We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average place to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Hawthorne
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“An average place to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Location is convenient to LAX and to the surrounding Manhattan Beach area. Just minutes from bustling Sepulveda Blvd with its restaurants and shopping. Room was clean enough.

I asked for a high floor room facing north (away from the tracks) and away from the elevator. I got a room about two floors from the top and only three away from the elevator, even though there were a good dozen+ rooms further in. I did face north and didn't experience any street noise aside from the occasional car locking up with a short horn blast.

The hotel must have been about 50-60% capacity (based on parking lot fullness at 7 am), so again not sure why I couldn't get a room further from the elevator (and I'm Silver elite which isn't great but it's something). Also not sure why they had to pack in the guests all next to each other (all of the units next to me and across from me were filled) when the hotel clearly had more space. I heard very clearly the conversations, bodily noises, door slams, and most of the movements on the bed of the room adjacent to me. Poor construction and poor assigning of rooms, in my opinion.

As many have stated, the elevators are awfully awfully slow, so take the stairs at either end of the hall.

Maybe this was an off-week for the property, but it sure didn't attract the highest level of guests the weekend I stayed. There were middle-aged men already fully drunk at 5 in the afternoon, holding beers in the elevators telling very crude jokes, and the elevator reeked of alcohol throughout the evening. I know the hotel can't filter out these guests in advance, so it just shows you what kinds of guests frequent here. Also, a lot of rough looking guests overall, many drinking and smoking around the property. Definitely not my usual Marriott experience. Fork over the money and stay in one of the nicer hotels on Century Blvd closer to LAX, the clientele are classier.

Breakfast was well stocked at 8 am on a Saturday and the dining area was surprisingly full of guests - I guess mostly tourists up early to explore the city. The turkey sausage patty looked very disturbingly grey/brown/dried up look/texture so I avoided.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rlee508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laxhw, Manager at SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of you experience at the SpringHill Suites Manhattan Beach. We are glad that you found our location to be clean and convenient to LAX and the surrounding area. Please accept our apologies that we were not able to get your room in the exact location of your preference. We do our best to block these requests in advance based on availability. While the parking area may have not been full, this is not always a good indicator of the hotels occupancy as many of our guests do not drive to the property and we have more than enough parking to accommodate the entire hotel. It’s unfortunate that other guests in the hotel diminished from your overall experience. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future to address any issues that may be negatively impacting your overall satisfaction. Thank you for your loyalty to Marriott as a Silver Elite Member. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    171
    90
    28
    20
See reviews for
159
75
27
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
137 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel room was a good room or suite as they call it. Good AC on the room area but hot in the living room area. Staff not that friendly but do their job. When it came to breakfast it was a complete nightmare. They have a very small breakfast area with lines getting to the reception area and a tiny cabinet to display the food. By the time you make it to the food the plates and bowls are empty. It took the employees over10 minutes to replenish the food and the line still growing. Then no place to eat your breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorEd711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laxhw, Manager at SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for the review of your experience at the SpringHill Suites. We appreciate the comments you shared as it helps us to make improvements to the services we provide. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced at breakfast. While we can’t control the times that everyone comes down to the breakfast area, we try to anticipate when our peak times will be according to the occupancy of the hotel. During these peak times, we make every attempt to keep the food replenished to help keep the lines to a minimum. In addition, we recognize that the seating available in the breakfast area is not enough to accommodate everyone during our peak times. We have trained our staff to use alternate areas like our meeting rooms and even outside by the pool area when this happens. We apologize if these options were not made available to you on this visit. Thank you again for sharing your experience and helping us to make improvements. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our overall stay was pleasant. Here are the pros/cons in my opinion...
Pro:
Location
Room size
Cleanliness
Amenities

Cons:
Elevator
Breakfast Mob

The location is great, not too far from the beach, great shopping and restaurants. The room size was good, it gives you a that little extra space to help you not feel so cramped. The housekeeping was well maintained, and the amenities were beneficial.
However, the elevators were VERY slow. There were always people waiting in line downstairs (main floor) to go up. Also, the breakfast selection were pretty good, but the amount of people down there was overwhelming. I know the hotel can not control how many people come down to eat, but perhaps they can redesign the breakfast area to make it more accessible, when it is busy.

I would consider staying here when I visit again, if the price is right. We got a pretty good deal.

Room Tip: You don't need to stay on a high floor, there is nothing much to see around the property. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shantaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laxhw, Manager at SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for the review of the property. We are glad that the pros outweighed the cons during your stay and you felt like the hotel was a good value for your experience. We are always looking for ways to better service the guest demand for elevators and breakfast especially during busy times. We will continue to look at options for redesign when these opportunities are available. Thank you again for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

For a small rate this Hotel gives you a lot. Very good rooms with amenities and very good service. The people are very nice and courteous. We were greeted very nicely even in the mid night. The added advantages are free Wifi and free breakfast and needless to say that the breakfast had everything you expect in Continental breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dhaval K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laxhw, Manager at SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience. We appreciate the positive comments you shared about service from the staff and amenities at the hotel. We are glad that you found the property to be a good value for your money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The rooms are cleaned although the carpet definitely needs to cleaned as there were many stains. The service was excellent as I arrived early and they were very accommodating in getting me a room immediately. The breakfast area is small however food was adequate.

Room Tip: End of hall much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaylyne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laxhw, Manager at SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for the positive review of your experience at the SpringHill Suites. We are very pleased that you received excellent service and that we were able to honor your request for an early check-in. Please accept our apologies for the condition of the carpet in your guest room. We have shared your feedback with our outside carpet cleaning vendor to ensure this issue is addressed immediately. Thank you for choosing Marriott for your hotel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Overall a good stay. The location was convenient for a visit to Manhattan Beach, though it is quite far from the beach. The room was large albeit outdated - but clean. Free breakfast was great (just crowded..) but more than anything, the rate was unbeatable!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EFH45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laxhw, Manager at SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for submitting a positive review of the property. We are glad that you found the hotel to be clean, convenient and a good value. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is a perfectly lovely property, however, my most recent stay was anything but lovely. It had nothing to do with the physical accommodations, which were fine. It has to do with sustained loud noise, loud taking over one another, screaming, laughing etc., or more than two hours in the room next door to mine. I first called the room myself and ask them to "tone it down just a bit, please." When that didn't work, I called the front desk and told them it had been going on for more than two hours and the woman who answered the phone said she would call them. Shortly thereafter, I called the front desk again, reaching the same woman again, asked her to listen to the noise and I held the phone up to the wall so she could hear. She then told me and I wrote it down immediately as I was gobsmacked by her comment of "Its only 8:30 on Saturday night and they are allowed to make noise." I got so mad I slammed down the phone, cooled off and then went to see her at the front desk. This is where we got into it. Naturally, she tried to "talk over me" but was having none of it. I reminded her of what she said about noise being allowed on a Saturday night and how I take difference to that. Then she denied saying it, which only brought back my anger. I told her at if she didn't do anything I would resort to calling the police. I then asked who was in charge and she said she was---and I said well, that's pretty scary. Then she chose to start arguing with me. That is when I said, "oh, honey, you have made a big mistake by arguing with me. I reminder her of my name and that she would be hearing it again and not in a positive light.

I called the police, they arrived in about 15 minutes and convinced the room full of 8-10 women (in a room where the fire code only allows 5) to move....they also got agreement from the woman at the front desk. (I was asked if wanted to move to another room and I said, no, they arrived after I did, they should have to move.)

As the noisy women packed to move, they continued to get louder and louder and as they left the room, they cackled, whistled, laughed, screamed and acted like children.

It should be the hotel's responsibility to get guest to stop such unacceptable noise, especially after another guest has respectfully asked the noise makers to "tone it down, please." But no, this front desk woman could not be bothered but the Hawthorne, CA police certainly got her to change her tune.

Before staying here contact the Operations Manage, Justin Tardo @ 310-727-9595, Justin.tardo@marriott.com to inquire what their "noise policy" is and if it would be necessary to call the police if noise got out of hand.

Don't stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laxhw, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
JimTexas,

Thank you for submitting a review of your experience and for speaking with me directly regarding your concerns. Again, please accept my sincerely apologies for the inconvenience you experienced from the noise caused by other guests in the hotel and the fact that it was not resolved to your satisfaction by our staff. As I indicated in our conversation, we did dispatch our Security staff to the room as soon as we knew about the issue. Unfortunately, at the time that they went to this room they only found 4 people in the room (within the fire code guidelines) and the noise was quickly addressed with the occupants at the time with a courtesy noise warning. I understand from your comments that you chose to contact this guest directly before registering a noise complaint with the hotel. In the future please feel free to contact us immediately if you have any concerns. Our staff is available to assist, but they can only address your issues if they know about them when they happen. We register all reported issues, so we know when to escalate the response where appropriate. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future. Thank you for choosing Marriott.

Sincerely,

Scott Hausknecht
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawthorne
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
0.6 mi away
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Manhattan Beach Marriott
#6 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 626 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Manhattan Beach
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Redondo Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach

Property: SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
Address: 14620 Aviation Blvd, Hawthorne, CA 90250-6656 (Formerly SpringHill Suites Manhattan Beach - Hawthorne)
Location: United States > California > Hawthorne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Hawthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SpringHill Suites hotel in Hawthorne, California, combines stylish décor with thoughtful amenities. Set in an ideal location just minutes from Manhattan Beach, Los Angeles and LAX Airport, our Hawthorne, CA, hotel features a reimagined lobby with flexible spaces to work and relax while taking advantage of our free Wi-Fi. Guests will love spreading out in our spacious Manhattan Beach suites while enjoying flat-screen TVs and bedding that complement the convenient luxuries such as mini-refrigerators, wet bars and microwaves. Comfortable beds with luxurious linens and piles of pillows make our Manhattan Beach suites the perfect place to wind down. Our hotel in Hawthorne, CA, provides guests the perfect start to every day with complimentary breakfast featuring a variety of fresh, hot and healthy options. An all-suite hotel infused with stylish spaces at an affordable rate, our Manhattan Beach hotel invites you to find the comforts of home on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Manhattan Beach - Hawthorne Hotel Hawthorne
Springhill Suites Hawthorne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing