We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cudjoe Key
Level Contributor
134 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Beautiful grounds, unbelievably tasty breakfast offerings, good location and comfortable room. If I had to complain about anything it would be the lack of functional bathroom space....but that would be it. We loved our stay and would go back tomorrow if we could. I would suggest a different room.

Room Tip: Some have larger bathrooms and separate sitting areas......ours did not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review! We are glad you had a wonderful time during your stay here. We look forward to your return sometime soon!

Until next time,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    760
    31
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
36
567
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
columbus
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We spent three days this past week at The Honor Mansion, and felt more pampered than ever. The service we received from Natalie, Dannie, Steve and Cathi was unbelievable. They had a happy to do it attitude and were there to plan our wine trips, dinners, and answer any questions we had. We stayed in the Squires Cottage---and have to say Steve and Cathi have thought of everything! The room was beautiful, and romantic, from the tub to the fireplace, to the awesome bed and linens---to the romantic music playing when we walked in. The grounds of the Mansion are immaculate, and kept pristine. The breakfasts were fantastic, as were the appetizers and wines served before dinner. We travel extensively, and have to say this is one of our top stays ever. We booked our trip for next year before we even left. doug and cindy

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winetraveler73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Doug & Cindy,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! Ensuring that our guests feel pampered is our main purpose, and we are so glad you let us pamper you! We really appreciate your kind compliments and we're pleased that you have added the Honor Mansion to your list of favorites! Thank you, again, for taking the time to write us such a lovely review.

We look forward to seeing you again next year!

Until then,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

100% of the experience was perfect. Why stay anywhere else? Get food, great help, great location. We had a magnificient time and Steve and Kathy really know Sonoma and love to share their knowledge. They tell where to go, what to eat and what to drink.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Websterwayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We want to thank you for writing us such an amazing review! As you said, we do truly love Sonoma and helping others experience Wine Country the way we know and love it! We're so glad you enjoyed all of our suggestions and had a great time here!

Warm Regards,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden, Idaho
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights and were very sad to leave when it was over. We are in our 30's and like to have some activities to do while on vacation. At the Honor Mansion they have a Tennis Court, 2 Bocce Ball Courts, Basketball Hoop, Putting Green, and a Pool. And the best part is that there was rarely anyone else using any of those things. It felt like we had the whole resort to ourselves.

Besides the activities they offer an amazing home cooked free breakfast as well as cookies and free wine in the afternoon. There are sodas and bottled waters available all day for free. Everything about this resort is first class. The employees are some of the nicest I have ever been around at a resort. They tendered to our every need which included setting up our wine tour and mapping it out for us. They also got us a private driver for the days we planned on drinking a little more.

Our first night our air conditioner froze up due to the record breaking heat in the first week of October. The owners offered to move us, but we stayed in the room and opened the window and it was totally fine. They fixed the air condition first thing the next morning and when we checked out they gave us a coupon for a free night when we come back. This was absolutely incredible service. I would not even consider staying somewhere else when we do come back.

I know that these rooms could seem expensive here. Trust me, if you are debating between the Honor Mansion and anywhere else pick the Honor Mansion. Pay a little extra to experience what true excellence feels like. It is worth it for the romantic scenery and the impeccable service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1_Metallica_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We are so humbled by your wonderful compliments of our property and amenities! We truly appreciate your taking the time to write us such a detailed review!
We're so glad we were able to make your wine country experience wonderful! We all love to give suggestions for all the amazing places in Sonoma County that make this area so special, and we're always happy when our guests enjoy what we plan for you!

Thank you for being so accommodating while we worked to fix your air conditioner; we really appreciate your understanding that even when we try to make everything perfect, sometimes things just happen! We do hope you come back soon, as there is always more to explore here in Wine Country!

Again, thank you for your lovely review!

Until next time,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We cannot say enough about The Honor Mansion!!! It is an absolutely beautiful inn with gorgeous grounds!! Everything is done to perfection!! We expected a wonderful experience there, but our expectations were even exceeded! They are truly committed to providing excellent service and everyone on staff does their utmost to make you happy. They offer a delicious gourmet breakfast every day; not just a continental breakfast, but a true, full breakfast with amazing dishes!! They have thought of everything; whatever you need/want, they have it covered. Our suite was just beautiful; even better than we expected! They even offer delicious appetizers in the afternoon with amazing wines to accompany them! The pool and pool area is lovely and the grounds are so beautiful! I wish we could have stayed longer!! We had a wonderful, wonderful time and look forward to returning to The Honor Mansion!!

Room Tip: We stayed in The Tower Suite and it was so beautiful!! It is comprised of two levels with a downsta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review you have written us! We do try to have everything thought of for our guests so you can completely relax and feel entirely pampered during your time here. We're so pleased we were able to make your trip wonderful.

We also really appreciate all of your details about our Tower Suite in your room tip; those are so helpful for our future guests in deciding which of our 13 rooms to choose!

We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and we are truly honored that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to your return!

Until then,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed at Honor Mansion in October 2012 in the pool room. The staff, including owners Steve & Cathy, and concierges Danni and Nataly were AMAZING. They were the perfect combination of helpful, and yet not intrusive, as some B&B proprietors can be. The group helped arrange some unique experiences, including a tour of a small winery normally closed to the public.

Can highly recommend staying at Honor Mansion as part of a trip to Sonoma wine country!

Room Tip: Pool suite includes an outdoor hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alpinecow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your gracious review! We appreciate all your kind remarks about your stay. We are so pleased that we were able to make your trip to Sonoma Wine Country wonderful, and that you enjoyed your stay with us in some peace and quiet! Again, thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review!

Warm Regards,

Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

When I was preparing to propose to my fiancee I wanted to create the perfect trip. I'd narrowed it down to a long weekend in Healdsburg, but needed a place to stay. I found the perfect place in Honor Mansion.

We stayed in the Garden Suite, which had a private driveway and a fenced in area with a private entrance. It did share one wall with the adjoining suite. It had a small patio area in the front with sliding glass doors leading out to that area and a long hallway-like patio along the side leading to the front door, but the best outdoor space was waiting for us just outside the back door. There we found a spacious partially-covered patio area that included a good-sized whirlpool hot tub. Also on the back deck were comfortable chairs (perfect for reading or sitting together with morning coffee) as well as a medium-sized refrigerator and a microwave.

The interior of the room was beautiful. As you walk in the front door to your immediate right is a living room area with recliners positioned in front of a gas fireplace. Tastefully hidden behind decorative doors is a small (maybe 32") TV if you choose to use that. Also in that area is a CD player, and they provide about 8 CDs that may be appropriate for your stay.

On your left will be a small table with two chairs, as well as a built in dresser/wet bar and a beautiful old armoire, as well as the back door. Straight ahead is the queen bed, another dresser, and the bathroom.

The grounds overall were fantastic. The main building (where you check in and get breakfast) is perfectly done. There are two small rooms in the front of the house, and they provide a computer where you can print off your boarding passes on the way out, or do a little research if you don't have a laptop with you. There's a patio with small tables where you can enjoy breakfast by the Koi pond, or later in the day you can partake in their nightly wine and appetizers. In the back there's a pool large enough to swim laps in and a large poolside area to catch some sun. Nearby are two tents where you can arrange for poolside massages (which I did) through independent therapists that the staff arranges for you. Behind that area is a large recreation space with a croquet field and bocce ball courts.

They offer a number of services including a rose petal turndown and a cheese plate (both of which I took advantage of), and they also gave helpful recommendations and reviews on local wineries, restaurants, and activities.

The staff was very helpful throughout and made things easy for me. They were careful not to blow the surprise and acted welcoming and professional at all times.

The location is very good, though if you're planning on spending a lot of time in Healdsburg (dining or shopping, etc) it's a very short drive or a reasonable walk (about a mile). Other places in the area are closer, so consider that. It's about a $10 cab ride if you're a decent tipper.

In terms of value, I'd say if you're looking for the very best lodging experience in the area, you've found it here. You'll also pay for it. I believe that my stay came at the top end of their rate scale, as most of the places in town were booked even when I was looking around more than a month out. It's easily the most I've ever spent on a hotel, and if it wasn't for a once-in-a-lifetime event I wouldn't have been able to justify the expense. However, if you're able to get a rate that fits into your budget this is a very, very solid place to stay.

I should mention that while I have extensive experience in hotels of every level, this is the first B&B I've ever stayed in, so take that into consideration.

Room Tip: Visit their website to view room types. I can recommend the Garden Suite from experience, but they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PromoRoadGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
First, we again want to say, "Congratulations!" from all of us here at the Honor Mansion.
Thank you so much for your thorough review of your stay during such a momentous occasion in your lives! We are so excited to help with surprises and special occasions, and we're especially pleased that you loved everything we were able to do for you to make this exciting time even more memorable.

We so appreciate your detailed outline of the room's layout, as this is extremely helpful for our guests when they're deciding between all of our unique rooms. We're so happy that you enjoyed the Garden Suite during your stay with us.

We feel so honored that you chose us as the perfect place to stay for this big moment, and we thank you for allowing us to make your trip special.
Thank you again for your lovely, helpful review!

Warm Regards,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
0.8 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
480 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
557 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
0.6 mi away
The Duchamp Healdsburg
The Duchamp Healdsburg
#7 of 9 in Healdsburg
195 reviews
10.8 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort

Property: Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Address: 14891 Grove St, Healdsburg, CA 95448-4821
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Sonoma County's Wine Country, the Honor Mansion sits on four acres of landscaped resort grounds, offering tennis, bocce, croquet, PGA putting and an invigorating lap pool with spa pavilions and sun deck. Another deck surrounding a koi pond provides serenity. This landmark's pristine elegance is reflected by the Fowler's and their professional staff, who provide personal attention to every detail. Full gourmet breakfast buffet with complimentary mimosas each morning, and wine and appetizers each evening. The Inn is surrounded by wineries, golf courses and is within walking distance of the town square's outstanding restaurants and shopping. AAA 4 diamond rated, Michelin Guide recommended. Complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival, as well as access to cookies, soda, water, coffee, tea, sherry and other treats available 24 hours a day. Full concierge service available. No resort fees, or any other hidden fees! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honor Mansion, a Wine Country Hotel Healdsburg
Honor Mansion Hotel
Honor Mansion Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing