We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Nice Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of L & M Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Healdsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
L & M Motel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Nice Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

I am always attracted to quaint, my husband not so much. I managed to convince my husband to stop in at this charming motel. What a gem in a world that not many places of this caliber still exist. The rooms are extremely clean with modest modern décor-not fancy just right. The grounds are impeccable with whimsical décor and splashes of color. The owners are very accommodating, helpful and the nicest people you could ask for. Their daughter and her dog Zeus are a wonderful addition to the hospitality of this establishment, I wish I could say that about my American Bully, Lucy. She recommended a delightful restaurant just what we needed after a long days drive. The fresh rosemary sprigs in the bathroom was a nice touch, I have a plant in my backyard, I cut some as soon as I got home to try to have some of my amazing experiences of our trip last a little longer. I forgot to mention I have never reviewed anything online before, but felt compelled to give this wonderful establishment the publicity it deserves.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    54
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
27
87
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

This sweet little motel reminded me of when I used to vacation with my grandparents in the 70's. We were greeted by Wanda, the great granddaughter of the folks who built the motel. Wanda is as sweet as she can be and prepares a very nice little breakfast each morning for her guests-the scones are delicious! The rooms are simple and clean. We slept quite well and although the motel is right off of the freeway, it was very quiet. Downtown Healdsburg is a quick walk around the corner making this motel a real deal on your pocketbook while being close to shopping and wine tasting. I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We were in room 17 which was off to the side and more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmboc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

I would not want to stay anywhere else in Healdsburg. Wanda is an amazing host and I could tell she really enjoys taking care of her guests. Wanda went so far as to email me with recommendations for restaurants prior to my stay. The rooms are very well taken care of, extra clean, and super comfortable. The hotel grounds are very relaxing with lots of lounge chairs and even a wood-burning fire pit which was lit at night. I enjoyed the small indoor pool, the hot tub, and sauna. The continental breakfast was great and as others have said Wanda's blueberry scones are maybe the best ever. Wanda even provides trays so you can take breakfast items to your room or to the table outside. Most of all I enjoyed talking with Wanda and hanging with her super cool dog Zeus. If you are visiting Healdsburg and looking for something just a bit off the beaten path and low key, then this is your place. The price is right and the location is convenient to downtown which is only a short walk. Thanks Wanda you made my stay in Healdsburg...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank palancar87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Tired of the same old same old? This gem of a place is family run, since the 40's, and although updated, retains the quaint feel of an old fashioned motel, complete with fire pit, where you can meet other travellers, and many wooden lounge chairs, among the trees and flowers. Home-baked scones for breakfast....yum. Private, and quiet, although just a few minutes walk from downtown. We stayed an extra night just to unwind, and met fellow Canadians, and a wedding party, who of course, included us in their celebrations. It was a trip back in time. Safe and fun. Great little market minutes away. Bring your wine, and just relax. When was the last time you heard that?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

What an adorable little inn. Don't let the retro motor-lodge layout fool you. L&M is lovingly cared for, with beautiful gardens, spacious and clean rooms, comfy linens and a wonderful indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. It's also a five minute walk from downtown Healdsburg, so you can taste all the wine you want without having to drive anywhere. Let me tell you, L&M is a find!

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NetDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

The review are true! It's kitchy but cool! If you want something, just ask! Wanda is a wonderful host! I wanted a fire one night and was told it was "too cold" for a fire and within 5 mins Wanda called my room and had started a great fire! The pool area is great! The beds are very comfy, however some rooms are quite small! My only suggestion would be to change out the shower head in room 2 or 3, can't remember! Check out the mexican restaurant just down the street to the right and across the street! It is awesome and authentic, just no margaritas.

Room Tip: Go for the back rooms as they are much larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarlettochera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
405 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

It is clean, well appointed, and well located. Who ever did the rooms did a great job. I think my favorite part was hardwood floors instead of the usual dirt colored carpet. I get so tired of walking into a motel/hotel and wondering if my feet will stick to the awful carpet, that clean wood floors were wonderful! I do agree that the price is steep especially out of season. We were there for New Years and payed extra for a holiday only to find that most of the wineries were shut early on New Years Eve and entirely on New Years Day, so we paid more and were able to do less. Oh well, live and learn I guess. What you do get is an attractive, clean, modern room in a cute, quiet motel close to some spectacular wine country.

Room Tip: We asked for a got a renovated room, but they all may be updated, not sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank majiksea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Healdsburg hotels
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
0.4 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#2 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
1.2 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#3 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
0.7 mi away
Duchamp Hotel Private Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L & M Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L & M Motel

Property: L & M Motel
Address: 70 Healdsburg Ave, Healdsburg, CA 95448-4017
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
l & m Hotel Healdsburg
l And m Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing