We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Fun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carey's Cave, Wee Jasper Caves- Day Tours

Carey's Cave, Wee Jasper Caves- Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had kids 5, 10,11 and we enjoyed the tour and the guide very much. Very dry sense of humor. Lots of fun with a lively discussion but I think this really helped to bring it alive. Not boring at all, with hands-on experience. Well worth it, however tour got a bit long for the 5 year old near the end.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff K, Manager at Carey's Cave, Wee Jasper Caves- Day Tours, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for having brought up your children to be able enjoy something like this so much.
Well done you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    38
    6
    4
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A cave with a difference”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Carey's Cave is a different type of cave formation so has some interestign differences to what you usually find in the formation of caves.
For those who struggle with loads of steps this is the perfect cave. Once you are in it is nice and flat and a very easy walk.
Our guide was very passionate about his subject so lots of information as well as time to enjoy the cave without being rushed through.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff K, Manager at Carey's Cave, Wee Jasper Caves- Day Tours, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
The sediment floors in Careys Cave have a lot of significance in reading climatological history as well as making it easy and comfortable access for most people. Although it is not specifically fitted out for it we have even taken children down in wheelchairs and carried them through the narrower bits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fair Dinkum Cave Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

To often these days we lose the heart of an experience due to the red tape thats surrounds it. This cave tour is no such attraction. Geoff the guide was a wealth of knowledge and his passion for this cave system is more than evident. Beautiful caves with incredible 'stuff' to be explored and enjoyed. The guide makes no apologies for his forthright manner and i have nothing but respect for him and the angle he takes. A short prelude before entering the caves gives you the knowledge needed to respect the beauty that lay within. Our tour consisted of locals and international tourists and all enjoyed the experience. I have visited caves around the world in Africa, Asia and Europe and here on the doorstep of the nations capital we have a real gem of our own. I am suprised i have only just discovered it as its just over an hour out of town and a fantastic daytrip. The pub down the road was a great stop for lunch and the Goodradigbee river is as picturesque a picnic spot as you could wish for. I will be suggesting this daytrip to all my friends and family and will be returning with nephews and neices soon. Nothappy712 has left a scathing review and i can only suggest that perhaps they disagreed with something the guide said and his honest approach meant that they were put in their place. Many thanks to the staff for an enjoyable and fair dinkum experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff K, Manager at Carey's Cave, Wee Jasper Caves- Day Tours, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. It is good to know that most visitors appreciate the information outside the cave in setting a context for the cave formation processes as well as what they experience inside the cave. Responses such as yours from people who "get it" make it truly worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Informative tour and interesting caves”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Geoff is a knowledgable cave and is willing to share his knowledge. He approaches every tour like his first. The caves are interesting and well lit. Well worth the drive from Canberra.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Hansie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Loved it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

If you're very (and I mean very) sensitive, then ok, this tour guide might not be your cup of tea. But we went with 4 kids & there were certainly nothing said that caused us offence or concern in front of the kids. Geoff is not PC by any means - as he takes the time to explain before the tour starts - which is kind of refreshing in this over the top PC world. Certainly nothing racist! We spent some time talking to Geoff after the tour and he is a very interesting guy with a great local knowledge.
One of the best family days out we've had. Great to get the kids into the country and they thought the cave was 'awesome' which it was. Tour went for well over an hour and was worth every penny. The drive back (Yass route) was just stunning. Agree with RXH2, that a picnic is probably a good option if you're a bit fussy. Certainly no gourmet options in Wee Jasper. We had lunch at the tavern, with the frozen meals, & they were ok. Kids didn't care if their pizza was frozen and we had the pies which were fine. The lady there is great. Another super friendly down to earth bush character who was worth the visit. Drinks were cold and icecreams for the kids, so all were happy.
All in all, a very pleasant day out for this family. Leave your city sensitivities at home & enjoy some real bush fun.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff K, Manager at Carey's Cave, Wee Jasper Caves- Day Tours, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Great that your whole family enjoyed - thanks for the review. Unfortunately some folk read my lack of political correctness as intended to insult them - I just happen to feel that our society is gradually being stifled in many ways by its obsession with everything being so PC and just can't take it all as seriously as some people do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carey's Cave, Wee Jasper Caves- Day Tours also viewed

Wee Jasper, New South Wales
Burrinjuck, New South Wales
 

Been to Carey's Cave, Wee Jasper Caves- Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing