We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hawthorne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Fantastic property close to LAX, Manhattan Beach and many other hot spots. The rooms are large and spacious. Very comfortable atmosphere within the lobby. The check in and check out was easy. Hotel staff was friendly and willing to see to your needs.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omadave64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (908)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 908 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was my first time staying in this particular Ayers hotel. I have stayed in others. Every stay is a good experience. The staff is always friendly and professional. This hotel is really lovely. Clean, quiet, and visually appealing in every way. I ordered room service when I arrived, at 9:30 pm. The food arrived quickly and was delicious. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel is a hidden gem in the Hawthorne/Manhattan Beach area. Nearby Manhattan Beach, Redondo or Torrance have a few decent hotels, such as the Marriott, Holiday Inn or DoubleTree, but Ayres gives you a totally different feeling. In some ways, you no longer feel like you are staying in a normal hotel. There is something special here.

We stayed at Ayres Manhattan Beach a few nights (we also had our wedding reception here) and everything was wonderful. The design of this hotel makes you feel like you’ve traveled back in time in Europe. So for a few days, you can feel like a guest in palatial royalty. The hallways are lined with artwork, chandeliers and antique decor. The rooms are spacious and our room (the executive suite) felt grand and it all came at a decent price, especially if you stay on weekends! This hotel is one of those strange positions, in which most of its business comes from business clients and guests so this makes the weekday MORE expensive and weekends LESS.

The hotel is only a a few minutes from LAX so it's very convenient though we wish there would have been a shuttle bus. The area surrounding the hotel is nothing special and may not be too safe night though you don't usually notice if just staying within the hotel walls. The restaurant is a bit expensive, but service and food are excellent. It was not very crowded ever except for breakfast when they lock the doors if you haven’t gotten there before the closing. It’s not a 5-star hotel buffet, but it is free and there’s a number of hot items so can’t complain. Parking is also free and plentiful, a number of times, we got parking spaces right next to the front. We would definitely come back to this charming, one-of-kind hotel.

Room Tip: compare weekday vs. weekend rates, seems that weekends are surprisingly cheaper than weekday rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrmiguelito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

What a lovely hotel. The staff were so kind and pleasant. The decor was beautiful and classy and the room was very clean. The complimentary breakfast was unbelievable (sausage, eggs, fruit, pancakes, granola, etc). The hotel is a few miles from Manhattan Beach which was the perfect place to watch the sunset and stroll around. I would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: The suites are unbelievable. Very roomy and elegant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Booked this hotel on strength of website and previous reviews. We had a great stay. The hotel was a haven in a busy area and was everything we had hoped for. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was relaxed and informal and the food was really good. Perfect place to recharge your batteries after long flight from UK and a busy day at Hawthorne Beach.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prem G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Clean, great service! Complimentary full breakfast is wonderful. Make your own waffles/pancakes! Yum, yum. Plenty of free parking, too. Classy rooms, elegant. I was here all week for business and rested well, studied well at Ayres!





Room Tip: Excellent! Will stay again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray201318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stumbled upon this hotel by a happy accident through a third party site. Was nervous about what we were getting, but man, they were so awesome! The front desk was super kind and accommodating and the building itself was beautiful, clean, and unique. Great deal and centrally located from all kinds of stores and restaurants. We were super happy with the free parking and breakfast also. So reasonable for what you get.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawthorne
2.4 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
514 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
768 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Manhattan Beach Marriott
#7 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
717 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
727 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne

Address: 14400 Hindry Ave, Hawthorne, CA 90250-6740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hawthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hawthorne
Price Range: $187 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and elegance of a European-inspired boutique hotel await you at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach/LAX. Whether you’re here for a short business visit or a long, relaxing retreat, you’ll find all of the luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach/LAX are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers,microwaves, well lit work desks and Wifi, iHomes, microwaves, and hairdryers. Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach welcomes travelers to all of the exciting business, recreational, and entertainment attractions Manhattan Beach, CA has to offer. Dine at the acclaimed Matisse Restaurant, located in the hotel, which offers American cuisine infused with rich European flavors while taking in the luxurious ambiance of the hotel, including an incredible split staircase. Go out and experience the beach life while riding the South Bay Bicycle Trail starting nearby at Manhattan Beach, trailing all along the coast to beach cities like Venice Beach and Santa Monica. And you'll be glad to know that Los Angeles International Airport is just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Hotel Hawthorne Manhattan Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing