We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Day!”

Healdsburg Area Winery Tours
Ranked #13 of 27 Tours in Healdsburg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Private six hour wine tours for 2-6 traveling together are customized to client wine preferences & destination interests-- or leave the choices to us as knowledgeable guides.
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Great Day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I had a tour with Gene and had a wonderful time! We are wine novices and let Gene "take the reigns" when planning the tour. We had time to visit 6 wineries throughout the day, and it was evident that it was important to Gene that we enjoy ourselves! Highly recommended!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
91 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Professional, relaxing and well worth the expense”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Gene the owner of Healdsburg Winery Tours is very professional, friendly, knowledgeable and a good driver. With a comfortable car. It was a very relaxing experience spending the day with Gene. After deciding that we were most interested in visiting wineries known for their Pinot Noirs, Gene took us through beautiful countryside and down very windy narrow roads to six wineries, Merry Edwards our favourite, Dutton Goldfield, Hanna Russian River,Lynman, Harford Family and finally Korbel where we had a delicious and reasonab ly priced deli lunch. Each of these wineries also had Chardonnays and different white wines, not just red wines. Gene never pressured us to buy any wine or do more testing than we had wanted. We found him to be well respected by all the vintners at the different wineries. If you do nothing else on your trip to Healdsburg, book Gene, you will get the most out of your day and will not have to worry about drinking and driving or finding your way to different wineries. The cost was $100 per person but one also has to pay for the wine tastings at the different wineries, although thanks in part to Gene, we did not pay for one testing but did buy wine at two different wineries.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank exploraToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“An Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had a wonderful day with Gene in Sonoma. He was wonderful to work with, and answered all emails promptly as we were planning the details of our tour. He had so many great recommendations based on our specific criteria. I originally found Gene from an article that Sonoma county did about tour guides, and he certainly lived up to our expectations.

During our day we visited Schug, Gloria Ferrer, Jacuzzi, Domain Carneros & Artesa. Gene was happy to let us take our time at each place, and did not mind that we finished the day later that originally expected.

He is by far the most reasonably priced private driver in the area, and likely one of the most knowledgeable as he has lived in Sonoma since the mid 1970's.

I highly recommend a tour with Gene-- just be sure to reserve your spot early, as he books up weeks in advance (I tried to reserve a second day with him, but he was already booked up a couple months prior).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paris718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Best Part of Our Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Sonoma County for a few days with another couple. The first thing we did was a wine tour with Gene from Healdsburg Area Wine Tours; it was the best part of our trip! Gene took us to his favorite spots and was so knowledgeable. He was very accommodating and it is definitely the way to go if you want to visit a few wineries. He let us take our time, and was well known by the staff at the places we stopped at. It was obvious he is very respected and the affection towards Gene resulted in great hospitality from the wineries toward our crew! We can't wait to go back and take another tour with Gene.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Wine Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Gene Warren, of Healdsburg Area Winery Tours, is a Pro. I know a bit about wine and told him what I was interested in. We then collaborated on a great 5 winery day with lunch at Williams-Selyem, a fabulous winery. Gene's knowledge of the various wineries and the region in general made the day informative as well as entertaining. I know that there are other very good wine tour companies in the area but the next time I'm in the Healdsburg area, I'll be calling Gene.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bub5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Healdsburg Area Winery Tours also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Healdsburg Area Winery Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing