We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and convienent to San Francisco Bay area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Oakland-Hayward
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Hayward
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Clean and convienent to San Francisco Bay area”
Reviewed October 31, 2009

Very clean, great rooms with the usual breakfast. Very convienent to the Bay Bridge and the Bay area. At the rate of $80. per night it definently beats the other chains in the area. Very quiet with a great pool, fitness room, laundry room and work center. Very nice staff.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OklahomaParislover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    146
    46
    17
    8
See reviews for
143
84
35
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

My husband and I stayed here overnight here with our moving truck (relocated from LA to San Francisco). The hotel is really clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

There is no parking for large trucks, so we had a helluva time finding a place to park it -- but that is not to fault the hotel.

The coffee was hot and good, the breakfast was a great-looking spread. Looked like a really good spot for business travel. The free wi-fi was remarkably easy to access.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2009

The good: clean room, free Wifi internet (!), great burger right across the street.
The bad: the location is... er... interesting. Sometimes I got the feeling the area is not quite safe. Also, the free breakfast was rather simple.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank netbakter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2009

Stayed here for a business trip since it was very close (less than a mile) to where I had to go to daily. For business it was ideal for me. Many good restaurants nearby for lunch and dinner. Hayward is not a bad looking city but many storefronts are empty. The free wireless internet was nice to have. The complimentary breakfast layout was simple and has some nice selections as long as your not looking for fried or scrambled eggs. Probably a little out of the way if you're looking to go into San Francisco every day but if you're going to be in the area it should suffice.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJroadmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2008

Using AAA, we were able to get two nights during President's Day weekend for $75 each. Quite the steal for the bay area. The hotel made a nice home base since we were splitting our time between SF, Walnut Creek, and San Ramon.
We hadn't been to Hayward before and we were thankful to have the GPS with us. The splitting street is weird and confusing, making the hotel a bit diifcult to find.
The staff was friendly enough, helping us to find the bart station. We agree with other posters regarding the surrounding area. We were hoping to be able to walk to the bart station but walking at night is ill advised at best.
We were a bit disappointed with the food choices in town. After an exhausting day 2, we were hungry. We drove around for about an hour looking for a restaurant that looked appetizing. We ended up eating El Pollo Loco in the room that night.
Other positives include the beds which are very comfortable and the rooms are quiet. Plus, free parking is such an amenity! We really enjoyed being able to hop on the bart and spend the day out and about before returning to a quiet and comfortable room. We also enjoyed the nice and hearty breakfast which was provided each morning.

  • Liked — Proximity to a bart station and the free use of the business center
  • Disliked — The lack of great nearby restaurants
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank allycin76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2007

This place is fine, nothing special. Bed was comfortable. No pay-per-view options, just some cable channels. Area isn't great, so you should have a car. There's a small workout room in the hotel. No pool.
I'd only stay here again if I had to, I wouldn't go out of my way for it. If you have to go to Hayward, then this is a good choice.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerri_Blank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2006

I would have to echo another poster's comments in saying that the area near the hotel is not the best. The immediate area around it is not too bad, but just a couple blocks south it becomes rough. I accidentally saw that area while trying to find the hotel. It's difficult to find and there is a main intersection nearby (Mission Blvd. and Jackson St.) that is confusing to use for someone unfamiliar with the area. Get a really good map of the area and directions from Google Maps before trying to find the place.

The hotel itself though was very nice. The front desk handled check in promptly and professionally, even saying that they had been expecting me.

The rooms (I got two) were very clean and large. I was not near the road so I couldn't hear any traffic noise. In fact, the rooms we had were very quiet, period. They were both on the second floor, not too far from the elevator.

The included breakfast was fine and was a little larger than that of I had experienced at the Hampton Inn LAX. It offered 5 cereals to choose from, fresh fruit, toast, a warm item (it's rotated daily -- the day I was there it was an egg/sausage/biscuit sandwich), instant oatmeal, donuts, water, juices, coffee, tea, and pastry. The dining area was good sized. Items were constantly replenished.

Check out was incredibly quick and simple.

The rate paid for the rooms was outstanding (did use a AAA discount but even regular rates were very good for being in the Bay Area and including breakfast.) Parking was free.

I used the hotel to stay at before flying out of Oakland International Airport. From the hotel to the airport was only about a 10-15 minute drive, total. It was very easy getting from the hotel to the freeway -- just turn right from the hotel driveway onto Mission Blvd. and go up about 2 blocks or so.

Overall, I recommend this hotel for business people and travelers who need to stay in this area. I'd probably stay there again.

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Area
  • Tips/Secrets — Get a good map to find way to hotel
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelCubed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayward
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Hayward
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Hayward Oakland Airport
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Castro Valley - East Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Hayward Hotel
1.7 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Hayward
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Oakland/San Leandro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Oakland-Hayward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Oakland-Hayward

Property: Hampton Inn Oakland-Hayward
Address: 24137 Mission Blvd, Hayward, CA 94544-1018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hayward
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Hayward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Oakland-Hayward 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn Oakland-Hayward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Oakland - Hayward Hotel Hayward
Hampton Inn Hayward Ca
Hayward Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing