We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Will Return!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hawthorne
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Very close to LAX airport and Manhattan Beach. A short walk away from a few supermarkets, restaurants, clothing stores and banks.

Excellent breakfast, Nice Gym, great pool area and helpful staff.

Rooms where always very clean, very spacious rooms and free WiFi.

I would recommend this hotel for both short and long stay.

Room Tip: 6th Floor very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lisa33141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 455 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2014

Nice and clean, newer property. They have two bedroom suites which is hard yo find in a Marrriott property. Family friendly and an excellent location just a mile southeast of LAX. Blocks from the 405, with lots of restaurants within a mile radius.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank merlechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

We checked in as a family of 5 in their double studio with sofa bed and accommodated all 3 adults, 1 teen & 1 tween conveniently. The room has its own microwave oven, kitchen sink & coffee maker, perfect for long staying conditions. The hotel served its purpose for our 14 day stay in LA.

Overall the hotel can be rated (at best) 2 out of 5 stars.

The good:
Close to the beach (we loved Manhattan Beach, Sta Monica Pier, Redondo Beach & Venice Beach), free parking, nice location (near Aviation Park, restos, shopping malls, accessible highways to downtown & central LA, going south-east to Disney etc. ) & access to persons with disability

Hotel staff at reception was very helpful and understanding of our concerns

The Bad:
I have been to more than 50 hotels (from 1-5 star) globally and their housekeeping is the worst I have seen to date - they need to be re-oriented to the word "cleaning". Does not know the difference between dirt, vacuum, stain, wash. The hotel room is carpeted and rubbish (bread crumbs, sand etc.) can be seen or felt while walking bare foot. My whole family had to wear slippers and/or socks inside the room. You can see footprint stains inside the bathroom floor, the microwave was never cleaned inside and out, the coffee mugs and glasses were not washed, we had to buy dishwashing liquid and instruct the housekeeper to wash the dishes on our first 3 days. They are either inconsistent, untrained or does not have a standard understanding how to clean the rooms, even other furnishings and fixtures were dusty. We complained twice, with the exception of our complaint being recorded, no improvement from housekeeping still.

Breakfast buffet is simple and basic, always full of people regardless of day or time. Location small. Variety? none - Not advisable to take up breakfast if you book, better to eat out

Gym and pool is very small but functional.

This is not the Marriott standard that we came to know about. It is below par - will I recommend this to my friends or come back and book in this hotel again?

Not in the immediate future. (say 6-12 months?)

Value for your money? With the level of service you will get from housekeeping i'd say it is highway robbery.

They should strive to improve housekeeping by about 100%. Only then will I recommend and come back to this hotel.



Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank cjacob28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

I am a Marriott Rewards Member because my work requires me to travel a lot. I like how I know that wherever I go that there is a clean and comfortable marriott where I can rest. Well unfortunately there is an exception to every rule.

The first thing that I noticed about this Marriott is that the people at the front desk did not look professional. Usually at Marriott the staff is very professional and wears some type of business attire. The staff here wears industrial looking blue work clothes that is what I expect to see at a Jiffy Lube. When you ask the staff for anything there is a lack of courtesy and the grammar is not so great either. A typical response to any question is that this is not a full service Marriott. If you try to call to ask for anything day or Night there is at least a 50% chance that you will get voicemail.

Don't expect the room to be clean after the housekeepers are done because it will not be.

The place appears to be infested with bed bugs because I got bites all over.

The elevators are slower than molasses and appear to be industrial freight elevators because the stainless steel is scratched up from floor to ceiling. This reflects how the staff and owners of the building view their guests as cargo.

The food is also never fully stocked so guests have to run to get the small portions before it is gone. Of course the food tastes bad so maybe it is not so terrible that there is not enough of it.

This place is also expensive. If you can stay anywhere else in the area, especially the full service Manhattan beach Marriott on Park, you will be much better off.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank worldwidetraveler114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

What a disappointment! The brand is supposed to have a decent reputation and certain qualities to be included under the Marriott umbrella and this place did not meet any of the standards. Our room was dusty, filthy,the bathroom had a broken and chipped bathtub as well as a very old toilet. The carpet appeared to be so dirty that I walked in my socks.
The next morning was a nightmare as there was a large group having breakfast from the time the buffet opened until check out time. Inadequate amount of tables, food, etc. Could I report anything positive with my stay? No! Don't bother to check in; the place is not maintained at all. Very disappointed and above all, disgusted and turned off!

Room Tip: Another hotel would provide anything better than this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Sterlingtravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springhill Suit... M, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Thank you for the review of your experience. Please accept our sincere apologies regarding your stay. We regret that we were unable to resolve your issues while you were still a guest in the hotel so that we could provide a solution. Your comments have been shared with the our Housekeeping team to ensure improvements are made immediately. Thank you for helping us to improve. Our top priority is to provide all of our guests excellent, high quality service. We look forward for the opportunity to meet your expecations and serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

The hotel is in a great location with easy access to LAX. Plenty of good restaurant choices nearby and two good-sized gyms within a 5-minute drive or 20-minute walk. There is a Trader Joe's across the street too. Hotel is clean and the personnel are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springhill Suit... M, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Thank you reviewing of your experience at the SpringHill Suites Manhattan Beach. We are glad that you were satisfied with the service you received at the hotel and that our location provided everything to meet your needs closely nearby. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again on a future visit to the area. Thank you for choosing Springhill Suites Manhattan Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed at this hotel at the end of our vacation. After staying at a over priced hotel in San Francisco that we was not happy with. We were pleased with this hotel it was a very comfortable and affordable for a family stay. The front desk went out of there way to help in any way they could. Free parking, wifi and breakfast was great. After 5 days of staying at 2 different Hilton hotels I was pleased with this Marriott hotel it was clean and I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springhill Suit... M, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Thank you for writing a positive review of your experience at the SpringHill Suites Manhattan Beach. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and found the hotel to be in a good location and that our staff met all of your needs. We have shared your comments with the staff as positive reinforcement of our cleanliness and service standards. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again when your travels bring you back to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawthorne
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Redondo Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Manhattan Beach Marriott
#7 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
737 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#4 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
793 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Angeles Airport Hawthorne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach

Address: 14620 Aviation Boulevard, Hawthorne, CA 90250-6656 (Formerly スプリングヒル スイーツ ロサンゼルス LAX / マンハッタン ビーチ)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hawthorne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hawthorne
Price Range: $131 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SpringHill Suites hotel in Hawthorne, California, combines stylish décor with thoughtful amenities. Set in an ideal location just minutes from Manhattan Beach, Los Angeles and LAX Airport, our Hawthorne, California, hotel features a re-imagined lobby with flexible spaces to work and relax while taking advantage of our free Wi-Fi. Guests will love spreading out in our spacious Manhattan Beach suites while enjoying flat-screen TVs and bedding that complement the convenient luxuries such as mini-refrigerators, wet bars and microwaves. Comfortable beds with luxurious linens and piles of pillows make our Manhattan Beach suites the perfect place to wind down. Our hotel in Hawthorne, California, provides guests the perfect start to every day with complimentary breakfast featuring a variety of fresh, hot and healthy options. An all-suite hotel infused with stylish spaces at an affordable rate, our Manhattan Beach hotel invites you to find the comforts of home on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Manhattan Beach - Hawthorne Hotel Hawthorne
Springhill Suites Hawthorne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing