We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It felt more of a 3 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Budget Inn of Hayward
Ranked #1 of 1 Hayward B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

I can't really complain too greatly about this place as a freind of mine got us in cheap. I would however say that for the normal price they charge it simply is worth it. The rooms are good (for a 2*) and the hotel is clean and tidy, however, on one day we came back to the room to find that housekeeping hadn't been, Than later they showed and was very happy about the service. The staff are like odd and seem clueless but somehow figured out the obstacle I wanted them too. The breakfast is ok but recommend elsewhere to eat so go to Doug's cafe or Val diner instead if you want variety. I'm going back to Hayward in a few months and will stay again for the rate.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Rogerlee750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 47 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

We prepaid for this hotel for 2 nights. The room was so poor we ended up abandoning our prepaid room on the second night and moving on. We prepaid this hotel before leaving home so we would have a room for our first 2 nights. Big mistake. The rooms aren't clean, the room smelled very stale and unclean. Even the bedding and pillows smelled stale and with smoke in spite of having a non-smoking room. It is always a hint when you see 2 signs in the lobby warning you that there is no refund after payment! If you do want to try out this hotel, check your room first. Don't prepay as we did. Front desk was friendly and polite but the hotel needs major work on cleaning and refurbishing. For the price there are so many more pleasant places to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Val R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

we needed a place to sleep whilst driving through, we were lucky to have experienced a quiet, safe, relatively clean place. Yes the bathroom could have been cleaner, towels were stained but washed. It was a short 3min drive to mission ave and the general downtown area A street etc where you can find a few restaurants, italian, japanese, mexican etc, a small shopping area. The bed was relatively comfortable, it had a digital TV. For the one night needed it did the job. I would not recommend this for an extended stay though. they do offer a complimentary breakfast of toast, cereal and bagels with some spreads. tea coffee and juice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank worldholidayaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

This place is so bad that I did not want to take my socks off even in the bathroom. The towels were dirty, paint splatter everywhere, horrible bed and bedding, and staff with an attitude who bluntly lie. You are better off sleeping in your car.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drgrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

overall the Inn was comfortable to stay, reasonable priced. One big problem was dust mites...I read reviews and plenty ppl were saying they were getting bitten by bed bugs...I know how to detect and search for bed bugs and found none..

The problem is not Bed Bugs..they're Dust Mites...most cant be seen from the naked eye and are microscopic. I found and fully grown one crawling on my shoulder and immediately knew they were dust mites..

Maybe an ok place to stay for 1 night but make you take an iron or blow dryer (put it on hot), steam iron the bed or blow dry that sucker...and only sleep with the bed sheet....we took off the comforter and the mid liner and just used the bed sheet...

Room Tip: Maybe ok to stay one night only..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Art L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed for one night and it did its job. We arrived late at night and stayed for a bit extra on the second night as we were leaving early morning. Prices are like Western prices. Their were no problems were the noise from being in such a busy area and the rooms were nice and comfy and our's smelled of smoke well it's because we booked smoking room so it was understandable  Staff were helpful (especially the women working in the day). If you organize a driver though for a tour make sure they speak English as ours could barely speak few words and so found it tough to know where we wanted to visit. It took him an hour to work out we wanted to go to a mall for some shopping and food the tour of sf are great. Best way is to go through the flyers the hotel has in the lobby there was and sf tour booklet which helped us afterwards for some night seeing.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Cdavistraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

first i woul dike to say is that this hotel is not as bad as i though it be and it took me about 10-20 minuates to get a room since they were cleaning chekcin time is at 3:00 but was their 10 minautes earlier. the room i got was new and it was really nice.... i dont know how to explain what was nice but was nice. Will come back and stay here again... ther rooms are big and large also a big change i seen many reviews so i wanted to try this place so yea and they charge me a great amount so i was happy

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank sonya r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hayward hotels
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Oakland - Hayward
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Oakland-Hayward
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Hayward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn Hayward Hotel
5.3 mi away
Motel 6 Hayward
Motel 6 Hayward
#5 of 16 in Hayward
45 reviews
3.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Oakland Hayward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Inn of Hayward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn of Hayward

Address: 21598 Foothill Blvd, Hayward, CA 94541-2111
Location: United States > California > Hayward
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hayward
Price Range: $77 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Inn of Hayward 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Budget Inn of Hayward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing