We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay again :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Hawthorne
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Will stay again :)”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The name of the hotel caught my eye when I was making the reservation. Of course, when I booked it, I wasn't expecting much (The rate I was paying was pretty cheap) -- you get what you paid for right? I wasn't really fond about the shuttle because my friend and I had to wait for 20 minutes for them to pick us up. But it's complimentary so whatever. The room was just as I expected with a lot of spacious area. And free parking -- can't beat that! The breakfast was definitely fulfilling as well. Overall, it was a nice visit. I would love to stay here again :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mscarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHC-GR, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear mscarms,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with others. I'm glad you found your overall stay enjoyable. We greatly appreciate any feedback from our valued guests, like you, as it gives us opportunities to monitor and improve our service. I want to kindly apologize for having to wait 20 minutes for the shuttle to pick you up, but please take into consideration that we are three and a half miles from the airport, so usually 20 minutes is the approximate wait time for the shuttle depending on the location of the driver. We are looking forward for your next stay with us, hoping to make it even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    405
    97
    20
    15
See reviews for
269
247
74
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed at this Comfort Inn while we were in LA seeing Simple Minds. It's tucked away on a side street & if we didn't have handy GoogleMaps, we'd never have found it

Rooms are ginormous w/ a full kitchen - no lie. Full! Large fridge, microwave, proper stovetop, sink w/ disposal.....eveyrthing! Too bad we were only here for like 12 hrs!

Beds were comfy, pillows too & didn't hear our neighbors

FREE PARKING AND WIFI

Oh, and did I mention they also serve FREE BREAKFAST?? We didn't get to indulge as our flight was 6am but good to know for next time.....

B/c we'll definitely mark this for our next LA jaunt!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHC-GR, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear wanderlust s,
I would first like to thank you for staying with us while you were in the LAX area. We know you have a lot of options for lodging and we appreciate you choosing the Comfort Inn Cockatoo near LAX Hawthorne. I'm pleased our added amenities like our free parking, free Wifi and our comfortable beds added such a great value. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our fellow travelers. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel. Room was large and comfy. Small kitchen with full fridge, micro and small Cook top. (Cook top was not wired and no dishes) Pool was very clean and breakfast was OK but not enough seating. Ride to and from airport was fast and easy. We stayed on 1st floor that had window view of a wall....but some rooms have pool/courtyard view. Pool and courtyard were very nice. Only downside was very slow internet. I will recommend this hotel for overnight or even a few day stay.
My suggestion for them would be to finish wiring the stoves, provide some dishes and maybe have the staff a little more educated on the local area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHC-GR, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Matthew M,
Thank you so much for not only staying with us but also for taking time to share your experience with others. I am glad to hear your overall stay was enjoyable. We greatly appreciate any feedback from our valued guests, like you, as it gives us opportunities to monitor and improve our service. We look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you to the Los Angeles area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night and we have no complaints! Our check-in was quick. Our hotel room was clean, big and well furnished. After we reached our room, we got a call from the Front Desk asking us if we had found everything alright and if we had any questions. My husband is a Platinum member, so they even gave us a special member package which included extra toiletries for our use. The hotel also has a big pool, but unfortunately we didn't get a chance to use it. The breakfast area is nice as well. I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelwithDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHC-GR, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear TravelwithDS,
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review! I have forwarded your comments to our staff, and we are all very grateful for such fantastic feedback about our service. All departments - from housekeeping, maintenance to front desk and breakfast personnel - work incredibly hard to create a warm and memorable experience for every guest.
Thank you for inspiring us to do even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester Point
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

A great place to stay at LAX. Quiet section but only a few miles from the airport. Big rooms, clean, comfortable bathrooms, large TVs, free breakfast, free WiFi, PC in lobby to print boarding passes. We payed about $100 for our room this week. Friendly staff

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wff5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHC-GR, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear wff5,
Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to welcome you. I am pleased to hear that our location, big rooms, and friendly staff added such great value to your hotel experience. Your recommendation is most appreciated and we hope you will come back to visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed three nights while touring Los Angeles. Difficult to find - off side street off Imperial Hwy - sign needs to be more prominent.
At first look, did wonder, but once in hotel, it was very, very pleasant.
The room is large, has a fridge, and microwave, and a little bonus of a whirlpool tub. Parking is in adjacent garage - very convenient and off the street.
Breakfast needs some work though. We found this breakfast to be at the bottom end of Comfort Inn breakfasts. Hot items were not hot- items were not replenished in a timely fashion-choices limited. It is supposed to close at 9:30, but the attendant starts closing and putting things away at 9:10 - not good!
There is no business center as such - just a stand up computer in the lobby. And they need to put a sign up that you have a 10-15 minute time period. The clerk at the front desk did not say anything to a user who was using the computer with his friends (and only telling his friends of sports scores) after a lengthy period. The clerk finally asked me what I needed and he printed out directions for me. This was nice, but something should have been said to the user.
Otherwise, a comfortable stay. The hotel is spotless and the pool area lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calnev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHC-GR, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Calnev,
Thank you for taking time to post a review about your recent stay. We strive to provide every guest with above average experience. Needless to say, I'm less than thrilled to hear that your stay was not superb. Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for the issues that you encountered during breakfast and with the lobby computer. I have shared your feedback with our team to ensure we handle these types of situations differently in the future. Thank you for also mentioning some of the positives about our hotel. We hope we can make your stay more enjoyable next time you find yourself in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My family and I had a layover and we arrived on an evening flight. We were able to walk to the McDonald's for a bite to eat. There were other restaurants within easy walking distance as well, but with our 2 year old in tow, Mickey-D's was the best option for us. The hotel was in a very quiet location and was clean. The breakfast buffet in the morning started early, which is great for travelers with early departure times and the shuttle was right on time to take us to the airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dakota_Traveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHC-GR, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Dakota_Traveller2013,
We appreciate you allowing us the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel. How wonderful to know that you found our rooms quiet and clean and our 24 hour courtesy shuttle added such an exceptional value. Thank you for your review and please consider us the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawthorne
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
LAX Area
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
Hilton Los Angeles Airport
#88 of 350 in Los Angeles
4,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport

Property: Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport
Address: 11500 Acacia Ave, Hawthorne, CA 90250-2306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hawthorne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Hawthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn® Cockatoo Near LAX Airport is four miles from Los Angeles International Airport and offers free airport shuttle service. This Hawthorne, CA hotel provides easy access to major freeways like the 405 and 105, and is minutes from a number of local points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Cockatoo Hotel Hawthorne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing