We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap...OK.. but not for a hotel snob”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hawthorne Plaza Inn
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hawthorne
Placitas, New Mexico
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Cheap...OK.. but not for a hotel snob”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here before flying from lax. First thing i noticed was that it was not in a particularly great neigborhood. The "we are not responsible for damages and vehicle break ins" did not make me feel any better about the location....but after staying the night i do think its a relatively safe neighborhood. That being said, its not like you wanna go to the neighborhood restaurant (not that i saw any). Free parking and the super cheap price definitely make it a worthwhile option. However, if you wouldn't stay at a motel 6, i doubt you would want to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    60
    28
    4
    7
See reviews for
12
51
18
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cody, Wyoming
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Very clean room and in good repair. Microfridge, carpeting looks new. Nice fluffy but firm pillows. This was a great deal for the LA area. As a woman traveling alone I felt safe, even after dark. This is perfect for travelers looking for a simple room as I only want a safe, clean place to sleep at a reasonable price. Don't look here it you want lots of amenities. This is not that hotel, but for value travelers, I highly recommend!! The only bad thing is that the sound-proofing is not very good. Had a room right by the stairs and could hear people walking and down them, could hear a couple arguing in, I think, the room next door, but not sure. This, however is why I travel with ear plugs. Folks at the window were very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Value T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
279 reviews
277 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

i stayed here for 5 days. i was concerned when i drove into the lot- the motel is very small and nondescript and is not impressive-looking from the outside. so i expected to see a rundown room but was surprised by how nice the room was. it was very large and clean with a microwave and fridge and a flat screen tv with 80 cable channels.the matching cherry wood furniture was nice as was the matching curtains and wallpaper. the bathroom was not as clean and not as new. the bed and pillows were great.
godd cheap shopping in the area- gas station, grocery store, 99 cent store, laundromat all within 2 blocks.
very good price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whomever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Can't complain about the location, can access off Metro Green line and catch 40 bus going south, I chose to walk from the Metro station down to the hotel, and it wasn't a problem, about a 10 block walk. Grocery store, 99 cent store and numerous fast food places to eat along the way. Bed was nothing special. Could hear people going up the stairs late in the evening. Has fridge, microwave, iron in the room. Not bad for a night or 2!!!! Front staff was helpful. Wouldn't rule out again for a night!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darren g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We had two nights here and it was comfortable and quite adequate, although the area itself is pretty run down. The staff are friendly and helpful. Be careful with taxi drivers from the airport - we were ripped off getting there and taken a long route. It should only cost around $20

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANHATTAN
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed here for 8 days. I found it very peaceful. The rooms are located enough away from the traffic of the main street to have some quietness form the traffic except for an occasional siren passing. The room I got was clean & enough space to have areas- eating, desk to read, computer work and a very comfortable bed. Close to local stores and Highways. Wifi is dependable and the bathroom was very sufficient -tub is big enough to soak in. The shower head could be higher( I'm 6'). The sink stopped-up and was cleared w/in minutes after I called about it. Stayed there during Christmas & the weather was chilly, for LA, but the heat in the room was on point! I will definitely be staying here again when I visit

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JIMBEJIMBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
202 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

This motel has quite comfortable and clean rooms even if the bathroom in my room was not so fine, specially the bathtub was quite dirty and without water.
The staff is not very friendly or helpful, just enough to give your room key and wifi password.
The position is excellent if you need or want to sleep near the airport.
In the end, considering the cheap price, I can suggest it as a good choice for one night; you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giuseppe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawthorne
0.9 mi away
Crystal Inn Suites & Spas - LAX
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport
0.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites -  LAX / El Segundo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Los Angeles Int'l Airport Hawthorne
1.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites - Lax/Lawndale
1.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Los Angeles International Airport LAX
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Plaza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Plaza Inn

Property: Hawthorne Plaza Inn
Address: 12043 Hawthorne Blvd, Hawthorne, CA 90250
Location: United States > California > Hawthorne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Hawthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hawthorne Plaza Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorne Plaza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Plaza Hotel Hawthorne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing