We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Booked for one night through hotel.com” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Hayward
Lyman, South Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Booked for one night through hotel.com”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Arrived and was turned away even though I had a confirmation number. Apparently they were turning away other guest that booked through hotel.com as well. Just making it to the lobby seemed a bit scary, was quite happy to search for another hotel. This was also my first and last experience with hotel.com

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 821tamyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    3
    4
    16
See reviews for
9
5
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

To start, I always stay at cheap motels and am not a picky person. I'm mostly greatful to have a roof over my head. However, I think sleeping on the sidewalk may be preferable to this. I'd expect this type of hotel for $30 a night, but the almost $100 that I paid made this experience even more bitter.

The room (first floor): There is some sort of black mold/fungus growing around the base of the toilet because they have spent the two dollars to reseal it. The sofa chair smelled so strongly of smoke (non-smoking room) that it made me want to vomit. The walls look as though they haven't been repainted in at least a decade and have various stains on them. There are white stains on the floor near the bed (GROSS!). Other peoples trash was left in the closet. I found other peoples hair on my sheets, so I don't think they changed them.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hayward hotels

Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel a few months ago with my company. we were there a few weeks needed to move rooms because the room was substandard. We were moved to room 319. when we brought the bed bugs in a jar to the front desk. They first try to say that they weren't bed bugs and then to top it all off they said we had brought them with us! We had been there for 3 weeks prior to the bed bug situation. They were very rude. I noticed a lot indians staying there. It seems that only indian patrons can have extended rates. Never knew hard white guys could be so disrespected. Maybe it was are southern accents. That gave them cause to treat us so so bad!

Room Tip: Stay at the laquinta there bed bugs free!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

This place is there best in the area! We enjoyed luxury accommodation for a great price! The people are so warm and the rooms are clean! There's even an exercise room! Will definitely come back! And it's close to San Francisco and the bay area! Free WiFi and free parking!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nathaniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California, USA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

In the immortal words of Bette Davis, "What a dump!." This place is filthy. On the first night I quickly discovered how unwise it was to walk around in the room in socks as there was something on both the over-worn stained carpet an bare spotted floor either sticking to or tearing at the material. Not long after this some sort of brownish liquid leaked from the refrigerator, which wasn't at all easy to clean up. The satellite TV rarely kept a signal. Every time the toilet was flushed a very loud creaking noise would blare. The elevator smelled moldy. The laundry room was a pigs sty, and some of the machines where always out of order. The entire place smelled dirty. To top it all off the view from my window was of an empty lot. And not once did I complain, or ask what's up with this place. Even so when I checked out the clerk at the desk was snotty. Understandably a modest hotel at modest prices isn't 5 star, but the Main Stay Suites is a rats nest. A decent homeless shelter probably has better accommodations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

First off please listen to these reviews, and dont be like me. I made that mistake and will never do it again.

Now where should i begin....

The checkinn process took nearly 20 minutes. The man behind the desk was in no sort of uniform, and seemed to be on a serious depressant/drug. He did every thing in slow motion and spoke in a tone which no one could hear, had to ask him multiple times to speak up.

Hotel room was not small but TINY. We had booked a double bed with sofa pullout (biggest room they had), and room was so tiny that the pullout had no room to be completly pulled out LOL.

Hotel location is of sort that all night long stuff is happening outside creating disturbing noise with or without window opened. Also let me put it to you this way, the nearest gas station (walking distance) has a bulletproof cage around the cashier area.

Pool has been paved over LOL again.

AND the worst thing of all, the entire second floor including elevator smelled of weed, and i dont meed slight stench i mean stunk of it. Really took the point of having a nonsmoking room away.

Overall I would AVOID at all costs, and yes if it comes down it sleep in your car.

Room Tip: Need a tip to choose a good room? Well dont choose this place at all then.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeStrongBelieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This motel is worn out. The staff is not very attentive, the rooms are dirty, the furniture is old and torn, the rooms smell bad, the air conditioning is really loud (too loud to use), hookers bring tricks in from parking lot, there is drinking in the parking lot, there are truck parked behind it and they start in the morning, walls are thin, vibrates when people walk in room or down the hall.

"gym" equipment is all broken, pool is paved over. DO NOT BRING CHILDREN HERE

On the plus side, the rate is cheap and the location is central.

How this place keeps it's franchise status as a Choice Hotel is beyond me. It really should not be part of franchise. They do a great disservice to other property owners.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. If you do, request second floor for safety.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardHHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayward
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn Hayward Hotel
6.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
6.7 mi away
Quality Inn Oakland
Quality Inn Oakland
#27 of 49 in Oakland
3.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena
6.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
11.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn Oakland/Alameda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites

Property: Rodeway Inn & Suites
Address: 835 W a St, Hayward, CA 94541-5828 (Formerly MainStay Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hayward
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Hayward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close To Oakland International California Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Hotel Hayward
Mainstay Suites Hayward
Mainstay Hayward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing