We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hawthorne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Pedro, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This hotel is an oasis in the middle of a number of strip malls and is nest to a freeway, but when you enter it is an entiely different world. The hotel is full of georgeous wood and classic furniture, marble and chrystal chandeleurs. Rooms are large and comfortable with a sofa and a very comfortable bed. The staff was very helpful and went out of their way to help us when a problem arose that was not in any way the fault of the hotel.

The hotel is easyily accessed from LAX and has a huge number of first class restaurants close by with regular shuttle service provided by the hotel. The free brealfast was very good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear Louis -

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to extend to you our world class service. I am very pleased to hear that the decor was so striking and truly caught your attention. The Ayres family spent a great deal of time and paid close attention to detail to ensure that our hotel was reminiscent of the elegant atmosphere one can see in parts of Europe. As mentioned we have many restaurants nearby but perhaps on your next visit you will have the chance to try our award-winning onsite restaurant, Matisse Restaurant. We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Warm regards,

Dave Lagarce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    206
    59
    20
    18
See reviews for
254
222
40
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Very nice hotel, very elegant. Loved the art inside the hotel. Room was clean at all times stayed for one week. Everyday breakfast was served on time. Fresh fruit was awesome especially the pineapples. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swright24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear Swright24 -

Thank you for choosing Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach for your stay and for your kind review. It is wonderful to know that the decor, cleanliness, and various amenities offered by the hotel lent themselves to an exceptional hotel experience. Nothing makes us prouder than to know we have earned a guest's recommendation and desire to return again, so we look forward to your next visit and hope to provide you with outstanding service and accommodations once again.

Safe travels,

Dave Lagarce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Beautiful hotel geared to adult clients, unfortunately we were travelling with a group of 30 children, which the hotel was fully aware of when they booked us as a group

Only saw maid service 1 out 5 days during our stay
Although the internet was free it was extremely slow and inconsistent

The location was very central to everything we needed and the area was very clean and safe

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teacher_dance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear Teacher_dance -

Thank you very much for your candid review of Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach. I am pleased that you found you overall stay with us satisfactory and the location convenient, although I apologize if it appeared as if our hotel caters solely to adult guests. We are more than happy to welcome guests of every age and groups of every size. As to the housekeeping service, the housekeeping team at the hotel does visit and clean each guestroom daily unless a Do Not Disturb Sign is placed on the door. Perhaps this was placed on the door in error, which is why the service would appear inconsistent.

It is our ultimate goal to have each of our guests leave the hotel feeling as if he or she has had an outstanding hotel experience, so I invite you to contact me so we can further discuss these issues and ensure your experience is exceptional. Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Dave Lagarce
general Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Beautiful hotel just a few minutes from LAX. The complementary breakfast was splendid, pancakes, juice, fresh fruit, muffins, waffles and more hot offerings. There is a computer with internet for guest use in the lobby, which is appreciated. The Executive King suite is a fully separate room (separated with a full wall with a door, not just a half wall) and is very spacious. It is terrific for a family, as you can put the kids to bed and parents can hang out in the living area and don't have to have lights out at 7:30pm! The parking is included in the price, unlike many hotels near LAX. The front desk staff was very gracious.

The rooms backing on the highway are slightly noisy from the highway. The bed and pillows in the bedroom were luxuriously comfortable, the pull out couch less so but probably as good as expected from a pull out couch.

In general, the Ayres name is synonymous with quality and fabulous service.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room backing on the highway, as it can be somewhat noisy from the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familytravel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear Familytravel12 -

It was a pleasure welcoming you as our guest. Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with fellow travelers. It is wonderful to hear that our one bedroom suite provided you the comfort and adult time needed on your time away and that you found the breakfast offerings so appetizing. Our hotel is equipped with the best possible windows to avoid excessive sound, but we are always happy to offer our guests a new room if noise is an issue for any reason. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,

Dave Lagarce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I stayed at the Ayres Hotel from Jan 27-31. All I can say is WOW. What a beautiful, elegant, amazing hotel! From the outside it looks like just another hotel near the 405 highway in LA. When you step through the front doors, you're greeted with a beautiful staircase, fireplace and elegant decor. The hotel staff is friendly and the rooms are excellent. My room happened to overlook the beautiful courtyard. The room was very spacious (included a queen bed, full size couch with coffee table, another table with 2 chairs, desk w/ chair and a large bathroom area with mini fridge. The restaurant at the hotel was great as well. It is a 5 minute drive to LAX and about 20 minutes to Beverly Hills. I can't say enough good things about this hotel! I'll be traveling to LA about 4 times per year and plan on staying here each time!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apicozzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Dear Apicozzi -

Thank you for sharing your positive experience on TripAdvisor. I am thrilled that we were able to make such a resounding first impression on you with our split staircase, lush courtyard, and decor as well as with our accommodations and service. Nothing makes us prouder than knowing that a guest has left our hotel fully satisfied with his or her stay. I am also very humbled that you have chosen our hotel for future visits as well. We hope your next one will be very soon.

Warm regards,

Dave Lagarce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Even though you are a matter of 3-4 miles from the beach in sunny southern California, once you walk through the doors of the Ayers Hotel, you would think you were in a sophisticated hotel somewhere in France. Business is what brought me here, however, a much needed vacation will bring me back. All the wonderful touches...even down to the sconces in the restaurant that flicker and move as if they were real candles. Love It!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Wonderful hotel and staff. We go to LA at least twice a year to visit family and have stayed in several hotels in the south bay. This is by far the best experience we have had and plan on returning whenever we visit the area. The staff was helpful and accommodating. Check in was quick and they made sure we were happy with our room. The room was large with a separate sitting area and was very clean and quiet. We met family for dinner at the restaurant in the hotel, and had a private room. The food was delicious and the ambiance was lovely. A hot breakfast is included and it had everything, hot eggs, waffles, sausage, pancakes, muffins, fruit and more. We didn't get a chance to use the pool or gym, as we were only there one night, but plan on doing so on our next visit. Fantastic hotel for the price

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rscottie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Rscottie2 -

Thank you for your very kind review of Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach and for choosing our hotel for your visit. The team here at the hotel takes the guest experience very seriously, so I am pleased that we were able to provide exceptional service and accommodations. I am also pleased to hear that you found the cuisine at Matisse Restaurant satisfying as well. There is no greater honor than having a guest choose our hotel for a return visit, so please know that we are thrilled we will be able to welcome you once again. Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel.

Safe travels,

Dave Lagarce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawthorne
1.4 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
749 reviews
2.4 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
503 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
684 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Redondo Beach
1.0 mi away
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Manhattan Beach Marriott
#6 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne

Property: Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne
Address: 14400 Hindry Ave, Hawthorne, CA 90250-6740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hawthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hawthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and elegance of a European-inspired boutique hotel await you at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach/LAX. Whether you’re here for a short business visit or a long, relaxing retreat, you’ll find all of the luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach/LAX are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers,microwaves, well lit work desks and Wifi, iHomes, microwaves, and hairdryers. Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach welcomes travelers to all of the exciting business, recreational, and entertainment attractions Manhattan Beach, CA has to offer. Dine at the acclaimed Matisse Restaurant, located in the hotel, which offers American cuisine infused with rich European flavors while taking in the luxurious ambiance of the hotel, including an incredible split staircase. Go out and experience the beach life while riding the South Bay Bicycle Trail starting nearby at Manhattan Beach, trailing all along the coast to beach cities like Venice Beach and Santa Monica. And you'll be glad to know that Los Angeles International Airport is just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Hotel Hawthorne Manhattan Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing