We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel. Will definitely stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hawthorne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here for just one night on a driving trip from LA up the coast to SF. Beautiful old world hotel, in very good shape, clean, and everything worked well. Free breakfast in the beautiful courtyard. Since we couldnt bring a corkscrew on the plane we had to ask the front desk for one and in minutes we had a complimentary one that we put to immediate use. Free parking, wifi, awesome breakfast and really low price. Nice big room. Stay here you'll be very happy you did. Right near a costco to buy water, wine, cheese and fruit for our road trip. Staff was great too!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janmarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (915)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

642 - 648 of 915 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

Now I usually stay at my regular chain hotel so I can rack up my points, but I decided to venture off the regular path and boy was I surprised at this property! It was gorgeous and nothing like I've ever stayed at before. The hotel has a renaissance feel with artwork on the walls, stone floors and archways, tapestries, and sculptures throughout the building. The double staircase when you walk in is very impressive. They have a great courtyard with fountains, white lights and sculptures. The pool looked great but didn't try it.

My room was excellent. I've never been in a hotel room with such high ceilings. Kept with the theme. All the furniture was beautiful wood with the theme and had a flat screen tv tucked away in the armoir. Had a sitting area with sofa. The mini fridge, microwave, and coffee maker were all nice conveniences. I think the water pressure others have mentioned is a regulation by California so can't fault the hotel but really was sufficient.

I ate the free breakfast buffet each morning which had your basic scrambled eggs, breads, sausage/bacon, fruit, cereals, potatoes, etc. The dining area is very nice and again goes right along with the theme.

I had forgotten my toothpaste and they came to my rescue with some I could have! The staff seemed very helpful, friendly, and professional. It's a great location close to shopping, restaurants, and the beaches. The 405 is right out their back door practically. The free parking and free wifi were a welcomed change to other properties!!!

Overall this was a very impressive property and I would definately stay here again and recommend it to my friends. I showed my coworkers my photos and they couldn't believe them! Thanks, Ayers, for such a great experience!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank bondtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Hotel had a European feel, including a very pretty courtyard with fountain and pool area. lots of ambiance with lovely sculpture and artwork, winding dual staircase and a huge fireplace in the lobby. Staff was quite helpful and the free breakfast buffet was a nice option. The room was large with a sofa and seating area in addition to the desk and bed area. The bed and pillows were quite comfortable. Located near the highway and less than 10 minutes from the airport. Enjoyed staying here on business, and would stay again---either for business or personal. Attended a business dinner here and the food and service were quite good. Apparently this hotel is very popular for weddings--which is understandable considering how charming the setting is.

Room Tip: ask for a room that overlooks the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhb1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My family recently stayed at the Ayres LAX. We wanted a place close to the beach, clean, safe and not crazy $. The Ayres was all that and more. The free breakfast buffet is great and so helpful to get an easy good breakfast to my 2 kids. The staff was incredibly outgoing and helped us with a super early check in. The location was great - close to one of the cleanest beaches in CA. Though we only stayed for 2 nights they were both enjoyable and I would certainly stay there again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tribalvocals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Might not be everyone's cup of tea, however it was like staying in an Italian Villa. We had room 220 which was quiet and faced the inner courtyard. There is a half partition which we appreciated as sharing with our teenage daughters so afforded a little privacy. Good sized fridge compared to some hotels, and also had a microwave although we didn't utilise this. Free parking, free internet that had a good connection. Coffee and toiletries well stocked
Location is superb, just off the freeway, with plenty of cheap places to eat nearby. Pool area clean, with a lovely warm jacuzzi. pool doesn't get the sun terribly well and isn't very big but there are great beaches not too far away and it is a hotel not a resort. There is a nice courtyard to sit on and also some balconies around the place. My daughter used the gym and although basic was quite functional. no in room safes, but safety deposit boxes which was good for passports and extra cash.
The biggest asset is the staff who were extemely friendly and accomodating. It was clean with very comfortable beds, Air con a bit noisey but we fell into bed each night and didn't care. Window actually open which was a bonus, and we would definitely return.
Breakfast didn't really excite us, but it was on tap and free and gave us a start to the day.

Room Tip: Friends have previously stayed on a corner room and said it was large, but can't compare. Think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AWOLkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear AWOLkiwi -

We appreciate your allowing us the opportunity to host your stay. How wonderful to know you found the decor charming and the staff so welcoming. It sounds as if we were able to meet all of your needs, which is fantastic. Thank you so much for your positive review and please consider us the next time you are in the area.

Warm regards,

Dave Lagarce
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Almost elegant the Ayres is almost old school. No airport shuttle and no tv check out would be nice additions. Food is OK breakfast buffet included. The rooms on the first floor facing the interior courtyard are roomy and comfortable. Free parking.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Location is great! Lots of restaurants and stores nearby. The lobby and grounds have an old world charm. Lovely fireplace in the lobby. Unfortunately, once you leave the lobby, the hallways and rooms leave you with of a feeling of being in a haunted mansion. The rooms are in much need of a makeover, however; the amenities are great. All rooms contain refrigerator, microwave, blow dryer, coffee maker, and flat screen TV (though the armoire that houses the TV leaves it nearly impossible to watch TV while working at the desk). Parking is free and easy! Because it's a small hotel, there are no cumbersome parking garages to deal with, which is a rarity in Los Angeles. While the food at in house restaurant is good, it's a little on the pricy side, therefore; I'd recommend eating out unless you want to overpay for your meal. Staff is very friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarBojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear MarBojo -

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your visit and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to know you found the amenities conducive to a comfortable stay and we will most definitely take your decor comments to heart, although we hope the only thing that haunts our halls is efficient, friendly service! We appreciate your review and hope to welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Dave Lagarce
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawthorne
1.4 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
780 reviews
1 mi away
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Manhattan Beach Marriott
#7 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
724 reviews
2.4 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Redondo Beach
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel
1.5 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne

Address: 14400 Hindry Ave, Hawthorne, CA 90250-6740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hawthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hawthorne
Price Range: $177 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and elegance of a European-inspired boutique hotel await you at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach/LAX. Whether you’re here for a short business visit or a long, relaxing retreat, you’ll find all of the luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach/LAX are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers,microwaves, well lit work desks and Wifi, iHomes, microwaves, and hairdryers. Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach welcomes travelers to all of the exciting business, recreational, and entertainment attractions Manhattan Beach, CA has to offer. Dine at the acclaimed Matisse Restaurant, located in the hotel, which offers American cuisine infused with rich European flavors while taking in the luxurious ambiance of the hotel, including an incredible split staircase. Go out and experience the beach life while riding the South Bay Bicycle Trail starting nearby at Manhattan Beach, trailing all along the coast to beach cities like Venice Beach and Santa Monica. And you'll be glad to know that Los Angeles International Airport is just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Hotel Hawthorne Manhattan Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing