We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“All "home runs"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Joliet, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All "home runs"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed five nights at the Honor Mansion and would HIGHLY recommend to anyone else. Staff, hospitality and amenities were excellent. We have never stayed anywhere else where all guests said they would return. That's the highest testimonial. We hope they have space for us the next time we visit. Healdsburg is a good location to explore wine country. Owners Steve and Cathi will make your visit memorable. They answered every question.
Dave and Debbi, Chicago,

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Thank you for your lovely review. We surely enjoyed meeting you both and getting a little time to visit with you. We are so pleased that your stay was “memorable” and that you will try to come see us again. We are so happy that it didn’t end up raining on the concert! Hope to see you again next year!
Warm regards,
Steve, Cathi & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    23
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
32
523
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

My husband and I just spent the weekend at the Honor Mansion in Healdsburg and can't say enough about how delightful it was! As we live in the Bay Area, our options for a quick weekend getaway are numerous - we chose Healdsburg this time as neither of us had spent the night there, only day trips. Honor Mansion was one of the few places with a room, as long as we were amenable to switching rooms, which we were. THis gave us the opportunity to see two different suites - the Tower Suite, overlooking the pool - and a Vineyard Suite (#3). We were greeted with a wine tasting and a lovely buffet of choice treats, our rooms were both a good size, very comfortable, quiet and tastefully decorated, as well as well stocked. We appreciated not having to worry about mini bar totals! We had all the cold water and sodas we could desire, as well as a pot of hot tea brought to our room each morning. The breakfasts were better than expected, and the baked goods were fresh, homemade and delicious. I asked for the scone recipe, and the shortbread chocolate chip cookie recipe!!! Their staff is lovely - very attentive. We had quite a good time playing bocce ball with another couple we met on Friday night. Saturday morning we had the pool area to ourselves, which gave us a lovely quiet place to read and start our day. After spending many weekends in highly rated resorts in both Napa and Sonoma, we would have to say that our weekend at Honor Mansion, in Healdsburg, was exactly what we wanted. Low key, great service, delicious food and a lovely property.

Room Tip: The vineyard suites are on the back on the property and very quiet - though we could hear the people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank libbirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thanks so much for taking your time and writing such a great review of the Honor Mansion. Our staff always appreciates the feedback as do we, the owners. Its how we know what is working and what is not. We are truly sorry that you were disturbed on Sunday morning. It’s always hard when guests have to leave the property early in the morning to catch a flight and we realize that most make an effort to respect that others may still be sleeping and yet there are those few who do not. We are sorry!

We appreciated your details and are happy that overall you enjoyed your stay, having the opportunity to see two rooms. Glad you felt that was a positive. I am curious about the score of 3 for “value” though and was wondering if you would contact me through a private message to help us understand so that we can improve that in the future? Thank you so much again and we will look forward to seeing you again!

Steve, Cathi & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Just stayed at Honor Mansion for three nights... what a delight. The grounds are lovely and everything is immaculate.They have thought of everything... at breakfast you get a mimosa (they have a different flavor everyday), warm wash cloths after breakfast, cookies and drinks available all day, wonderful wine reception and appetizers each night and of course a yummy breakfast each day served between 8:00 and 10:00 (thank heavens for the flexibility). I loved sitting outside near the Koi pond.... and even got to feed the fish out of your hands.... pretty cool. The staff was very engaging and willing to help. They have printed directions to almost everywhere. They provide you with alot of great information about the area. We stayed in the Camillia room which was a little on the small side. Interesting closet/shower which was actually pretty nice. Our only possible suggestion was to serve different appetizers each day. They were great though. Completely enjoyed our stay and will come again.

Room Tip: The Vineyard suites looked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Thank you so much for your lovely review of Honor Mansion. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate you taking the time to tell others. We do hope that you’ll be able to return in the future. Have a great fall!
Warm regards,
Steve, Cathi & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Every details is thought of. This is the only hotel/B&B I've ever stayed at that makes the room up in the few minutes that you're downstairs at breakfast. Tons of resources for exploring the region. Great breakfast and cocktail hour. Quite and ample grounds with leisure activities. I could go on but the picture is clear. Worth every penny, all the accolades and awards.

PS - I've read the negative reviews of this hotel and those people are talking rubbish. Too bad some people just can't enjoy themselves!

Room Tip: Camilia Room was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OhBabyItsBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Thank you for such a great review. We know that we are not the place for everyone but we sure try to be. Our staff works so hard to meet and exceed guests’ expectations and it is so satisfying to know that we were successful with your stay. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We do hope to see you again soon.
Warm regards,
Steve, Cathi & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

It would be impossible to say what we liked best about Honor Mansion. The breakfasts were delicious, as were the afternoon cookies and happy hour appetizers. (A free mimosa with breakfast didn't hurt either!) The staff was very friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable about the area, they are the ideal hotel staff. The house and grounds are beautifully decorated, and the room had every detail thought out for you. We splurged and stayed in the Vineyard Suites, which was worth every penny. The only downside of our trip was that we had to leave!

Room Tip: The Vineyard Suites were the perfect room for a romantic getaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoTraveller15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
We truly appreciate you taking the time to write this lovely review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are always grateful when we can hear from our guests how much they enjoyed themselves and that we were helpful in accomplishing that. Many thanks for choosing to stay with us and we will definitely look forward to your return.
Warm regards,
Steve, Cathi and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We loved it. We also love Seghesio Winery down the street, best Zin in the world in our opinion, and this place is walking distance to there. It's quiet and clean and has a wonderful, private atmosphere and good breakfast. We will go again someday.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Once in awhile you find that "magic spot" that not only meets, but exceeds, your expectations. For our 25th Anniversary we found the Honor Mansion the perfect spot to celebrate. From the gourmet breakfasts each morning, and "happy hour" wine reception, to the immaculate grounds (pool, Koi pond, putting green, etc.) no detail was overlooked. The location is ideal also - just a 12 minute walk to the center of Healdsburg - so you can dine "and wine" and still safely find passage home without the need to drive/park. The staff went beyond to ensure a quality experience. Quiet, accessible, comfortable, clean and fun...we'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for the Honor Mansion. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your anniversary celebration with us. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are so pleased that we exceeded your expectations. You were a pleasure to serve and we will look forward to seeing you again!
Warm regards,
Steve, Cathi and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
0.8 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 413 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
0.7 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#4 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
10.7 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 stars 503 reviews
9.0 mi away
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort

Property: Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Address: 891 Grove Street, Healdsburg, CA 95448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Sonoma County's Wine Country, the Honor Mansion sits on four acres of landscaped resort grounds, offering tennis, bocce, croquet, PGA putting and an invigorating lap pool with spa pavilions and sun deck. Another deck surrounding a koi pond provides serenity. This landmark's pristine elegance is reflected by the Fowler's and their professional staff, who provide personal attention to every detail. Full gourmet breakfast buffet with complimentary mimosas each morning, and wine and appetizers each evening. The Inn is surrounded by wineries, golf courses and is within walking distance of the town square's outstanding restaurants and shopping. AAA 4 diamond rated, Michelin Guide recommended. Complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival, as well as access to cookies, soda, water, coffee, tea, sherry and other treats available 24 hours a day. Full concierge service available. No resort fees, or any other hidden fees! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honor Mansion, a Wine Country Hotel Healdsburg
Honor Mansion Hotel
Honor Mansion Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing