We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Hawthorne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed here for two nights, as a get away from Las Vegas. My wife, who works at the Bellagio, was very impressed with the room itself. It is bigger then the standard rooms and very comfortable. The location is outstanding. While obviously there are not lots of stores in the hotel, it does have a decent restaurant. I love how the have free shuttle service to the beach area, so no worries if you are drinking. The staff was very nice. The only drawback is the pool is too small, and it's in the middle of the courtyard, so you have to time it to get some sun....I will definitely come back again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steveandlanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    203
    57
    20
    18
See reviews for
248
215
38
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Arrowhead
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel. We've stayed at several other Ayres Hotel properties, and, we've never been disappointed. The tapestry in the lobby is a magnificent masterpiece. The lions that greet you in the entryway are amazing marble sculptures. The original art throughout the hotel are breathtaking. My husband and I walked around inside and outside to appreciate the way everything was placed. Better than a museum!!! The room was perfect. The location was convenient, and very quiet inside the room. We dined at the restaurant and it was fabulous. The entire experience felt as if we were traveling in Europe, which we often do. Two thumbs up!

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank flylady114b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Susie N.,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback!

We are truly delighted to hear that your stay with us was perfect. Thank you for your kind words about our European-Boutique style décor, convenient location and dining experience at Matisse. Each Ayres property is specially designed with European inspiration in mind and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel as much as we do. We are truly delighted to be considered a masterpiece!

Thank you again for your sincere compliments. We cannot wait to welcome you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Dave Lagarce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

I will start with the positives-nice staff, comfy beds and pillows, great service from housekeeping.
Now for the negatives, asked for a 6:00AM wake up call and did not get one, luckily I woke up or the whole trip could have been a disaster! Website said free breakfast, but that was not the case. Instead had the worst hotel freebie breakfast ever for $13.95 a person. No service at all, the staff just stood around talking and laughing to each other. Asked for iced tea and was told they didn't had any, but I could make it myself and then was pointed to tea bags and hot water. The waiter didn't even offer to bring me a cup of ice.
Would not stay there again, would look for a hotel with a free breakfast that was really free and could not have been worse.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Lori C.,

Thank you kindly for taking the time write a review on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is vitally important to us as it helps better serve our guests.

In regards to your most recent stay, I would like to offer my most sincere apology for the mishap you experienced with the wakeup call and our service as a whole. Clearly we were not performing to our usual standards and I sincerely apologize for this. Please know that this is an isolated incident and that I have addressed these issues with the appropriate departments to prevent them from reoccurring in the future.

Furthermore, I would also like to apologize for any misunderstanding that occurred with the breakfast. Because Matisse restaurant is separately owned and operated, this explains the reason for the charge for breakfast. Nevertheless, I do apologize about the disappointment in the breakfast selection. In the future, please know that all of our other 19 Ayres locations do indeed offer complimentary breakfast for guests each morning.

Thank you again for your supportive feedback and please know that I will pass your comments along to our management team and staff. We only hope that you reconsider staying with us in the future and give us another opportunity to be of service. If there is anything personally I can assist you with, please feel free to contact me.

Warm Regards,

Dave Lagarce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Very nice hotel. I do love the Ayres Hotel Chain. This one didn't have the Breakfast like the other ones do. It's close to shops and places to eat. About 3 Miles from the beach. Great service and beautiful rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Jeff B.,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback!
In regards to your recent stay, we are pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be conveniently located to shops as well as local restaurants.

We also appreciate your compliments in regards to our service as well as our beautiful rooms. We cannot wait to welcome you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Dave Lagarce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

This hotel I found in Expedia and I am happy I did.
First of all Location. very near to airport if you drive.
Second of all the rooms are very big.
Third no Airport noise as it is like 3 miles away.
My wish to find a nice hotel in L.A every time i think is fulfilled this time. Its not a great fancy hotel, but for sure is better than many Branded Chain Hotels. what is very important is that it has a micro woven, living room, and all basic amenities. Of course not like the Hotels in Asia. for the Hotels, I have been in USA this one is highly recommended.

But no Action in the Lobby and quiet Hotel. Fitness centre is too small and not a great thing here though.

I haven't tried breakfast so cannot write about that.

Room Tip: Choose the suite room for the family. so you would enjoy
See more room tips
Green Features: Towels Linens are changed on request. so environment friendly.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramhkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Ramhkg,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable as well as located conveniently close to the airport and Los Angeles.

Thank you again for recommending our hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and look forward to being of service again in the near future!


Sincerely,

Dave Lagarce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

Our experience was GREAT from check-in to check-out. Staff in all locations of the facility were congenial. During check-in at front desk the staff was very helpful. The dining room staff was very accommodating.

Room Tip: We had a chance to visit different rooms and they were all exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Florrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Forrie H.,

It was such a pleasure welcoming you recently. Thank you for taking the to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased you enjoyed your experience at our hotel. Thank you also for complimenting our team. It is our pleasure to provide exceptional guest service. We are also pleased you enjoyed Matisse Restaurant. We hope you choose to stay again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dave Lagarce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
112 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

The Hotel is very centrally located and near the Airport, close to the Manhattan Beach, close to the freeway as well as shopping centre, plaza with restaurants etc. The service is very good and the rooms are extremely comfortable. Ample parking and a safe neighbourhood. The restaurant in the Hotel is very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawthorne
The Belamar Hotel
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
LAX Area
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Century Boulevard
Shade Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne

Property: Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne
Address: 14400 Hindry Ave, Hawthorne, CA 90250-6740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hawthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Hawthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and elegance of a European-inspired boutique hotel await you at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach/LAX. Whether you’re here for a short business visit or a long, relaxing retreat, you’ll find all of the luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach/LAX are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers,microwaves, well lit work desks and Wifi, iHomes, microwaves, and hairdryers. Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach welcomes travelers to all of the exciting business, recreational, and entertainment attractions Manhattan Beach, CA has to offer. Dine at the acclaimed Matisse Restaurant, located in the hotel, which offers American cuisine infused with rich European flavors while taking in the luxurious ambiance of the hotel, including an incredible split staircase. Go out and experience the beach life while riding the South Bay Bicycle Trail starting nearby at Manhattan Beach, trailing all along the coast to beach cities like Venice Beach and Santa Monica. And you'll be glad to know that Los Angeles International Airport is just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Hotel Hawthorne Manhattan Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing