We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Hawthorne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Del Mar, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Great location. Great room. extremely comfortable bed and wonderful sheets. Very friendly service. Wonderful breakfast. Close to freeway -- but no noise in room. Would stay here ANY time we're in the area. convenient to LAX. likely good location for getting to many places around LA.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gobluefan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    202
    56
    20
    18
See reviews for
247
211
37
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Olmsted Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Our son lives nearby so that is why we chose this hotel. But the Clean rooms, great service, quiet, fantastic restaurant all made our stay at this hotel wonderful. Would definitely stay here again! The only negative is about Los Angeles in general and that is all the traffic. But that is nothing against this hotel


  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

have stayed numerous times hotel is wonderful beautiful rooms, free breakfast, free parking and free wireless!! Safe location many stores restaurants near by. Daughter attends USC we choose to stay here over other hotels closer to the school have tried the rest and Ayres is best choice in the area book it you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norton1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Never stayed or actually sad to say never heard of Ayres Hotel. Looked for days on line for a hotel in Los Angeles. Such a wide area was not sure of location, safety, quality, service, etc. I booked for me and three friends. They were counting on me to select the hotel and I took a chance on this one as all reviews looked extremely positive. Glad to say I made the right choice. Never had better check in experience with such helpful personnel. This continued throughout our stay. Made our entire trip experience extremely pleasant. Quality beds and furniture and the cleanliness of not only our room but dining area and bathrooms throughout the hotel was above average. Take a chance on this one. You won't be sorry.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite and it was great space for four adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel. It is is as simple as that. I have enjoyed Ayers Hotels in the southland for years, appreciating the value and the quality the family-owned operation provides. Even better is their willingness to accommodate my needs -- mildly handicapped, I have a service dog. The best thing anyone can do for me is to just leave me alone, not make it harder for me. It's never been a problem for the Ayers folks. First in Diamond Bar, and this past week in Manhattan Beach, the staff could not have been more helpful, yet not overwhemingly so, just perfect. We were looking at other properties near Cedars Sinai, as we were there for my mother-in-law's heart valve operation -- my husband could not bear that we would have to pay $30 and more just to park the car -- as well as other surcharges for the dog. Ayers has free internet, free parking, free excellent buffet (hot!) breakfast and the most comfortable bed I have ever enjoyed in a hotel room, bar none -- and we travel a LOT!!! A tub and a refrigerator/microwave in a generous-sized room, flat panel TV ... all our needs are met. My brother-in-law is a contractor and knows the properties in the area (he worked on the stone for this property), and told us the Ayers family brought in art and decor from Italy for this particular property -- and it is just beautiful! As nice as any 5 star hotel, but at less than half the price. More for less $$$ and great service.
The only problem you might encounter is that this is "Ayres Manhattan Beach" -- well, it's really Hawthorne. I am told by relatives that "no one in their right mind would stay in Hawthorne" -- so I understand that, but unless you put "Hawthorne" in the GPS, you will be frustrated trying to get the directions -- Siri wasn't helpful until we put in the exact street address, she didn't understand Ayres Manhattan Beach because she is very literal.
So definitely go to this hotel, you will be pleasantly surprised! If you have a snobby sister in law who lives in LA, ignore the turned up nose -- SHE IS WRONG!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great; we didn't upgrade and we were very happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Koigirl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

This hotel is just south of LAX airport. It was easy to get in and out of and the staff was wonderful. I love the decor as it is very rich and inviting. I did not see anything that I would not give top ratings to. The breakfast in the morning was hot and had lots of choices. The fire place in the entry is a nice welcome too. The rooms were quiet and spacious and beautifully decorated. The beds are comfortable as well. I will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freetofly1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I had a wonderful trip to Los Angeles, thanks in no small part to the Ayers Hotel in Manhattan Beach. The staff was friendly, knowledgeable, and efficient. The room was gorgeous, and imaculate every day that I was there. The bed was super comfy, and the Hotel centrally located to the areas I needed to be near. I recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area, you will be in for a treat!

Room Tip: Try and grab a room downstairs, High ceilings and access to the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Armand R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawthorne
The Belamar Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
LAX Area
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Century Boulevard
Shade Hotel
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne

Property: Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne
Address: 14400 Hindry Ave, Hawthorne, CA 90250-6740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hawthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Hawthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and elegance of a European-inspired boutique hotel await you at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach/LAX. Whether you’re here for a short business visit or a long, relaxing retreat, you’ll find all of the luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach/LAX are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers,microwaves, well lit work desks and Wifi, iHomes, microwaves, and hairdryers. Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach welcomes travelers to all of the exciting business, recreational, and entertainment attractions Manhattan Beach, CA has to offer. Dine at the acclaimed Matisse Restaurant, located in the hotel, which offers American cuisine infused with rich European flavors while taking in the luxurious ambiance of the hotel, including an incredible split staircase. Go out and experience the beach life while riding the South Bay Bicycle Trail starting nearby at Manhattan Beach, trailing all along the coast to beach cities like Venice Beach and Santa Monica. And you'll be glad to know that Los Angeles International Airport is just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Hotel Hawthorne Manhattan Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing