We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price, but not without some issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Hawthorne
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good for the price, but not without some issues”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This Comfort Inn is a great value. You are close to the airport as well as the freeway and metro stop. Getting anywhere from here is quite easy. I'm not sure what people mean when they say the neighborhood is bad, we never saw anything that was "sketchy" during our stay. The rooms are large and the big fridge was handy for left-overs. The beds were comfortable. The front desk staff were very helpful and willing to answer any of our questions. The free shuttle is also a great amenity, but remember, you must reserve it in under to use it as there are many people who also utilize it. Free, secure parking was also super handy.

Now for a few bad points. The TV and remote never seemed to work quite right and the wifi had some hiccups, but was never unusable. The key cards are also hard to use, you don't swipe it, you scan it in front of the door and I personally had issues getting it to work, but others seemed to be okay with it.

All in all, a good hotel for a low price. Definitely worth booking for your stay in LA.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the pool with a balcony. Ours looked right into someone's apartme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarkSasquatch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    402
    96
    19
    15
See reviews for
266
244
74
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waldershof
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2013

It´s a nice hotel with pool. We used also breakfast and it was one of the best we had on our journey. We had two king side beds and slept very well. The room was clean and good. We spent only one night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Bruno E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a great airport hotel. Honestly, it is as clean and well maintained as a lot of luxury hotels, and better than some (e.g., Sheraton in Iowa City, Intercontinental in Frankfurt). It doesn't have the fancy marble floors or brass fixtures in the bathroom, but it's every bit as comfortable as a more luxurious hotel.
The staff is kind and helpful, and the airport shuttle is efficient and invaluable.

The only downside is that the options for food nearby are not so hot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sudc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I`m actual at the hotel for another 10days and i realy like it over here.

it's very clean; the room service does a great job and it is very quiet even though
the hotel is very close to the LAX Airport. the pool area is ok ( open from 9am-9pm)
and the breakfast has oatmeal, cafe, juice, eggs, etc. you can make your own waffles with a prof. waffle iron.

the room comes with a tv/fridge/microwave/telefone/huge bed, balcony and a little kitchen area - very nice!

you have internet access via wifi OR ethernet. the wifi works OKish but the Ethernet
Connection is a blast ( ~ 80mbps down / 20mbps up ).

to make a long story short - i would recommend this hotel to my friends and i will def. come back again.

so you ask why only 4 stars ? well, i asked the frontdesk if it is a problem, if somebody send's a package to the hotel adress for me and normaly this request is not even worth a discussion - but this time the answer was:

- hmm, ya....maybe 2 packages...but thats about it, OK ?
- and nothing freaky like huge or so, OK ?

so i wait for the next hotel and then i order my stuff, don't want to bother anybody down at the frontdesk
with this tremendouse ( ironic mode on ) request - handling a package.

Costumer Service isn't everybody's job i guess - but this is a personal point of view.
the hotel is still the BEST Choice for the money in this area!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M4uri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel met all my needs. Breakfast was crowded at times. I did not have a problem parking in the garage and walking to the hotel. 2 hotels on the cul de sac and a 3rd is in final stages of construction.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Official_Travelnista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
97 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is still one of the best local cheaper hotels around. This property never disappoints with the staff and service and the rooms.

This is again a great great property and worth the stay for the price. The rooms are large, service is great, secured parking area with some close fast food places. Close to LAX and regular shuttle run.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were in this hotel for 4 nights. The hotel is close to the airport (about 15 min by car) and very close to the freeway entrance. Car is mandatory in LA so the position is not an issue..you can reach Hollywood in 35-40 min (with some traffic) and Santa Monica beach is 30 min far.
Car parking is included in the rate, the parking is nearby the hotel and you can always find parking.
The room was very large, clean and comfortable; there was the kitchen with fridge, microwave too.
Bathroom was clean as well and the shower was large enough.
Breakfast is included in the rate and was pretty good.
I would recommend this hotel to visit LA as far as you have the car.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michele p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawthorne
Westside
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles International Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Los Angeles Airport
#56 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport

Property: Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport
Address: 11500 Acacia Ave, Hawthorne, CA 90250-2306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hawthorne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Hawthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn® Cockatoo Near LAX Airport is four miles from Los Angeles International Airport and offers free airport shuttle service. This Hawthorne, CA hotel provides easy access to major freeways like the 405 and 105, and is minutes from a number of local points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Cockatoo Hotel Hawthorne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing