We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, fair rate, good location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Hawthorne
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, fair rate, good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We selected this hotel because we have had good experiences with this brand. The room is a small suite, not much room around the bed, but the extra space for a small living room, nice desk, microwave and small fridge are nice trade-offs and features. We paid in advance to get a good rate, but it was non-refundable if we had needed to cancel. The location is great, not too far from LAX, but close to the neat little town of Manhattan Beach (nice downtown and beach area - highly recommend hanging out there). The breakfast was also good, with lots to eat and good service.

Room Tip: The elevators are a little slow, I suggest asking for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DWLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laxhw, Manager at SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for the positive review of your experience at the SpringHill Suites Manhattan Beach. We are glad that you were completely satisfied with the product and service you received at the hotel. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again on a future visit to the area. Thank you for choosing Marriott for your lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    182
    99
    28
    21
See reviews for
166
82
30
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yerevan, Armenia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Located a bit aside it is a perfect place to stay if you have a car. Very good service and staff, special thanks to receptionist Anna. Breakfast is tasty, rooms are clean and cosy. Free parking, breakfast and wifi, Overall highly suggested!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngryDev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laxhw, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for the positive review of your experience at the SpringHill Suites Manhattan Beach. We will be sure to recognize Ana for providing good service during your stay. We look forward to serving you again on a future visit to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nephi, Utah
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

The breakfast was nice but the room was rundown and not sparkling clean. Lots of hairs on the bathroom floor - dirty mirrors - and goobers on the wall. I'm ok if the hotel is a bit older but it can still be clean. Was kind of disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLC1622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laxhw, Manager at SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience. Please accept our sincere apologies that we did not meet your expectations of cleanliness on this visit. Your comments have been shared with the Housekeeping Management team to ensure immediate corrections are made to correct these issues. Thank you again for sharing and helping us to make improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

I'm afraid that's all I have to say about this Marriot hotel.
We stayed at a number of hotels during our US trip, and I'm sorry to say that this was the bottom of the list. More pricey than the Hilton Doubletree that we stayed at on the other side of town, it was a bit of a step-down!
The outside of the property is in good repair, and the Reception area is well-maintained and seems welcoming. We had no problems with the staff, all of whom were courteous and efficient.
The lift/elevator was slow and noisy. On occasions, we had to wait many minutes for our floor to be served. The room was in general good repair, although the fan was noisy, one of the light switches didn't work, and there was a broken light sensor. We never did work out what it was for. The divided wash area and bathroom was a nice arrangement, and the shower had good temperature and pressure.
The swimming pool didn't look particularly enticing, but then it was next to the car park, and that's just the downside of having your property in an industrial area. Luckily, we did not have a room on the side of the train maintenance yard, so no problems with noise from the outside. We still felt that the noise between rooms, however, was a little above what you might expect.
Unfortunately, our lasting memory, is that of the breakfast. A small uninviting area, packed full of guests, serving a fair-to-poor variety of breakfast options. Whoever came up with the idea of equipping guests with polystyrene plates and plastic cutlery, should be unceremoniously sacked. Have you ever, as an adult, tried cutting something under those circumstances? I was having to carefully watch each bite to ensure I wasn't ingesting part of the serving solution.
So, all in all, an average hotel for which location is probably its biggest selling point.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stormachtig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laxhw, Manager at SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for posting a review of your experience. Please accept our apologies that we were unable to meet your expectations on this visit. Your comments on conditional issues have been shared with the appropriate departments, so immediate corrections can be made to fix these items. We appreciate your feedback on the breakfast area as we are always looking for ideas on how we can make improvements. Thank you again for sharing your honest feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

The room was big, clean, and comfortable. Breakfast was crowded at times but never had any trouble getting to the food and they always had plenty. My family was able to get to the beach, universal studio's and other attractions around LA very easily freeways were close. Staff was friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aleina l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laxhw, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for the positive review of the SpringHill Suites Manhattan Beach. We are glad that it was an enjoyable visit for you and your family. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again on a future visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

I stayed at this hotel over the Christmas break and I will just say it was an ok stay. I am a frequent Marriott hotel traveller and this one falls into the 'just there' category. The staff were nice enough, but my biggest annoyance with this place was the breakfast area! It is so so tiny for the number of guests they get. There were long queues for food that my breakfast kept getting cold as I would have to get up to get food for my kids. The turkey sausage was nasty and cold and the eggs were not the best. When we got downstairs for food there was nowhere to sit. Then they opened an extension -why the extension was not opened in the first place, I am not sure! We stood for a bit before we could get a table and of course the food got cold.

I have been trying to convert my husband to Marriott and after this visit, he decided he would stay with other hotel brands, which is a great shame, as I love Marriott. Please do something about your breakfast area!!! This was the only reason we came to this hotel and we were disappointed.

Room Tip: You might want to consider getting McDonalds or go somewhere else for breakfast if you stay at this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ninomoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laxhw, Manager at SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with breakfast during your visit. We experienced unusually high demand at breakfast during the Christmas break due to high leisure travel from families and other multiple occupancy rooms during this time. While the hotel was not at 100% capacity during this time, the breakfast area was entirely full due to the number of guests in the hotel. We normally have enough seating in the breakfast area to accommodate all of our guests as long as eating times are staggered during the hours of service. When the staff realized that it was unusually busy in the area, they opened up a neighboring meeting room for overflow seating. We apologize that this area was not made available prior to your visit. We have shared your comments with the food and beverage staff to ensure we make improvements for the future. Thank you for choosing Marriott for your hotel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
280 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

This was our first time trial with the Springhill Suites and I find it quite acceptable based on the value and location. First, they have plenty of free parking and less than 3 minutes of HWY405. I find the decor a little basic especially the bath which seems over size with a tub instead of a walk-in shower. Quality of the shower is only mediocre which is the most disappointing part in my opinion . The sleeping area is small but you do get a usable kitchenette and frig a good desk with chair and free wifi. The sofa is the sitting area is quite good but I prefer the desk chair. The free breakfast has good coffee, muffin, fresh waffle and juice in self serve style but everything is very fresh.
I think for the money, it is a good place for a short stay but don't expect anything fancy or luxury.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dhlchung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laxhw, Manager at SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for trying the SpringHill Suites for the first time and the positive review of your experience. We are glad that we were able to meet your expectations and you found good value at the property. Hopefully, we have earned your business for a repeat visit the next time you visit the Manhattan Beach area. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawthorne
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Manhattan Beach Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Redondo Beach
0.6 mi away
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Manhattan Beach Marriott
#6 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach

Property: SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
Address: 14620 Aviation Boulevard, Hawthorne, CA 90250 (Formerly SpringHill Suites Manhattan Beach - Hawthorne)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hawthorne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Hawthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SpringHill Suites hotel in Hawthorne, California, combines stylish décor with thoughtful amenities. Set in an ideal location just minutes from Manhattan Beach, Los Angeles and LAX Airport, our Hawthorne, CA, hotel features a reimagined lobby with flexible spaces to work and relax while taking advantage of our free Wi-Fi. Guests will love spreading out in our spacious Manhattan Beach suites while enjoying flat-screen TVs and bedding that complement the convenient luxuries such as mini-refrigerators, wet bars and microwaves. Comfortable beds with luxurious linens and piles of pillows make our Manhattan Beach suites the perfect place to wind down. Our hotel in Hawthorne, CA, provides guests the perfect start to every day with complimentary breakfast featuring a variety of fresh, hot and healthy options. An all-suite hotel infused with stylish spaces at an affordable rate, our Manhattan Beach hotel invites you to find the comforts of home on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Manhattan Beach - Hawthorne Hotel Hawthorne
Springhill Suites Hawthorne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing