We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hawthorne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good and bad”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The hotel was beautiful, nice music playing and very fancy decorations. It also had free wifi. However, there was no free shuttle to airport even though it's advertised in LAX section. This really added up--$50 round trip--so negated the cost savings on the hotel. The workout room was pretty skimpy too. Only one treadmill.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    206
    59
    20
    18
See reviews for
253
221
40
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed here for our two daughters soccer tournament that was held at CSULB. Granted it was a longer than usual drive for us to go from and to the hotel it was well worth the little bit of extra time for us.

The staff was amazing and very friendly and helpful. we needed a crib which they brought up very quickly and they even gave us the Breakfast Buffet because of a miscommunication on the part of the soccer coach. They certainly didn't have to do that but they did.

I will definitely stay here again, maybe next time just my wife and I since this is a very nice and beautiful hotel.

Great job Ayres Staff!!!!

Room Tip: Any room is nice, ours looked out over Manhattan Beach city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evildawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

This Italianate villa, recommended by a local client, was an unexpected delight on a two-day business trip to the LAX area. Not too large, the pleasantly ornate facility was made even better by the excellent and friendly service throughout. I was greeted by name throughout my stay. Offers fine food and wine at decent prices in-house at Matisse. Offers free shuttle bus (until 8:30PM) to Manhattan Beach Pier for multi-choice eating, shopping and the beach. Upgrade to a very nice courtyard-view room and completely avoid outside traffic noise. No hotel shuttle to LAX, but it's only five miles away. Minor downsides are: not too many good restaurants in walking distance, and there's 405 traffic on one side. I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Many rooms overlook the beautiful courtyard. I had a courtyard view, my associate did not, and whil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmatko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Damatko,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor to let others know about your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad you found your accommodation to be a delight, with friendly service throughout. We are pleased to know you know you enjoyed Matisse Restaurant, and its fine food and wine, as well as the free shuttle to Manhattan Beach Pier. Thank you again, we cannot wait to welcome you again in the near future. We also hope the traffic won't be as bad next time you stay with us.

Sincerely,

Dave Lagarce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Beautiful hotel. European feel with large stone fireplaces and artwork. Spacious rooms with ample sitting areas and marble bathrooms. Elegant and welcoming. Fabulous courtyard. Close to restaurants and shopping. Would definitely chose this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Melbourne, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This hotel is very beautiful and reminds me of a museum with beautiful art pieces and statues throughout. There's an outside courtyard in the center of the hotel where you can enjoy the beautiful sound of the birds. While I was there, I saw a hummingbird bathing in the fountain. It was really cool! The rooms are beautiful, especially on the first floor. The ceilings are high and rooms are very spacious. I stayed here for business, but even my company enjoys it so much, they have the networking events at this hotel. We received complimentary breakfast coupons and they had free wi-fi. It was only a 10-15 minute drive from the airport and very close to El Segundo, Space Park, and Redondo Beach. Would highly recommend to any Northrop Grumman employees that are going to any of these facilities since they run have a special rate for NG employees.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room on the first floor since the ceilings are taller and it makes the room seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I can't say enough about the staff and their willingness to make our stay perfect. Will be coming here again! We had a small noise issue which they remedied quickly. I feel they went above and beyond.

Room Tip: Rooms look great. We were upgraded due to small noise issue which was handled extremely professional...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Michelle A,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor to let others know about your recent stay at our hotel. We are honored to know that you found our staff to be willing to go above and beyond to ensure your stay was perfect. We cannot wait to welcome you again in the near future. Rest assured, we will accommodate you to a quieter room on your future stays. Thank you again, and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dave Lagarce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mapleton, Utah
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2014

The staff was warm and the room was clean. It was a wonderful stay. I'd go back and intend to do so whenever I go to Los Angeles for business. I also appreciated the art pieces throughout the hotel, bery pleasing to the eye.

Room Tip: Talk to the staff they will share with you and be totally honest about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frantz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Frantz B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor to let others know about your recent stay at our hotel, we are pleased to know you had a wonderful visit. It is also nice to see that you found our service to be warm and your accommodations to be clean, these are the elements we truly strive for. Thank you for the compliments on the hotel artwork, we are thrilled to know you found it pleasing to the eye. We cannot wait to welcome you another time in the near future when you visit the Los Angeles area for business and thank you again!

Sincerely,

Dave Lagarce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawthorne
1.4 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
743 reviews
2.4 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
498 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Redondo Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
845 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
666 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn LAX/El Segundo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne

Property: Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne
Address: 14400 Hindry Ave, Hawthorne, CA 90250-6740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hawthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hawthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and elegance of a European-inspired boutique hotel await you at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach/LAX. Whether you’re here for a short business visit or a long, relaxing retreat, you’ll find all of the luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach/LAX are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers,microwaves, well lit work desks and Wifi, iHomes, microwaves, and hairdryers. Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach welcomes travelers to all of the exciting business, recreational, and entertainment attractions Manhattan Beach, CA has to offer. Dine at the acclaimed Matisse Restaurant, located in the hotel, which offers American cuisine infused with rich European flavors while taking in the luxurious ambiance of the hotel, including an incredible split staircase. Go out and experience the beach life while riding the South Bay Bicycle Trail starting nearby at Manhattan Beach, trailing all along the coast to beach cities like Venice Beach and Santa Monica. And you'll be glad to know that Los Angeles International Airport is just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Hotel Hawthorne Manhattan Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing