We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Awesome Relaxing Overnight Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Hawthorne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Santa Clarita, California
2 reviews
“Awesome Relaxing Overnight Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

It was my birthday weekend and I wanted to get away from my local surroundings; so off to Manhattan Beach. The hotel was gorgeous, almost like stepping back in time. The room was spacious and the king size bed was very comfortable. The decor was extremely beautiful and breathtaking. Also, the staff was friendly and helpful. I can't wait until I have a few days off so I can return again. I look forward to visiting other Ayres Hotels throughout southern California. As far as the breakfast it was good; I just wish they had an omelet bar and pancakes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    192
    54
    20
    18
See reviews for
234
201
34
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We liked the finish of the hotel - nice paintings and elegance. The bed was great - we are very particular on bed quality as both have back issues . Bed was nice and firm and nice sheets.
Only issue we had was that the free included breakfast advertised online had been discontinued Oct1st. We were offered a 20% off coupon instead. Breakfast at the hotel was really good - great service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Y3091BEandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Andrew S.,

It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest this October. We are grateful for the kind review and truly appreciate your compliments of the decor of our hotel. It is nice to see that you particularly enjoyed your Ayres Dream Sleeper Mattress. Our sincerest apologies that there was a communication issue with the promised complimentary breakfast, but we are glad to see that you enjoyed it regardless. We do hope you will come visit again soon and thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor to let others know about your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,
Dave Lagarce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Right from the start of walking in the door you are in awe of this hotel. The staff could not be more helpful and friendly. The décor is outstanding and fresh. Our room was huge with a divided sitting area and clean with a fridge and microware. We have travelled 7 weeks around USA staying in various hotels and this would have to be one of the best. It was a plus to have an in house restaurant with great food at reasonable prices with excellent bar staff. The only disappointment is the hotel is not close enough to the fantastic Manhattan Beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Sharon M.,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor to let others know about your recent experience at our hotel. We were so pleased to welcome you all the way from Australia! Thank you very much for your compliments on our service and accommodations, they are greatly appreciated. We are especially glad that you enjoyed our on site restaurant. We are sorry that our location was not of your expectations but do hope that our shuttle to the Manhattan Beach pier would make up for it. We do hope that when you are in the USA again that you will chose us for your destination! Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Dave Lagarce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avalon, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

did my reservasion on the internet and they offered free breakfast.
We were never told that your policies had changed and when we try to take the supposedly free breakfast, we were told that we could only give a discount.
It was an awful shame for their lack of comunicasion and professionalism.
The employee who greeted us was rude and despot.
For the price I paid attention was horrible.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Celia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Alannalight,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a candid review of your recent experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor. Our sincerest apologies if you feel that you were mislead in any way at all. We started to charge for breakfast at our location starting at the beginning of October; we so very sorry that was not communicated to you effectively. We truly strive to offer the best possible customer service and are very disappointed to see that our service was anything less than exceptional. Again, our sincerest apologies and we do hope you will reconsider staying with us in the future.

Sincerely,
Dave Lagarce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel in the past, and I have had decent experiences. This past experience was not up to par. I arrived and received a friendly welcome. I went to my room, but I could not get the air conditioner to turn on (yes, I inserted my card into the slot that turns on the electrics to the room). I called down to the front desk and asked for a new room, and they said they could accommodate and for me to come down for the key. One of the people at the desk actually met me at the elevator with my new key which I thought was nice. I went to the new room, and this air conditioner seemed to work. However, after about an hour I noticed that the room was still warm. I tried adjusting the temperature to get the cold air to kick in, but it never did. I called down to the front desk, and I was told that she would call maintenance. An hour went by and no maintenance. I called down again, and the man at the front desk said he would come up and see what he could do right away. He did come up right away. I asked if he could not fix it, would maintenance come up later? His reply was, "maintenance left early tonight". He tried doing the same things I did to get the AC to work, then unplugged the AC and restarted it. This seemed to work, so I thought I was good to go. In about 15 minutes the AC cold air stopped (fan kept going but no cold air). I waited for the cold air to come on again, but it never did. I opened the window to get some fresh air, but the noise from the street outside was too much. I could have asked for a new room, but it was late and I was so tired that I just decided to stay where I was. My sleep was restless as awoke a few times during the night ... taking the blanket off ... putting it back on.

The next morning, I got up early as I could not sleep anymore in the warm conditions. I decided to go for a jog by the beach. So I drove down to Manhattan Beach. When I returned the parking lot was full. They had a special event going on in their courtyard, and all the people attending took up all the spaces in the parking lot. So, I had to park across the street.

All in all, it could have just been bad timing. But, if you are looking for a more high end hotel, this might not be the place to stay. What kind of high end hotel lets their maintenance personnel leave early? Most places have maintenance full time as far as I know. Also, what kind of high end hotel makes you park across the street?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TNJtraveler111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear TXtraveler1111,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a candid review of your recent experience at our hotel. Our deepest apologies that the accommodations were anything less than exceptional. We truly strive to offer the utmost professional services and are terribly saddened to see that during your stay, we did not succeed in that goal. Our sincerest apologies for the crowded parking lot as well. We do hope you reconsider staying with us in the future and thank you again.

Sincerely,
Dave Lagarce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach/Hawthorn because I was attending a 3 day workshop there. The room was beautiful and spacious - check the photos on their web site. The food at the restaurant was excellent. And the staff were so gracious and accommodating. I must point out two staff members for their EXCELLENT customer service: Ken at the front desk and Vanessa in the dining room. I recommend the Ayres Hotel to everyone now! It was my first experience with the Ayres Hotel, and I will now make it my place to stay when I am traveling.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Marta S.,

Thank you for leaving a review on TripAdvisor to let others know about your experience at our hotel. It is nice to see that you thought your room to be beautiful and spacious, we truly strive to offer these type of accommodations and are so glad to see that you thought so. Thank you for noticing our team members that went above and beyond for you, they will surely be notified of your appreciation. Thank you again for your kind review and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Dave Lagarce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed here for three nights for a conference at Northrop. The hotel was within walking distance of the conference, though walking in LA isn't particularly pleasant. The Ayres is decorated in a luxurious Old European style, which is very attractive and well done with marble statues and oil paintings, etc. The decor feels a little odd because the hotel is fairly new, yet it is meant to imitate an old hotel. Still nice overall, especially the central open air courtyard.

My room was spacious, well decorated, and very clean. Sleep quality was also excellent. The WiFi was free and fast, which is a major plus on business trips. The water pressure was a bit weak, but that is a minor niggle.

The staff was courteous and attentive, with a quick check-in, check-out, and helpful recommendations. I rented a bike from the hotel and rode down to Manhattan Beach Pier, an activity I would highly recommend. There are plenty of places to eat near-by, though in typical LA style, everything is really built around cars. The area around the hotel isn't particularly attractive, with a Costco across the street, but again, typical LA.

Breakfast was included in my stay via vouchers and was very competently prepared and served.

Overall, I'd recommend this hotel if you have business in the area. If I was there for pleasure, I'd probably look for something right in Manhattan Beach, though the hotel does run a shuttle there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmccle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawthorne
1.4 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#4 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 648 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 742 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 437 reviews
0.9 mi away
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Manhattan Beach Marriott
#6 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 613 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Redondo Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne

Property: Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne
Address: 14400 Hindry Ave, Hawthorne, CA 90250-6740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hawthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Hawthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and elegance of a European-inspired boutique hotel await you at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach/LAX. Whether you’re here for a short business visit or a long, relaxing retreat, you’ll find all of the luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach/LAX are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers,microwaves, well lit work desks and Wifi, iHomes, microwaves, and hairdryers. Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach welcomes travelers to all of the exciting business, recreational, and entertainment attractions Manhattan Beach, CA has to offer. Dine at the acclaimed Matisse Restaurant, located in the hotel, which offers American cuisine infused with rich European flavors while taking in the luxurious ambiance of the hotel, including an incredible split staircase. Go out and experience the beach life while riding the South Bay Bicycle Trail starting nearby at Manhattan Beach, trailing all along the coast to beach cities like Venice Beach and Santa Monica. And you'll be glad to know that Los Angeles International Airport is just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Hotel Hawthorne Manhattan Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing