We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the Parmesan Crusted Green Beans” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elephant Bar Restaurant

Elephant Bar Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Elephant Bar Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 300 Restaurants in Hayward
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Asian, American, Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Elephant Bar Restaurant is a scratch-kitchen specializing in globally-inspired dishes and traditional, American fare. Our food is all made from scratch using the best, locally-sourced ingredients available. All of our cocktails are made fresh when you order, handcrafted in-house by our mixologists. Brunch is offered on weekends 10am-2pm with brunch cocktails, patio dining, and delicious specialty brunch entrees. We've kept the same, great Elephant Bar Restaurant exclusives you've come to love...but made them better, using only made-from- scratch methods and high-quality ingredients. Better menu items, new craft cocktails, new wine list, and new brunch cocktails. We've completely evolved.We can't wait to see you soon!
Menifee, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love the Parmesan Crusted Green Beans”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Had a quick dinner here Saturday night...what an unexpected treat! I tried the Parmesan Crusted Green Beans and Chicken Lettuce Wraps. Sorry, I can't say much about the Chicken Lettuce Wraps as I was too busy munching on the green beans...they were soo tasty. Veggies so well prepared are a rare treat. The Chicken was well seasoned and the presentation was very nice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    18
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
130 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Don't go expecting a craft beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Their idea of fine craft beer is Sam Adams. Mucho disappointed in the beer. The lunch specials were fine. I had chicken Marsala and my hubby had jambalaya. Very nice server gave me wonderful suggestion for, and directions to, nearby marina area for enjoyable hike nearby to the airport. See San Leandro where I will review the park.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bondoon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward ca
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The Menu is so diversfied!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Always a good experience from the time you walk in the door until the time you walk out. Food is great, menu is so extensive with such diversified types. Asian, Mexican, Italian ETC!!! Something for everyone.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BooblaJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ask for the "Elephant Bar Allergy Card" if you have dietary needs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

I had the shrimp platter, with the coconut shrimp, teriyaki shrimp, and the deep fried shrimp. I can really see why it is so popular! Their shrimp comes from a shrimp farm that is very careful in what it feeds them. The taste is pure fresh shrimp, without the ill feeling one can get if you consume shrimp that came from unfiltered water. (For me, shrimp never tasted the same after the gulf oil spill.) The sauces were o.k., (a bit strong for my taste,) though if you do not like them, the chef will make you some good tartar sauce instead. The wok vegetables that they served with it was o.k., I am not a fan of orange and yellow peppers, and this had a good amount in it.

If you have special dietary needs like I do, then this is the place to go. Ask for the "Elephant Bar Allergy Card". This will show you what has MSG in it, shellfish or fish in it, nuts, sesame seeds, sesame oil in it, or what is gluten free.

The waitress was very patient with my questions, and served us well. The atmosphere was a bit loud at the dinner hour, though it calmed back down afterwards. They have televisions scattered around the place, so one could watch the game while eating if you wanted to.

I had the macadamia cookie with ice cream on it for desert. It is made in its own pan, and served warm. I could not eat the center of the cookie, for it was not cooked all the way through. My husband was able to eat it, and he said it was still good.

Their pina coladas are excellent. Not too tart, not too sweet.

It was a very enjoyable wedding anniversary!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank See D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
479 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Consistently Good Quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is the third Elephant Bar restaurant that I have been to recently and I am impressed by their consistently good quality of food and pleasant and efficient service. They must be doing something right!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SKG109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant Bar Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Elephant Bar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing