We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Hayward
Reviewed April 6, 2008

We stayed here for the weekend after reading the other trip advisors. After arriving we noticed how filthy our room was. The couch was so dirty we wouldn't even sit on it. In the bathroom everything was dirty but what was the topper was the hairy mold growing above the shower. All the pillow cases had stains and then another room had a big whole in their sheets (we were staying with a group of 10 rooms). Then there was a big whole in our screen of the window. There is a bar right next door with loud music which would be OK but the walls are paper thin, so you can even hear the person in the next room snoring.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank conzfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 40 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2008

The suite is like a furnished studio apartment with full size refrig, half size stove and all the kitchen ware like dishes, bowl, forks, spoon ...etc. The sofa is a sofa bed and the bed is extremely comfortable.

If you don't need fancy lobby but just a convenient place to stay for weeks, this seems to be a great choice. There are many fortune 500 companies around and many business relocation people use this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank crossroads77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2007

We're a family of six and finding one room to accomodate all of us is usually quite difficult if not impossible. I was very impressed by the kitchen facilities of MainStay, the wonderful front desk people (I think we met at least 4 or 5 different people during our week long stay) and the security. We showed up around 11pm or later on a weekday after traveling all day (from the Mexico/Belize border) and I was a little worried leaving the rental in the lot. There were a number of teens hanging around and I wondered if people weren't simply living in the hotel. The hanging around teens were WONDERFUL though and I never felt the least bit unsafe. The beds were ok and hte sofabed was awful but everything was quite clean and the kitchen was wonderfully stocked. The breakfast was a BOON to my 4 sugar loving kids but it would be nice to throw some protein in with all the sugar stuff. I would definitely recommend Mainstay Suites in Hayway; you're walking distance to Target, Goodwill and a grocery store too! One caveat; their norm for housekeeping is every other day; not daily. But you can ask for daily service.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jamnkats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2007

I had just moved to the Bay Area, and was having trouble getting my living arrangements finalized. I originally had my reservations at MainStay for 1 week, on the 7th day pushed it back to 2 weeks, and on the 14th day pushed it back 3 more days. The staff were always polite and accomodating, housekeeping made up my room 5-6 times per week (more than expected). The room was very clean, full size fridge, dishwasher, 2 burner rangetop, microwave....very easy to cook your own food and save money.

The Hayward area doesn't have much to offer, but there is a Target and strip mall 1/2 block away (and of couse a Starbucks), as well as an excellent Sushi bar across the street. There is a BART station about 1.75 miles away, I never felt unsafe walking to and from there, even at night.

Hopefully this is my last time in Hayward, but I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a modestly priced hotel in the East Bay.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank johnefan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2006

Stayed two nights, 1st. night no complaints, 2nd night arrived back at hotel at 8 pm, room hadn't been cleaned. Waited an hour for fresh towels. Room next door had a huge party with screaming, slamming doors, and pounding noises that lasted until 3:30 am. Called front desk at 10:30 pm with complaint and they were no help. 100% satisfaction room guarantee was NOT honored. Beware.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PintoLvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2006

My wife and I stayed at the MainStay Suites for 5-nights while apartment hunting in the Bay Area. Our room was great, and it included a kitchen area with stove and a full-sized fridge. Also, the cabinets were stocked with a good variety of kitchen tools and dinnerware and glassware, etc... everything you'd need for a week-long stay. We also had free internet access in the room - but it was not wireless, so bring a LAN cable if you want to use it. Overall, the building was very modern and nice, although the pool looked rather small (but we didn't use it). The breakfast was standard fare, but it did include good full-sized muffins and tasty danishes (both of which had varied flavors throughout our stay).

The area around the hotel could have been nicer - we could see a fairly run-down neighborhood out of our window which looked out of the back of the hotel, but in the end, we still felt safe in the hotel. Also, the parking lot had decent lighting and was under camera surveilence.

Overall, we had a very nice 5-night stay, and we were surprised by the amenities we got for such a low price. We'd recommend this hotel to people both looking for an extended stay or just one night.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dunlin57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2005

I liked it as far as extended stay hotels go. Had good wireless in my room (as for it). The rooms are large. would stay again

6  Thank maddmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hayward hotels
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Oakland - Hayward
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Hayward
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn Hayward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Oakland Hayward
0.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Hayward
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Hayward Airport
Days Inn Hayward Airport
#10 of 16 in Hayward
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites

Address: 835 West A St., Hayward, CA 94541-5828 (Formerly MainStay Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hayward
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Hayward
Price Range: $108 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close To Oakland International California Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Hotel Hayward
Mainstay Suites Hayward
Mainstay Hayward

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing