We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Acqua E Farina

Acqua E Farina
Ranked #2 of 301 Restaurants in Hayward
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food, lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

If you go you should go in the back where the walls are covered with paintings to make you feel you are on a commercial street in Italy. The food is great and the tiramisu was the best ever!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pemwhitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    25
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Staff and Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

If you're looking for a place with good Italian food and good service this is a great place. Courteous, friendly staff, meal was excellent and an over all good experience at a reasonable price. While the food is fantastic it's not for you if you want to sit in a designer restaurant which is probably why the prices are reasonable

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

This restaurant is a great find here in Hayward. The menu is typical and large and they will make any dish with any ingredients they have on hand, so you don't have to go by the menu (which is vast and sure to tantalize your taste buds). I ordered the veal scallopini and it came smothered in mushroom sauce, accompanied by freshly steamed vegetables and polenta with a light addition of cheese. There was so much on the menu I wanted to taste, I will definitely be back. The service was very cordial and we didn't have to wait long for our food to arrive at our table, but it was just enough time to enjoy a couple of slices of warm seasoned bread. i"m not a wine drinker, but they also have a large wine menu. The restaurant is larger than it looks from the outside, and is decorated in typical Italian style, with paintings of "storefronts" serving up all matter of Italian delights. Very comfortable atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san leandro, california
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Finally, a great Italian restaurant in the San Leandro/Hayward Area!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

A group of eight of us got together to celebrate my friend's birthday on New Year's Eve. We wanted it to be special but didn't want to drive into the City or anywhere far on NYE. Acqua e Farina was the perfect place. It's located on Main Street in Hayward where the old Rue de Main restaurant stood for years. Still has the quaint murals on the walls but the names on the painted storefronts are now Italian instead of French. I loved the ambience of the place. Very much like a real Mediterranean cafe or restaurant.

With eight people there can be many different tastes and it's hard to please everyone but this was a winner. Most of the italian food lovers had a shrimp pasta dish that was absolutely delicious and the men went for HUGE porterhouse steaks which they said were among the best they'd ever had. They had really nice selections of fish and the specials sounded amazing so I'm definitely coming back for more. Calamari appetizer was good and the bruschetta was o.k. The waitstaff was so friendly yet very professional. All in all I think it's the best Italian restaurant in the Hayward/Castro Valley/San Leandro area and would hands down go there instead of Buon Apetito or Rigatoni's.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsy716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another Good Italian Restaurant in Hayward”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We dined at 'Acqua e Farina Restorante' last night and thought the food was really good. Our server, Erika, couldn't have been more charming and helpful with the menu selections. The mahimahi and the salmon were very good as well as my special chicken pasta dish. The appetizers, bruschetta and prosciutto, were both excellent.

Just goes to show that there's life in Hayward for a another good, moderately priced Italian restaurant. Glad that the beautiful space of the former 'Restaurant Rue du Main' has a new life, now with good Italian food. You should give it a try.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davekrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acqua E Farina also viewed

 

Been to Acqua E Farina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing