We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Hawthorne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Amazing Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I had a wonderful trip to Los Angeles, thanks in no small part to the Ayers Hotel in Manhattan Beach. The staff was friendly, knowledgeable, and efficient. The room was gorgeous, and imaculate every day that I was there. The bed was super comfy, and the Hotel centrally located to the areas I needed to be near. I recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area, you will be in for a treat!

Room Tip: Try and grab a room downstairs, High ceilings and access to the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Armand R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    200
    56
    20
    18
See reviews for
245
210
36
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights on a business trip , good location and the staff is very friendly.

Cons. No airport shuttle service.

Overall the hotel is a great place to stay highly recommend if budget suits
Avg rates are in the higher side.

Kenneth

Room Tip: Use the top floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Segundo, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We are a global sourcing advisory firm and have all of our visitors/consultants stay at the Manhattan Beach location. The level of service, beauty of the hotel and professionalism is always consistent and has been beyond our expectations.

We are never disappointed! Vicky and the Ayres team are amazing!

Thank you,

Avasant Team

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Beautiful lobby and rooms, very quiet and free parking; what's not to like. The free parking is important, especially being 5 minutes from LAX airport. The only negative was the shower head water pressure-to weak for us. Breakfast was excellent and included for free. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: We selected a courtyard room to eliminate any outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Ayres at Manhattan Beach was excellent for our two night stay. Beautiful lobby, restaurant and room accomodations and beyond the call of duty (of most of the) staff. We couldn't have had a more enjoyable stay. Clean and quiet - so quiet we almost forgot to get up in time for the wonderful complimentary breakfast that included everything we needed to start our day (except for herbal/decaf tea). Felt like pampered royalty and will look forward to coming back to Ayres in the future! The downside of this location was the rate being too high - it's a great place inside but it's in a very seedy area that I wouldn't feel comfortable walking around in after dark. Also, not close enough to any real nice restaurants that you could walk to. There is several fast food places nearby though. Front desk staff was 95% fantastic, restaurant/breakfast staff not all that friendly or helpful. Didn't know if we were going to be served or if it was serve ourselves at tables covered with paper "table cloths" that weren't replaced when guests left.

Room Tip: Rooms surrounding the courtyard are quieter and more romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaye_T454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The reviews are right great staff friendly and helpful. Nice large rooms with a mini fridge. Close to the highway but little to no noise. Supermarket close by. Costco across the street. Only negatives i can think of is the small tv but who caress, breakfast is eggs bacon cereal and fruit nothing fancy and if you want anything else you have to pay but pretty average breakfast for a Rees one at a hotel. Lots of airline folks here

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bak1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very clean and cosy. Manhattan Beach is only a few minutes away. The hotel is conveniently close to the freeway. Plenty of shops and restaurants just across the street. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Complimentary breakfast was a big plus (although I'm not quite sure if it is included with all packages). Ample parking, free of charge. They provide a complimentary shuttle within three miles of the hotel, which can be useful, although we didn't get to take advantage of it. The room was very well equipped: microwave, fridge, coffee maker, a nice flat screen TV, free Wi-Fi... Pretty much everything you need. The patio is very nice, and the pool (albeit tiny) was a nice addition to our stay, along with the jacuzzi. Overall, a very pleasant and completely trouble-free experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe two queen room on the 3rd floor, which more than sufficed for our family of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmitry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawthorne
1.4 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn LAX/El Segundo
3.1 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt House Los Angeles/El Segundo
4.0 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne

Property: Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne
Address: 14400 Hindry Ave, Hawthorne, CA 90250-6740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hawthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Hawthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and elegance of a European-inspired boutique hotel await you at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach/LAX. Whether you’re here for a short business visit or a long, relaxing retreat, you’ll find all of the luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach/LAX are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers,microwaves, well lit work desks and Wifi, iHomes, microwaves, and hairdryers. Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach welcomes travelers to all of the exciting business, recreational, and entertainment attractions Manhattan Beach, CA has to offer. Dine at the acclaimed Matisse Restaurant, located in the hotel, which offers American cuisine infused with rich European flavors while taking in the luxurious ambiance of the hotel, including an incredible split staircase. Go out and experience the beach life while riding the South Bay Bicycle Trail starting nearby at Manhattan Beach, trailing all along the coast to beach cities like Venice Beach and Santa Monica. And you'll be glad to know that Los Angeles International Airport is just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Hotel Hawthorne Manhattan Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing