We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family had a Blast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hawthorne
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family had a Blast!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The room was big, clean, and comfortable. Breakfast was crowded at times but never had any trouble getting to the food and they always had plenty. My family was able to get to the beach, universal studio's and other attractions around LA very easily freeways were close. Staff was friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aleina l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laxhw, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for the positive review of the SpringHill Suites Manhattan Beach. We are glad that it was an enjoyable visit for you and your family. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again on a future visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    193
    100
    29
    21
See reviews for
173
85
31
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I stayed at this hotel over the Christmas break and I will just say it was an ok stay. I am a frequent Marriott hotel traveller and this one falls into the 'just there' category. The staff were nice enough, but my biggest annoyance with this place was the breakfast area! It is so so tiny for the number of guests they get. There were long queues for food that my breakfast kept getting cold as I would have to get up to get food for my kids. The turkey sausage was nasty and cold and the eggs were not the best. When we got downstairs for food there was nowhere to sit. Then they opened an extension -why the extension was not opened in the first place, I am not sure! We stood for a bit before we could get a table and of course the food got cold.

I have been trying to convert my husband to Marriott and after this visit, he decided he would stay with other hotel brands, which is a great shame, as I love Marriott. Please do something about your breakfast area!!! This was the only reason we came to this hotel and we were disappointed.

Room Tip: You might want to consider getting McDonalds or go somewhere else for breakfast if you stay at this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ninomoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laxhw, Manager at SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with breakfast during your visit. We experienced unusually high demand at breakfast during the Christmas break due to high leisure travel from families and other multiple occupancy rooms during this time. While the hotel was not at 100% capacity during this time, the breakfast area was entirely full due to the number of guests in the hotel. We normally have enough seating in the breakfast area to accommodate all of our guests as long as eating times are staggered during the hours of service. When the staff realized that it was unusually busy in the area, they opened up a neighboring meeting room for overflow seating. We apologize that this area was not made available prior to your visit. We have shared your comments with the food and beverage staff to ensure we make improvements for the future. Thank you for choosing Marriott for your hotel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This was our first time trial with the Springhill Suites and I find it quite acceptable based on the value and location. First, they have plenty of free parking and less than 3 minutes of HWY405. I find the decor a little basic especially the bath which seems over size with a tub instead of a walk-in shower. Quality of the shower is only mediocre which is the most disappointing part in my opinion . The sleeping area is small but you do get a usable kitchenette and frig a good desk with chair and free wifi. The sofa is the sitting area is quite good but I prefer the desk chair. The free breakfast has good coffee, muffin, fresh waffle and juice in self serve style but everything is very fresh.
I think for the money, it is a good place for a short stay but don't expect anything fancy or luxury.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dhlchung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laxhw, Manager at SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for trying the SpringHill Suites for the first time and the positive review of your experience. We are glad that we were able to meet your expectations and you found good value at the property. Hopefully, we have earned your business for a repeat visit the next time you visit the Manhattan Beach area. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

First we are a frequent visitor to all Marriott brands and have stayed at SpringHill Suites before. This one, though, was awful. Lobby is nice, breakfast very limited, but our room was gross. It was dirty, furniture was in bad shape, and walls are so thin you can hear someone cough quietly in next room. Location is not very good either. Not really an "airport" hotel. We fly in and out of LAX a lot and there are other affordable, better choices. Never again. Location is truly in the middle of nowhere too.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquelyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laxhw, Manager at SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you experienced during your visit. We have shared your comments about the cleanliness of your room with the Housekeeping staff, so immediate corrections can be made to improve. Sorry if you thought that we were located at the airport. While we are only 4 miles away from LAX to make a convenient trip to the airport, we realize that there are other hotels that are closer and would be considered “airport” properties. However, the property is surrounded by great shopping and restaurants. In addition, it is very close local beaches and many Southern California attractions. If you choose to visit again, please inquire at the Front Desk and we would be happy to provide listings of all the great things to do in the local area. We welcome the opportunity to serve you again on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I've stayed in the Los Angeles area many times, mostly by the LAX airport since it's pretty central to most of the areas in LA. However most of those hotels have high parking fees, charge for wifi, or are becoming a tad dated. I discovered this hotel that was much newer and has recently been completed remodeled, free safe parking, free wifi, and free hot breakfast. Much better VALUE in Los Angeles area especially if you have families. Area feels completely safe. There are restaurants and stores in the area, but nothing directly by hotel so all are a few safe walking blocks away so I'd suggest a car. Hotel is clean, nice, and average with large rooms. Nothing fancy/upscale about lobby or rooms, but nothing dated or dirty either. I would recommend this place in LA area over all other places I've stayed before based on the free perks. Only negative is the slow elevator, which wasn't an issue since we took the stairs most of the time.

Room Tip: Choose lower floor to avoid slow elevator or take the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laxhw, Manager at SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for the positive review and recommendation from your experience at the hotel. We recently completed a room renovation at the hotel and we are glad that it contributed to increase your satisfaction level. We will continue to work hard to clean and maintain our new product, so it remains a top value in the Los Angeles area. We look forward to serving you again on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinity, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed here one night and found the hotel to be clean, the staff friendly, and the rooms nicely apportioned. The decor is very modern, which is unusual in this area and doesn't quite give the "homey" feel in other hotels nearby. The rooms are suites that include a small kitchen (mini fridge, microwave, sink) and a separate sitting area from the bed. Because it is a relatively new hotel, most of the lights are set up with what appeared to be motion detection. Only problem I had with that is in the shower, I could never get the light to go on - whether I pushed the button or not, no light. Ultimately I showered using the residual light from the vanity area outside the bathroom. The hotel is very well insulated for noise - no issues hearing neighboring TV/talking, and when someone is in a room above you it is only a faint sound.

Room Tip: There are 5 floors to this hotel, so if you don't like the sound of people walking above you, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeritageSoftail14843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laxhw, Manager at SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience. We are glad that you found the hotel to be clean, well apportioned and the staff was friendly. Please accept our apologies for the problems with the light fixture in the bathroom. Your comments have been shared with the Engineering staff to ensure this item is addressed immediately. Thank you again for sharing your experience and for choosing Marriott for your hotel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Nice hotel with thin walls. Close to airport. Breakfast was ok but for me very limited. However, my husband was able to get full. Parking is a little stressed at night. Our first room toilet was having issues so we were moved. The second room we were moved in was not as nice as the first one. Rooms are big. Overall, nice hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floor has less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank browntone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laxhw, Manager at SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing comments about your stay at our property. We are glad that you were satisfied with your overall experience. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused by having to move rooms during your stay. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawthorne
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
1.1 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
749 reviews
0.6 mi away
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Manhattan Beach Marriott
#6 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Redondo Beach
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach

Property: SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
Address: 14620 Aviation Blvd, Hawthorne, CA 90250-6656 (Formerly SpringHill Suites Manhattan Beach - Hawthorne)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hawthorne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hawthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SpringHill Suites hotel in Hawthorne, California, combines stylish décor with thoughtful amenities. Set in an ideal location just minutes from Manhattan Beach, Los Angeles and LAX Airport, our Hawthorne, CA, hotel features a reimagined lobby with flexible spaces to work and relax while taking advantage of our free Wi-Fi. Guests will love spreading out in our spacious Manhattan Beach suites while enjoying flat-screen TVs and bedding that complement the convenient luxuries such as mini-refrigerators, wet bars and microwaves. Comfortable beds with luxurious linens and piles of pillows make our Manhattan Beach suites the perfect place to wind down. Our hotel in Hawthorne, CA, provides guests the perfect start to every day with complimentary breakfast featuring a variety of fresh, hot and healthy options. An all-suite hotel infused with stylish spaces at an affordable rate, our Manhattan Beach hotel invites you to find the comforts of home on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Reservation Counter, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Manhattan Beach - Hawthorne Hotel Hawthorne
Springhill Suites Hawthorne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing