We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“European luxury in the wine country”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the honor mansion after spending time in Europe. It reminded me of the five star hotels we stayed Italy. The rooms are beautiful with a real attention to detail. The grounds are maintained to perfection. The staff and owners work hard to exceed your expectation. Make sure to enjoy the afternoon wine and appetizers.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank opcathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for your kind review! We do work hard to please our guests and we are so happy that our efforts made a difference in your stay. We know attention to detail matters to our guests and we are pleased to have been able to serve you with five-star quality!
Warm Regards,
Steve & Cathi and the Honor Mansion Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (833)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 833 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at the Honor Mansion based on a referral from some friends and it exceeded our expectations. The service was simply outstanding with every comfort accomodated. We stayed in the Garden Suite for our 25th wedding anniversary and loved the privacy with it's own driveway and secluded private porch. And we could step right out into the lovely pool area. Coffee was delivered to our gate each morning and a bottle of wine and a poppyseed cake were awaiting our arrival. The breakfasts were wonderful and we especially enjoyed being able to dine outside surrounded by trees and the koi pond. A couple of different wineries hosted a happy hour when we were there. The winery and restaurant recommendations made by Steve and Cathi were also first rate. We'll definitely be back. Loved it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Hello Tanis & Don!
We appreciate your lovely review very much! We are delighted that your 25th wedding anniversary was made special during your stay with us, and we so look forward to your next stay. Do please tell your friends who referred you to stay here, “Thank you!” from us, as word of mouth from trusted friends really is the best way to let people know about what we offer our guests. We are honored that we were able to exceed your expectations during your stay, and so happy to have met you and served you well!
Warm Regards,
Steve & Cathi and the Honor Mansion Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Just came back from our first vacation to CA wine country. My wife and I had a wonderful stay at Honor Mansion. Beautiful grounds, activities, wine tasting, spa services, friendly and helpful staff, and cordial owners made this vacation a memorable time. They even contacted us a couple of weeks before we arrived to help book our winery visits, restaurants, and spa services to ensure we didn't miss out on anything we wanted to experience. Never experienced anything like that. Thank you Steve. One of the best B&Bs that you will ever find.

Frank & Valerie

Room Tip: Check out each room on their web site and pick your first and second choices before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank_and_Valerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Dear Frank & Valerie,

Thank you so much for writing this wonderful review about your stay with us! We are flattered by your comments about every aspect of your stay, and we are so glad we served you well. We believe that guest service is the most important part of hospitality and makes a stay so much more special, which you found to also be true during your stay with us.

We are happy to have made your stay one you will remember!

Warm Regards,
Steve & Cathi and the Honor Mansion Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Let me begin by saying that I have stayed all over the world for my job, and have had the opportunity to experience some extremely highly rated hotels (Ritz, Four Seasons, etc). For those of you who have also experienced these luxury hotel chains, you know that the expectation has been set for top notch service, food, and amenities. Well let me tell you about a hidden gem in Healdsburg called the Honor Mansion...

The Honor Mansion is a beautiful, completely refurbished Victorian style bed and breakfast that is run by Steve and Cathi Fowler. Steve and Cathi are not only the consumate professionals, but are also two of the friendliest people you could ever meet. Steve's knowledge of the local area, including the numerous restaurants and wineries is unparalleled, and Cathi's breakfasts are nothing short of amazing! My wife has Celiac disease (allergy to Gluten), so often times she is not able to eat the majority of food that is offered in restaurants and hotels/B&B's). That however, was not the case during our excuisite stay at the Honor Mansion. As it turns out, Steve also has Ciliac Disease, and Cathi has mastered the art of Gluten Free cooking and baking, making some of the best GF pasteries I've ever tasted.

After breakfast, Steve, map in hand, would come over to our table and go over his favorite wineries and restaurants in the Sonoma (Healdsburg) area, and we were never disappointed.

The graciousness of our hosts, combined with the spectacular accomodations, make this trip to Sonoma and the Honor Mansion a vacation that we'll remember for the rest of our lives!

Room Tip: We stayed in Vineyard Suite #3 and it was gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schneider4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you for your kind words! We really appreciate the effort you took to compliment our property and staff, and compare us so graciously to those hotels of such high standards. We love knowing that our guests feel treated like royalty while also enjoying a personal interaction with our owners and innkeepers in our suggestions for enjoying the beautiful Sonoma County.
It is so important to make safe and delicious gluten-free food for those with gluten allergies or Celiac disease, and we are glad to share our recipes for gluten-free gourmet food with you!

Hopefully your future world travels brings you back to Healdsburg sometime in the future!
Cheers,

Steve & Cathi and the Honor Mansion staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I (like everyone else probably) agonize over planning my hotel stays when I go away, and our trip to Sonoma/Napa was not any different. I have been to the area several times and never found a place that wow'd me...nor do I usually write reviews about them! I can happily say that Honor Mansion exceeded all of my expectations and more!!! My fiance and I had gotten engaged a few days prior and Honor Mansion had surprised us with a nice note and lemon poppy seed cake in our room at check in, along with a nice bottle of wine. We had stayed in the Angel Oak room which was whimsically decorated without being tacky. The deck off of the room overlooking the pool and grounds was fantastic to unwind at night under the stars with the complimentary sherry provided or in the morning sipping our coffee/tea and eating the pre-breakfast biscotti's! I never felt like I had to "tip toe" around the house unlike some B and B's I have stayed at. The grounds were beautiful and well kept, and everything had a nice relaxing feel to it. The staff were extremely friendly and kind. Breakfast each morning was plentiful, and a great base for a day of wine tasting..including the two free mimosa's per person. As for the walk to town, yes, it is a walk...probably 15 min (with heels on mind you) although after all the eating and drinking you do the 15 min walk is well needed! On the way back it is a bit dark, but they do provide you with flash lights if needed. I never felt unsafe walking once and I am a bit of a wuss. However, if you must drive to town it probably is less then two minutes tops...so either way you can't go wrong. There are so many little extra's that Honor Mansion provides like bottled water/soda around the pool, afternoon snacks and appetizers as well as wine and so much more. We were so sad to leave even though we were going on to Yountville, my favorite place-I knew the service and detail was going to be nowhere near as good as Honor Mansion!!!! We most definately will stay there again on our next trip to Sonoma without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dcnj_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed, glowing review! We take great pride in our attention to detail and we are so happy when guests appreciate all those little details that help make your stay unforgettable. Many aspects of the Honor Mansion serve to distinguish us from B&Bs and we are glad that you felt comfortable during your stay with us. We love being a part of guests’ special occasions, and making celebrating your engagement everything you hoped for.

We are so honored that we have “wow’d” you and we look forward to hosting you again sometime soon! Until then,

Steve & Cathi and the Honor Mansion staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We spent just one night here recently but we'll be back. The property is anchored by a beautifully restored Victorian and surrounded by gorgeous gardens, a croquet lawn, 2 bocce courts, putting green, and a tennis court. The suites are in separate cottages on the grounds and we enjoyed Wine Suite III on our stay. The rooms are wine country luxurious with 4 poster beds and every amenity you can imagine. We were upgraded to a suite with a private patio and outdoor jacuzzi. The staff anticipated our needs and surpassed our expectations. We arranged for massages by the pool on arrival at the hotel and would highly recommend this experience. The hotel has 2 private cabanas for couples massages by the pool. Nirvana!

Room Tip: Wine Suite III was lovely. The Wisteria Room in the main building looked beautiful as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckygirl_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review and we appreciate you taking the time to write it. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will certainly look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Steve, Cathi & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

It's all the little touches that add up to a great experience at the Honor Mansion. This was our second time there, and we wanted to see if the 2 nd time around was as great as the first. It was. The property, room and grounds are immaculately kept. Many small flowing water sculptures dot the lawns and private terraces. We have not stayed in the mansion itself, but have had phenomenal experiences in the pool suite and most recently the Vineyard Suite 1. I have no doubt that the main house rooms are also beautiful. From the breakfast spread in the dining room to the afternoon wine and appetizers, the homemade cookies all day, the complimentary soda, water, cappuccino machine 24 hrs. Nobody needs to be hungry here. In fact dining at tables on the patio next to the koi pond is great enjoyment. They will even give you fish food if you want to feed them.
The pool feels great on a hot day and their back lawns house a tennis court, basketball court, croquet lawn and baci court nestled amidst grapevines, roses, and many other types of flowers, fruits and vegetables. Service is extremely helpful and friendly. The sheets on the beds are SO soft. A great wine country inn in a great town. You can't miss at Honor Mansion.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcdedrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thanks so much for your kind review of Honor Mansion and thank you for coming back to stay with us. It is very rewarding when guests return as it means we must be doing our jobs. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. We truly appreciates the time it takes to write a review and does mean so much to us all, so thank you sincerely again.

We will certainly look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm regards,
Steve, Cathi & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
0.8 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
493 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
582 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
0.6 mi away
The Duchamp Healdsburg
The Duchamp Healdsburg
#7 of 9 in Healdsburg
197 reviews
22.6 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort

Address: 14891 Grove St, Healdsburg, CA 95448-4821
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Healdsburg
#1 Luxury Hotel in Healdsburg
#2 Green Hotel in Healdsburg
Price Range: $347 - $621 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Sonoma County's Wine Country, the Honor Mansion sits on four acres of landscaped resort grounds, offering tennis, bocce, croquet, PGA putting and an invigorating lap pool with spa pavilions and sun deck. Another deck surrounding a koi pond provides serenity. This landmark's pristine elegance is reflected by the Fowler's and their professional staff, who provide personal attention to every detail. Full gourmet breakfast buffet with complimentary mimosas each morning, and wine and appetizers each evening. The Inn is surrounded by wineries, golf courses and is within walking distance of the town square's outstanding restaurants and shopping. AAA 4 diamond rated, Michelin Guide recommended. Complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival, as well as access to cookies, soda, water, coffee, tea, sherry and other treats available 24 hours a day. Full concierge service available. No resort fees, or any other hidden fees! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honor Mansion, a Wine Country Hotel Healdsburg
Honor Mansion Hotel
Honor Mansion Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing