We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Burgers and shakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Val's Burgers

Val's Burgers
Ranked #1 of 301 Restaurants in Hayward
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Burgers and shakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

They have the best hamburgers and milkshakes anywhere! When we travel we always make Val's our first stop when we get home. Old time diner feel with great food.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    63
    18
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hayward, California
2 reviews
“Old fashion burger and shake.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

One of the best burger joints around. Fri. and Saturday are packed. Closed Sundays. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R2k247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Old-Timey Burger Joint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Val's is a landmark where you will get a very fresh, satisfying (highly caloric) bang for your buck. On weekends it always has huge throng of people gathered outside, so if you do t mind waiting 30 min for a table I'd highly recommend it. One criticism: their hamburger buns are small & relatively tasteless.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alskimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good old fashion fun - burgers and shakes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Leave your diet plans behind, but Val's is well worth it! Classic burger place with good food and great shakes...

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
607 reviews
341 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Expect a Wait, But Worth It!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Val's is such a fun place! The burgers are great! The condiments on the table is a touch. The waitress poured the shakes into our glasses right at the table. We ordered one basket of fries for the four of us and barely finished it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Val's Burgers also viewed

 

Been to Val's Burgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing