We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just an OK hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Oakland - Hayward
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Hayward
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The hotel was fair as far as LaQuinta's are. Nothing special and in an OK area. It is possible to walk to the grocery store or Target. The main problem I had with this property is the staff. They were rude from the time I checked in. It had to do with having a credit card for a deposit even though I have a direct bill account with a credit card on file. Very sarcastic and just down right rude. This is including the assistant manager who was Max Oceguera. I asked for the hotel manager to give me a call the following day and when she did call, all she did was tell me that her staff is great. Without even checking to see what how valid my issues were. She totally discounted my concerns. I'm an Elite member and I stay at LaQuinta's on a weekly basis for business. And when you're tired and you finally make it to your hotel, you don't expect to be treated poorly. If it had not been late in the day and the other area hotels were full or filling up quickly, I had to suck it up and stay. But this is one place I will never stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcbornrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 250 of 328 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

Although the room was nice and appeared clean, I'd find another hotel. The floor we stayed on was a non-smoking floor but apparently that only pertained to cigarettes. The smell of marijuana was so strong when we walked through the hallway it was overpowering. I believe there was more serious problems going on there as well. I don't sleep well at night so am up and down all evening. I woke at 2 a.m. and stood out on the balcony a couple s couple of times. What first alerted me that there might be problems was the fact that they had a security car driving around the lot (which was a good thing) and the guard getting out shining his light in some cars. He was probably checking for the parking card that you were asked to put on the dashboard. Funny thing is when the guard was not out making his rounds I saw on three separate instances cars pull up and get out of their car, they would make a whistle of some sort and a man on the 3rd floor would go out on the balcony and throw his keycard down and those people would let themselves in. Each time it was different people. I did not notify the front desk as I was afraid of any retribution from the people that were staying on the 3rd floor. I was very glad to get out of there the next morning. It's very deceiving as the neighborhood the hotel is located looked very good and that's why we decided to stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine1154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Overall it was a nice hotel, breakfast was so-so with some good things, but scrambled eggs were not real eggs. pool and hot tub were nice to have, my boys liked swimming there. Room was a good size though our balcony was closed off. Had small problem with bathroom, but maintenance fixed it right away. After check-out we left the area after an hour of traveling we realized we had forgot something in the room. Called the hotel they said they would look into it and get back to us. I told them exactly where it was and what it was. When they called back they said they did not find the item. I know I left it there, someone must have valued it more than customer service. I won't ever go back. Nor would I recommend a place where I cannot trust the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayHernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our Company Hotel of choice. Early breakfast is a plus, staff extremely helpful, night desk gal Martika is terrific.

Rooms are spacious and clean, most have balconies, and its a great. location for the entire Bay Area

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A La Quinta traveler
Los Angeles, California, USA
1
Reviewed June 20, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melissa E, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Oakland - Hayward, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Have stayed here before and it was okay. This time I was here with a friend for 7 nights to visit with family and friends in the area. Check in was pleasant and easy. Room location was great. Room and beds were comfortable enough, but had that stale "hotel smell" that just never seems to go away. We were able to open the windows during the day to let fresh air into the room. The tile grout in the shower/bath was NOT clean. It stumps me why a place would install a shower with grout when it is a high maintenance feature. Why not just put in a one piece marble stall?

Around 10:30 PM on the 4th night the toilet stopped up. I called the front desk and was told by the young woman that she was alone and had no one she could send to the room to help. She said I could come and get a plunger from the front desk and try to fix the problem myself. As there was no other choice I got dressed and went to pick up the plunger. It was strange because a fellow had gone to retrieve the plunger to bring it to the front desk, but yet he (whoever he was) was not available to come to do the plunging.

Luckily I was able to unclog the toilet myself. But I told the folks at the desk that I was quite disappointed that a hotel the size of this La Quinta did not have someone on the overnight shift to handle maintenance issues. I felt for the price I was paying that I should not have to be taking care of my own plumbing problems.

Also there are bunches and bunches of small school buses that park in the hotel parking lot every night and over the weekend. They are scattered all around the entire hotel property. While we were never out a parking place, they do make noise when they start up around 5:30 - 6:00 AM, and when they come in the mid afternoon. These were not there when we stayed in August.

And our key cards failed to work around the middle of our stay. The woman at the desk said they must have become demagnetized - strange since both my friend and I carried our key cards in our own separate purses, nowhere near credit cards or anything else that could demagnetize them. So we had to 2 new key cards to even get into the building from the side entrance.

The wifi service is S L O W!! There are several networks available from the hotel, but each on proved to be so very very frustratingly slow!

I like the location of this place as it is central to the people and places I visit when I come to the Hayward area. I just feel that for the price I paid I expected a little more.

Room Tip: You might want to ask for a room away from the side that faces the Hayward airport. It can get nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neeliec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Modesto
1
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I needed an early check in and they were great to help out with that. the rooms were clean and the atmosphere around the hotel was great. will definately stay the again! there are a lot of great places to shop at within waking distance as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayward
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Hayward
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Oakland-Hayward
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn Hayward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Hayward
4.4 mi away
The Marina Inn on San Francisco Bay
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Union City
Hampton Inn Union City
#1 of 4 in Union City
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Oakland - Hayward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Oakland - Hayward

Address: 20777 Hesperian Blvd, Hayward, CA 94541-5879
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hayward
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Hayward
Price Range: $93 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Oakland - Hayward 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Oakland - Hayward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites - Hayward Oakland Airport Hotel Hayward
La Quinta Hayward
Hayward La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing