We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night at the Museum”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hawthorne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Night at the Museum”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Of course you see what a place looks like these days with internet bookings, but, this really was "WOW" when we arrived, especially because we are art lovers, hence it took us twice as long to get to our room, which was also "wow" as we stopped to look at all the beautiful pieces of art along the long and exquiste hall ways or the nooks along the way.

Although this hotel is on the 4o5 highway, and shops across the road and car dealerships next door, once your inside this buiding, you only feel as though your in a gallery, museum or even a castle somwhere in Europe,

The staff are all fantastic, a quick check in and out, the night we were there they had "happy hour" in the bar which also included half price appetizers between 4 and 7pm. which of course we took advantage of, the ambience was too good to pass up.

The courtyard was really pretty, Although we did not swim I dipped my toes in the pool and spa, both were heated to levels that would have been good to take advantage of, in this cooler weather.

Breakfast was of a fair variety, with fruit, cereals, and hot food toast, and cakes and pastries all available, it is always nice to have a breakfast option in a hotel to get you up and going first thing in the morning.

Hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did, the beds are great the bathroom a good size and such nice furnishings, and all though the hotel is next to the freeway, we really had to strain to hear any traffic noise. Oh, and you can get a really good pizza across the road I forget the name of the resturant, but, it's the only Italian one there, also great and friendly service too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dancingtraveller622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    206
    59
    20
    18
See reviews for
254
221
40
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
164 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We booked Ayres Hotel based on tripadvisor reviews and now we know why. We stayed for a week in Manhattan Beach and could have never asked for a finer experience. This place is perfectly located and every aspect of the stay is top notch. The staff is incredibly helpful, caring, and courteous. The place is immaculate in every way. Could never give a hotel a better overall review.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tpmedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

From the moment you arrive you feel transported to Italy...lovely giant stone fireplace lite surrounded by plush chairs. The breakfast was plentiful and fresh. There were eggs ,freshly cut fruit Danish your choice of pancakes or waffles .
The beds were very comfortable

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blessed2bsaved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Beautiful decor with marble sculptures, carved wood doorways, old style art on the walls. The room we had with one King bed had lots of space. Free hot breakfast included, with fruit, eggs, bacon, waffles, etc. was more than enough. The location is right off the freeway. We heard the traffic only slightly - the double pane windows did their job. We got this through hotwire, at a great price. I usually prefer hotels in a location that's walkable to places to eat and shop.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluemermaid25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed at the Ayres Hotel for work, and they upgraded me to a suite that was larger than the apartment I live in. Furnishings are a little grandma-ish -- this is definitely not a hip, trendy hotel. Location literally right off of the 405 freeway and next to some large strip malls is convenient for commuting, but not exactly scenic. Free breakfast was OK. Staff was helpful and pleasant. The hotel was fine for business travel, but wouldn't choose it for a personal trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unicornn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Pretty lobby and room furnishings. Room size great, comfortable linens. Poor noise insulation.
Terrible shower (no flow, no pressure), cheap fixtures. Hated the lights in the room (all energy saving lamps and devices). Breakfast (free) boring and tasteless.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZMelzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Great location. Great room. extremely comfortable bed and wonderful sheets. Very friendly service. Wonderful breakfast. Close to freeway -- but no noise in room. Would stay here ANY time we're in the area. convenient to LAX. likely good location for getting to many places around LA.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gobluefan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawthorne
1.4 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
743 reviews
2.4 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
498 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Redondo Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
846 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
668 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne

Property: Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne
Address: 14400 Hindry Ave, Hawthorne, CA 90250-6740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hawthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hawthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and elegance of a European-inspired boutique hotel await you at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach/LAX. Whether you’re here for a short business visit or a long, relaxing retreat, you’ll find all of the luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach/LAX are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers,microwaves, well lit work desks and Wifi, iHomes, microwaves, and hairdryers. Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach welcomes travelers to all of the exciting business, recreational, and entertainment attractions Manhattan Beach, CA has to offer. Dine at the acclaimed Matisse Restaurant, located in the hotel, which offers American cuisine infused with rich European flavors while taking in the luxurious ambiance of the hotel, including an incredible split staircase. Go out and experience the beach life while riding the South Bay Bicycle Trail starting nearby at Manhattan Beach, trailing all along the coast to beach cities like Venice Beach and Santa Monica. And you'll be glad to know that Los Angeles International Airport is just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Hotel Hawthorne Manhattan Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing