort.

We are very pleased that your husband loved the banana pecan caramel sauce, and that you both felt so pampered and relaxed throughout your stay. We greatly appreciate your taking the time to write this review. Thank you again!

Warm Regards,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We recently returned from a great visit to the Wine Country. Our stay at Honor Mansion was lovely. The hosts were always helpful, the rooms and amenities were great. They even had a birthday cake for my husband upon our arrival. Yes, it's expensive, but usually you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you so much for writing this review! We are so happy that you loved your stay, from the service to the rooms and amenities.

We love making birthdays even more special with some extra touches, and we are pleased that you enjoyed it. We appreciate your recommendation.

Thank you again!

Warm Regards,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful visit to Honor Mansion. They are the nicest and most accommodating group of people. The breakfast every morning was truly delicious. The property has a lot to offer. My husband and I played tennis and also used the putting green. The grounds are impeccably clean and well maintained, as is the interior. We will go back again and again. Thank you for the wonderful stay!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kashes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you very much for writing this review about your first stay!

We are so glad you folks made time to take advantage of our resort grounds, and we are touched at your compliments about our service and breakfasts.

We look forward to hosting you folks again!

Warm Regards,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Amazing experience at the Honor Mansion! Everything was first class. The customer service, the wine reception in the evening, the amazing breakfast and mimosas and most of the all the Vineyard Suite. What a wonderful oasis in Wine Country. Steve and Cathi personally ensure that you are not only comfortable but happy, content and informed about the area. Personal and outstanding attentive service is the norm. These Innkeepers and Owners truly make you feel like you are THEIR GUEST! They even surprised me with my own personally baked birthday cake! It was the best cake I've ever had! I will recommend this place to all of my friends and family. THANK YOU for a great and restful spot in between all those glasses of wine. Cheers to Honor Mansion!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockinmominar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Wow! We can't thank you enough for your enthusiasm about spreading the word! We are so glad that you highly recommend our property, and we are so happy that you felt well taken care of during your stay!

We loved helping you celebrate your birthday and we loved hosting you as guests. Thank you again for these kind words.

Warm Regards,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Just got back from the Honor Mansion, and it was wonderful! Steve and his staff are so friendly and helpful. The rooms are very nice, the grounds beautiful, and the food is excellent! I only have one complaint, which I shared with Steve- no left-handed ladle! Really! I would stay there again in a minute!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Squire's Cottage. It's very nice, and it was nice that it is separate from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bcbnwcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We very much appreciate you sharing your compliments in this review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed the service, rooms, grounds, and the food. We are also glad that not having a left-handed ladle was the greatest criticism you had. We are working on that!

Thank you again, and we hope to host you again soon.

Until then,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
0.8 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
10.7 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
23.6 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort

Property: Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Address: 14891 Grove St, Healdsburg, CA 95448-4821
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Sonoma County's Wine Country, the Honor Mansion sits on four acres of landscaped resort grounds, offering tennis, bocce, croquet, PGA putting and an invigorating lap pool with spa pavilions and sun deck. Another deck surrounding a koi pond provides serenity. This landmark's pristine elegance is reflected by the Fowler's and their professional staff, who provide personal attention to every detail. Full gourmet breakfast buffet with complimentary mimosas each morning, and wine and appetizers each evening. The Inn is surrounded by wineries, golf courses and is within walking distance of the town square's outstanding restaurants and shopping. AAA 4 diamond rated, Michelin Guide recommended. Complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival, as well as access to cookies, soda, water, coffee, tea, sherry and other treats available 24 hours a day. Full concierge service available. No resort fees, or any other hidden fees! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honor Mansion, a Wine Country Hotel Healdsburg
Honor Mansion Hotel
Honor Mansion Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing