We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the most fun meals ever in California”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Scopa

Scopa
Ranked #1 of 96 Restaurants in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the most fun meals ever in California”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Fun little hole in the wall- lively crowd, interesting menu. Went here after the not very interesting Dry Creek Kitchen

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zagatschmagat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    401
    114
    45
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
526 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“Happenin' Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We made reservations for a Wednesday Winemaker night. What a crowd! Our reservations were for 7:00 and we were finally seated at 7:25. The hostess didn't forget us, but kept reporting in to the status of our table. This is one place where people do not want to rush their meal and are not in a hurry to leave.

The atmosphere is energetic and tight - the restaurant and the kitchen. While we were waiting for our table we had a chance to watch the chef in action. Also the bar is very small and they only serve beer and wine. And the seating is almost claustrophobic.

After eating our way around the Valley, we wanted to go light so we started with the Caesar salad that was very good - even the anchovies. After hearing rave reviews about the Nonna chicken, I tried it and thought it could have used a little bit more seasoning. However, my husband had the best meal out of the two of us. He ordered the homemade pasta with wild boar sausage. It was spectacular and I ended up finishing his off.

We will definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linnbada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food tasty - performance/up selling by wineguy overthetop/obnoxious”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

The four of us have eaten here before (Dec2012). This tiny, loud place must do well $$$$ judging from its pricing model and the night-club queue outside (they may share the bouncer with the dive bar next door) but the menu appears stagnant and not to change much. Our server was knowing and friendly though she did hustle us along which was annoying and somewhat off-putting. We didn't think we were over staying our welcome by taking 90 minutes for starters, dinner & desert - 20 minutes before the salads were served). The eclectic, pseudo-intellectual wineguy with his distracting stories, jokes, unusual gesticulations/arm-waving, and self proclaimed wine expertise really took away from the experience and our guests. His transparent up-selling was lacking in honesty and good taste. Scopa would be a 4/5 stars for us if not for wineguy even with the stagnant menu. Now 2-3/5 stars with the off Broadway wine performance. Ironically, the article below might be a good educational piece for the Scopa wine staffer.
- - -
http://www.nypost.com/p/news/opinion/opedcolumnists/you_got_served_J0xciA8V4GfJ55VsILSGxL?utm_medium=rss&utm_content=OpedColumnists

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fun place and delicious pasta!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We did not have reservations, so we went early and waited for the restaurant to open at 5:30. We were two of only six people to get seats at the bar (very small), which are available first come, first served. We had two delicious pasta dishes that were passed around two share with other bar patrons (we all started off as strangers). Every Wednesday is Wine Wednesday when a winery is featured. Representatives present their wine and discuss it. The night was a lot of fun. Can't wait to go back again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BurtHonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, CA
Level Contributor
339 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

As others mentioned...this is a very small restaurant. To snag a table you can make reservations 30 days in advance or chance it and put your name in that night for a table or service at their small bar. We've seen people line up there at 5pm to get in when the doors open at 5:30. We had a 7:30 reservation and were seated at a high top table for two. Perfect. The Food is so delicious. We started with whole wheat polenta with fontina cheese. Came in a small iron skillet steaming hot and oh so good. Shared a wonderful beet/goat cheese salad and we both ordered the special....pappaardelle with a wonderful ragu. Typically I don't like that noodle ... but this was homemade, thin and cooked to perfection. We are still talking about our dinner. No room for dolci. The one minor complaint is that they charge for bread....but is was only $3. It was a delicious homemade ciabatta loaf perfect for two. Service was excellent. YES, we will return and hopefully soon!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MKtravelers19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scopa also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Scopa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing